Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cross Country (Alex Cross, #14)” as Want to Read:
Cross Country (Alex Cross, #14)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cross Country (Alex Cross #14)

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  31,037 Ratings  ·  1,802 Reviews
When the home of Alex Cross's longtime friend Ellie Cox is turned into the worst murder scene Alex has ever seen, he is devastated. The destruction leads him to believe that he's chasing a horrible new breed of killer. As Alex and his girlfriend Brianna Stone begin the hunt for the villain responsible for the killings, they quickly find themselves entangled in the deadly N ...more
Hardcover, Large Print, 480 pages
Published November 17th 2008 by Little, Brown and Company
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cross Country, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cross Country

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
James Lafayette  Tivendale
Hello again, Alex Cross. I saw this book in a charity shop yesterday and the hardback edition cost me a measly 33 pence. I was left unsure on the Patterson/ Cross dynamic after Kill Alex Cross but the fact I read this thoroughly in 24 hours in front of the other 400 books I have to read must say something for how much I have enjoyed how these novels are created and presented.

Recently, in the story - the superstar Alex Cross has been working as a psychologist more so than as an intense deductive
...more
Matt
Dec 28, 2008 rated it did not like it
Shelves: mystery-thriller
I decided while I was reading the latest book in the Alex Cross series by James Patterson that reading Mr. Patterson's work is similar to eating at McDonald's. You know with both that there won't be any grand expectations in the experience you will gain with both, yet somehow there is an unseen force that compels one in either reading another Patterson novel or eating something from Mickey D's. After you finish reading Patterson's book (and eating at Mickey D's), you know the memory of the exper ...more
Suzanne
For a book with so much going on and a plot that takes you to Africa, it was a bit dull. At times I was really into it but at others I was bored. Hate to say it but so far it was the Alex Cross books I like the least so far. Will continue the series for sure though.

My quick and simple overall: sounded awesome in the description but I was bored during some of the book. An okay installment to the series.
Chris
Nov 24, 2008 rated it did not like it
I've always liked the Alex Cross books, but this one was a dud. Alex takes it upon himself to follow a murderer he's after to Africa. While in Africa, he gets beaten up, jailed & threatened countless times. It seemed to me that the plot was a way for Patterson to let us all know about the horrible violence & living conditions in Africa. I thought Alex acted so out of character. I think I just finished reading it for old times sake.
Jennifer
Aug 06, 2010 rated it it was ok
Recommended to Jennifer by: jennsicurella@verizon.net
Shelves: mystery
As readers, we have to be willing to suspend our disbelieve once in a while for the enjoyment of a book. Cross Country, the 14th Alex Cross novel, asks readers to go well beyond normal suspension and travels very far into unrealistic territory.

Alex Cross, devoted family man who often feels guilty for abandoning his children for a day or two, travels to Africa on a case. He ventures into known danger, leaving his family, friends, girlfriend, police job and psychiatric patients behind to chase aft
...more
Bev
Mar 10, 2011 rated it did not like it
Shelves: crime-mystery
A quote from the book best describes "Cross Country." "It was baffling, it was incomprehensible. Just wrong on so many levels."

The only reason I can think of that MIGHT have inspired James Patterson to write this awful book is that he might recently have become aware of the plight of millions of people in various African countries and thought he could use his popular character, Alex Cross, to shed light on a truly appalling situation.

However, that said, it was a terrible book with a totally unb
...more
Alaina Meserole
I think it's really weird that a lot of the criminals Alex faces have animal names. Patterson has delivered us wolf, weasel, and now the tiger. Well, this tiger isn't lounging around in a jungle or sitting pretty in a zoo. Nope, this guy is murdering lots and lots of people. He also murdered Ellie, who was Alex's friend and first real love. Obviously, Alex tracks him down so he can catch him while delivering justice to Ellie and all of the other victims.

Cross Country takes Alex to Africa - which
...more
Nicole
Feb 09, 2009 rated it did not like it
I am a HUGE fan of James Patterson's Alex Cross series. I look forward to each of the new releases with great anticipation. However, I must say, I was completely disappointed by this addition. I wish I had read the reviews before reading this. It was a quick read with the usual Patterson short chapters But, the woven storyline was completely missing.

