Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Letters From the Ledge” as Want to Read:
Letters From the Ledge
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Letters From the Ledge

by
3.96  ·  Rating details ·  111 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Still reeling from the suicide of his best friend Tess, seventeen-year old Brendan struggles to overcome addiction and identity issues. Walking the ledge outside his Manhattan apartment has become its own sort of drug, as he stands night after night with his arms outstretched, ready to fly away.

Sarah can see him from her window, and begins journaling about a boy on a ledg
...more
Paperback, 388 pages
Published December 28th 2011 by Hallway 11 (first published December 12th 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Letters From the Ledge, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Letters From the Ledge

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  111 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Letters From the Ledge
Lacey
Apr 02, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
First Thoughts:

The instant I read the summary for this book I wanted to read it, it sounded so powerful, so psychological that I definitely wanted to check it out and I'm glad I did. I mean just reading the title of this book it gave you a sense of how this book was going to mess with your mind and your emotions. There were plenty of scenes I have taken to heart and will never forget and believe it or not I think this book taught me a thing or two about myself and others. A definite read I'd rec
...more
Rachel
May 01, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I am glad I gave this book a chance!

It brought me out of my comfort zone and into the wondrous world of New Adult fiction!

I decided to give this book a chance because I was interested in seeing how four lives would intersect. I also enjoyed the excerpts that Meyers provided online.

What I love most about this book is how each character is trying to figure out how to figuratively fly from their real life and into a place where they feel completely happy because they are with the people who truly l
...more
Delaney
Mar 17, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
"So many people talk about having something to live for. I think they've got it backwards. Maybe we all just need something worth dying for." -- Sarah

Confession time: I received this book on Saturday, finished it on Tuesday (okay, maybe the early hours of Wednesday morning) and am just now getting around to writing a review. Why, you ask? Exams? Homework? Partly, yes. But mostly because this is a book that stuck with me. The words managed to weasel their way into my brain and dwell there, bringi
...more
Stacy
May 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I absolutely loved this book!!!!!
Coco.V
May 19, 2020 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: freebie

🎁 FREE on Amazon today (5/19/2020)! 🎁
CαthεεBooks
Title : Letters from the Ledge
Series : -
Author : Lynda Meyers
Pages : 353
Release Date : Jan 11th 2012
Publisher : Hallway 11
Format : Paperback
Source :
** This book was sent to me by the author in exchange of an honest review**



My Opinion :


This book was just... wow. Just read it. You'll understand.


This was an incredible debut you don't want to miss!


Letters from the Ledge is, from how I'd describe it, a YA/Adult (well... more of a YA) contemporary romance... mixed with some 'coming of age' and other
...more
Auggie
Lynda Meyers absolutely blew me out of the water with "Letter's from the Ledge".

As usual I'm going to be very straight forward and say that I wasn't expecting to like the book much, not at all because I didn't expect it to be well written but it just wasn't in my genre sphere. I was fully prepared to encounter a book that was good but not appealing to my reading interests. I even told my Fiance that very thing.

I guarantee you he would be more than ready to tell you how much I talked about the b
...more
Ayush
Mar 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Letters From The Ledge begins with a depressing theme as Brandon, one of the four main characters, thinks about flying while standing on the ledge of his window. Lost in his own pain, he is unaware that he has some audience, two people in fact. Sarah is new. She is always the new girl as her family keeps moving from one place to another. Lost in the city with a fear of everyone, she simply lives until she sees Brendan standing on the ledge, as if trying to escape. She sees him every night and jo ...more
Peggy Tibbetts
Apr 09, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Seventeen-year old Brendan Evans has lost his first love, Tess. She committed suicide. Stuck inside his grief, Brendan spends hours every night out on the ledge of his Madison Avenue apartment building writing letters to her. But he’s not alone. Sixteen-year old Sarah watches him from her bedroom window as she writes in her journal. She has lost her younger brother to cancer and feels stifled by fear most of the time. Then there’s Paige and Nate who watch Sarah watching Brendan. Paige was brutal ...more
Melanie Cusick-Jones
Sep 02, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2013
This was an unexpectedly enjoyable read. I have to admit that the blurb didn't really bowl me over, and so this book has wallowed on my kindle for a fair while. I just began reading it on a whim, deciding to clear off some of the oldest books on my TBR list...I was quickly sucked in.