Some stand out issues for me:
(1) The murders were too gruesome and violent - completely out of character for Patterson's writing style. The detail
...more
Hari Kumar
Apr 19, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not bad for a good start, as this is my first James Patterson novel, and it was really a good read too. But I don't think everything said in this could be practical, like said in most of the other reviews. Since these are the events of a fictional world, everything could be forgiven.
And these characters are rather similar to that of the Michael Connelly's 'City of bones' (as both the detectives lost their spouses earlier and finds a new love during this case and no more spoilers).
And after read
...more
Suzanne
Feb 10, 2009 rated it it was ok
Shelves: mysteries
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Glenn
Nov 20, 2008 rated it really liked it
The books with Alex Cross are the best of James Patterson's work. Recently I've been disappointed in a lot of the collaborative efforts where Patterson authors books with a second author. I read that a lot of these are just "ghost" books - Patterson provides the outlines and the other authors write most of the novels, and it definitely shows. Stick with the books that don't have a second author's name on them if you want to read the best that Patterson has to offer.
Ms. Nikki
1 1/2 Stars.

What. The. Hell.

If ever there was a book that had too much going on, situations that were over the top, and not enough believablity--it would be this one.

Cross and Patterson really showed their weaknesses in this read and the ending tried to compensate for it.

Kyle Craig. Humph. He just does not give up.

I hate that such an important subject was wasted in a sub-par read.

Maybe I'll take a break before the next one~

Melodie
Oct 31, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
James Patterson knows how to tell a story. This is never more evident,than in this installment of his Alex Cross series.Chapters are kept short, one his Patterson's trademarks, and the pace is fast, at times break-neck.
Alex is truly out of his comfort zone, as he takes his current murder investigation to Nigeria. On arrival, he finds he is the hunted instead of the hunter and it is all down hill from there.
And there is a very human aspect to this story as Alex and a Nigerian journalist travel
...more
Dana
Jan 22, 2009 rated it it was ok
So, this may be blasphemous, but I thought this book was pretty lame. I have to admit, I don't normally read thrillers or mysteries and this is my first Patterson book, but honestly, I don't think it lives up to the hype. Granted, I read the book in two days, but not because the storyline was particularly compelling. It was more because the chapters are so short that I just had to keep going. Patterson does a good job of ending each chapter with a question or cliffhanger, but overall it wasn't w ...more
George A/k/a
Jan 12, 2009 rated it it was amazing
OK, allow me to begin by confessing that I am a devout James Patterson fan and that the Alex Cross storyline is my favorite. That being said, I enjoyed this book a bit more then most of the other reviewers. In fact, it was one of my favorite Alex Cross books. I read it in one day...at the risk of losing my job security. LOL!
"Cross Country" was all about exposure. This riveting story shows the reader a side - a more vulnerable side - of Alex Cross then one is accustomed. It also reminds the reade
...more
Fitta Sari
Dec 03, 2015 rated it it was ok
I want another crime book - like Cormoran Strike Series / Sherlock - and it's not the one..
there is too much action, no big twist. just not the book for me. And i Alex Cross didn't live the hype.
Katy-Del
Mar 23, 2009 rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Amber
Jan 04, 2009 rated it it was ok
I normally love anything that James Patterson writes... for his style, fast-pace-approach, and character development. This book just had me feeling "off" the whole way through it. The things I like about this author were there - it was a well-written book - but I don't like feeling anxious and depressed when I'm reading, and I felt like that a lot with this one (even when I wasn't reading, just thinking about it). For those of you who don't know, this book follows Detective Cross to Africa, wher ...more
Sera
Jan 06, 2015 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of the Alex Cross series
One of the better books in the series that I've read in awhile. Actually, I listened to it on audio, and Patterson really uses audio to his advantage here. There's gunfire, explosions, different readers interacting, and even music that signals when something sinister is about to occur.

All in all, a fun book that I would recommend on audio for fans of the series.
Brandi
Mar 03, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: read-in-2018
Cross Country was meh at best and frustrating at most. This is my first (and possibly last) Alex Cross book, and if he acts this dumb for most of the series, then I don’t understand why this series is so popular.

I mean, this “detective” hops on a plane to go to Africa to chase a killer...and does no research about Africa, where the well-known dangerous hot spots are, how to get around on a practical daily level, or how to deal with the locals; does nothing to disguise the fact that he’s a white
...more
Anupama Sarkar
Jul 22, 2017 rated it liked it
To give due credit to James Patterson, he has surely created a well knit web, that moves at a fast pace, engulfing one and all in its spidery mesh. Once begun, I could hardly put down the novel for even a second. I rushed through 397 pages, swallowing the ruthless amputations and brutal killings, desperately trying to solve the mystery

Read more at http://scribblesofsoul.com/cross-coun...
Roy McDine
Nov 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
Terrific storyline, but not for the faint-hearted. A little less violence would have made it more believable.
Chris
Apr 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
It was Patterson of old, quick read, good story. Usually give his books a 4 because they are usually cookie cutter but this book had meat to it. Travelling around the work it gives you a glimpse whether true or not what other parts of the world are like.
Abhishek
Apr 13, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
One always knows what to expect from an Alex Cross novel. A psychotic killer on the loose, brutal murders, a detective with a never-give-up attitude on the chase, and illustrations of the toughness in him to keep facing his demons and emerging out stronger. The question is, whether the typically fact-paced novels of James Patterson can continue to keep you hooked after you have read a bit too many? The answer is, yes! Cross Country is another typical Cross novel with a different location backdro ...more
Keryn
Nov 12, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: thrillers, war
Having read some of the existing goodreads reviews on this book, it seems that as a reader of Patterson's previous books, you either hate this or love it.

Many write it off as far-fetched and a way to get the rest of the world to see the suffering in Africa. I do believe that it's only fair to comment on the story's exaggeration if you have been to a major North African country like Nigeria, especially the highly populous and poverty-stricken city of Lagos, and to the camps at Darfur. Personally
...more
Caitlin
Jun 11, 2011 rated it it was ok
I haven't read James Patterson in a long time and after this book, I am wondering if I will pick him up again.
Did I stay up too late reading this book and fly through it to find out what would happen next? Yes, but there were so many things wrong with this book, I don't know where to start.
The story became far-fetched so often that I almost abandoned the book (how many times can Alex get beat up in this book? Who in their right mind would run around Africa for so long and leave their family be
...more
Frank
I was a little mixed on this one. This was definitely not a typical Alex Cross story. This one takes Cross to Africa in search of the killers of an old college sweetheart (who had been working on an expose of the goings on in Nigeria) and her family. As usual, this was a page-turner with some extremely bad characters from Africa committing some extremely brutal murders in both the U.S. and Africa. While in Africa, Cross sees first hand some of the outrages being perpetrated on the African people ...more
Amanda Patterson
Dec 05, 2009 rated it really liked it
Alex Cross seemed to have seen and done it all. I cannot recall how many wives and girlfriends have been murdered in his quest to catch the many serial killers who have crossed (excuse the pun) his path. However, James Patterson always seems to have another ace in his endless keyboard.
Join him as he tracks down the most terrifying gang of monsters yet. If you thought Blood Diamond was harrowing, do not read this. Alex Cross is after ’Tiger’, a killer who leads a band of children killing childre
...more
Phrynne
Feb 12, 2014 rated it it was ok
This was not one of James Patterson's best efforts I think! It was a fast and exciting read but just a little bit too far over the top. I'm not sure any cop can legally fly himself to another country and expect to be able to pursue someone. And the constant beatings by all and sundry became tedious. The story was also predictable. As soon as his children were mentioned in chapter 5 it was obvious they were going to be kidnapped. I suppose I should have been surprised by who the kidnappers were b ...more
Jill
Dec 11, 2008 rated it it was ok
This book was worthwhile in the sense that it continued the Alex Cross saga, but other than that, it wasn't very satisfying. More far-fetched than usual, and yet the books have started becoming monotonous. I'm ready to move on to other series.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Iron Orchid (Holly Barker, #5)
  • Boys Will Be Boys
  • Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta, #10)
  • Certain Prey (Lucas Davenport, #10)
  • The Conspiracy Club
  • Tail Spin (FBI Thriller, #12)
  • The Blue Zone
  • Countdown (Eve Duncan, #6)
  • Cry Wolf (Doucet, #3)
  • Last Call (Jack Swyteck, #7)
236,261 followers
Official US Site
Official UK Site
JIMMY Patterson Books
ReadKiddoRead



James Patterson has created more enduring fictional characters than any other novelist writing today, with his Alex Cross, Michael Bennett, Women’s Murder Club, Private, NYPD Red, Daniel X, Maximum Ride, and Middle School series. As of January 2016, he has sold over 375 million books worldwide and currently holds the Guinness World
...more
More about James Patterson

Other books in the series

Alex Cross (1 - 10 of 28 books)
  • Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, #1)
  • Kiss the Girls (Alex Cross, #2)
  • Jack & Jill (Alex Cross, #3)
  • Cat and Mouse (Alex Cross, #4)
  • Pop Goes the Weasel (Alex Cross, #5)
  • Roses are Red (Alex Cross, #6)
  • Violets Are Blue (Alex Cross, #7)
  • Four Blind Mice (Alex Cross, #8)
  • The Big Bad Wolf  (Alex Cross, #9)
  • London Bridges (Alex Cross, #10)
“Who but the devil lives like a king in the middle of hell” 10 likes
“The hardest mysteries to solve are the ones you come to near the end, because there isn't enough evidence, not enough to unravel, unless somehow you can go all the way back to the beginning - rewind and replay everything.” 8 likes
More quotes…