I really enjoyed the multiple perspectives that the third-person narrator moves through. It delivers the story in a nicely balanced way, drawing together the different elements. Each was well defined, and noticeably
...more
Jenn
Apr 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was extremely compelling, and I was totally addicted to it! I started and finished it in 2 days. The story line is genius. Lynda worked the characters together in a magical way and it just fit. I would recommend this one to anybody looking for a book that has meaning and depth behind it. It makes you think. The issues that the characters address are hard and real. It's raw. I especially enjoyed the male 'leads' in this story; a friendship that should never have been but was! So good. Y ...more
Julie
Feb 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: apartment-living
I really loved this book. The characters are completely vulnerable and flawed. I honestly didn't want this novel to end. I loved the unconventional love stories of the the two couples. The story begins with one character observing two characters without their knowledge. Later, this triangle of three characters' lives become intertwined in unexpected ways. I just loved it. I've never read another story like this with so much danger, love, and pain mixed together in this way. I highly recommend it ...more
Nellie
Jan 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
WOW!
This is a story that first seems to have 3 separate sides but the stories intersect delightfully!

We have Sarah who is a girl taking AP Biology. There is Brandon a troubled senior in Sara’s class. Finally there are Nate and Paige a couple who work high stress jobs.

Great story coupled with strong writing make for a great book. Definitely will read again!
Meliciousbeauty
Aug 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Everyone and everything is connected

Beautiful story about the impact total strangers can have on each other's lives. I loved this story. Highly recommended for anyone that needs a good book with a HEA.
heather - NightlyReading
Going into this book was very sad for me. I have a relative that committed suicide and I could really identify with Brendan. The thoughts that surround you when a tragedy like this happens is filled with “what if’s”. What if I was there, what if I tried to talk to them, what if I would have known before this happened?

After reading this book, it gave me a little more sense of what goes through the minds of people who have contemplated hurting themselves. The characters were very realistic and mad
...more
Yael Itamar
Mar 06, 2013 rated it it was ok
Shelves: indie
This book had some very touching and deeply thought-out conversations, but that was about it. The overall writing of the book was a bit amateur and unsophisticated, and it could have used a really good editor.
Amy Armet
rated it it was amazing
Jan 05, 2013
Kay
rated it really liked it
Mar 01, 2013
Lianne Marie
rated it it was amazing
Apr 19, 2018
Alexis Sievertsen
rated it really liked it
Dec 05, 2014
Jessa93
rated it really liked it
Apr 08, 2012
Nick Wells
rated it it was amazing
Nov 27, 2017
Chloe
rated it liked it
Mar 08, 2020
Richard J
rated it it was amazing
Nov 15, 2019
Sarah Laraichi
rated it it was amazing
Jul 02, 2013
Helen Baxter
rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2017
Natasha
rated it liked it
Oct 04, 2019
Noah Spurlock
rated it really liked it
Jun 21, 2020
Celeste
rated it it was amazing
Feb 14, 2012
Becca Mease
rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Free Book Giveaway! 1 2 Dec 27, 2012 01:18PM  
Excellent read 1 2 Apr 23, 2012 10:21AM  
Excellent read 1 2 Apr 23, 2012 10:21AM  
Excellent read 1 1 Apr 23, 2012 10:21AM  
Excellent read 1 1 Apr 23, 2012 10:21AM  
Excellent read 1 2 Apr 23, 2012 10:21AM  
Excellent read 1 3 Apr 23, 2012 10:21AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Waiting Room
  • The Game Can't Love You Back
  • Dare You to Date the Point Guard (Rock Valley High #2)
  • A Promise of Home (Lake Howling, #1)
  • Tag You're Mine
  • Where the Road Takes Me
  • The Quarterback and the Ballerina (The Ballerina Academy, #1)
  • The Lying Game (Love Games, #1)
  • I Found You
  • Hatemates
  • Stealing My Best Friend (Lovers' Lane #1)
  • The Best Friend Bargain (Inked Love, #1)
  • The Bridge
  • Ryan's Kiss (Lake Hope #1)
  • The Pumpkin Seed Massacre (Ben Pecos Mystery #1)
  • The Boy I Hate
  • Break Me, Baby (Silver Creek High #1)
  • The Red Lotus
See similar books…
19 followers
I believe deeply in the power of story, connection, and authentic relationship.

I’m a fiction author and a former staff writer for Modern Moto Magazine. I am also a blogger, a mom to four kids and a grandma to one, and juggle a mostly full-time job as a registered nurse. I have written short stories and for magazines, as well as online content.

My blog is a mix of life lessons, travel stories and m
...more

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
6 likes · 0 comments
“When your defenses are down, it's alarming and beautiful - all that strength contained in a glass jar of innocence." He swallowed. "I've loved you since the moment you realized the astronomical odds of us meeting like that, because in that brief second, I watched you suddenly open your heart to the possibility of something magical happening - something unexpected.” 1 likes
“Brendan stopped reading. The words had melted into a liquid blur...In his possession was a box full of information that would likely fill in the gaps and help him to wrap his brain around the whys of her death. And yet, there was really only one question that mattered, and Tommy had already answered it.” 1 likes
More quotes…