Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lies You Told Me” as Want to Read:
The Lies You Told Me
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lies You Told Me

by
3.47  ·  Rating details ·  291 Ratings  ·  54 Reviews
A daughter searches for the truth behind her mother's disappearance in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton's SISTER and SJ Watson's BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP

'I do not know what you have been told about your mother. But I know it cannot be the truth...' Klara Mortimer never really knew her mother, Sadie, a former model, who left when she was just six years o
...more
Paperback, 368 pages
Published January 31st 2013 by Headline Review
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lies You Told Me, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lies You Told Me

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ashley Daviau
Dec 31, 2016 rated it really liked it
This story totally grabbed my attention from the very first page! I am a sucker for a good mystery/family secrets kind of story and this was most definitely all that and more. All throughout the book you feel like you're Klara and right there unravelling her mothers true story with her. It is a truly addictive story right from the beginning and shows the depths people will go to for love, whether good or bad. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and finally finding out the true story of Klara's mother ...more
Astrid Langeveld
Het gaat over een jonge vrouw die op zoek gaat naar het werkelijke verleden van haar verdwenen moeder. Het verhaal kwam wat moeizaam op gang, maar daarna moest ik het echt uitlezen. Het einde is echt verassend!
Lena Blomme
Ik heb het boek op vrij korte tijd uitgelezen.
Voor mij was het zeker geen thriller, verre van. Maar ik vond het wel een goed boek, zat ook wel spanning in.
Zou Klara ontdekken wat er echt met haar moeder was gebeurd? Beetje bij beetje, tijdens het lezen van haar moeders dagboek, komt ze achter de waarheid?
Of dat denkt ze toch.
Pas op het allerlaatst, wanneer ze haar vader over haar ontdekkingen inlicht, vertelt deze haar het "echte" verhaal en komt ze alles te weten.
Alhoewel?
Megan Readinginthesunshine
Jan 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing
When Klara was little, her mother disappeared, and all Klara has of her mother’s life are the stories that her father has told her, about how her mother Sadie was…. Suddenly, Klara receives a key and a note from someone called ‘N.R.’, with the key leading her to a store room. Inside are fragments of her mother’s past, along with a diary that she kept many years ago. As Klara starts to read, she realises that the mother her father had told her about and the woman in the diary pages don’t match up ...more
Cleo Bannister
Aug 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Jessica Rushton's latest book grabbed me the moment I turned the first page with the postman delivering a package to Klara. Klara doesn't immediately open the package but once she does she finds a key and a mysterious letter telling her that the sender had kept it safe for her mother for the last 24 years. The letter was simply signed N.R.

Klara has not seen her mother since she was a very young child, one day she left and a few years later her father broke the news that she had died while in Ame
...more
Justine
Jul 30, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Mijn eerste gedachte toen ik de titel ‘Je loog tegen mij’ was dat dit een roman was om te lezen, want in een roman gaat het vaak over leugens en bedrog. Maar niets van dit al, we duiken in een literaire thriller volgens de cover van dit boek. We maken kennis met Klara die in haar jeugd grotendeels is opgevoed door haar vader. De moeder was op een dag spoorloos verdwenen. Dat Klara hier door veranderde van een doorsnee meisje in een stil meisje kan niet vreemd zijn. Ook is Klara al die tijd blijv ...more
Renita D'Silva
Apr 17, 2014 rated it liked it
A story that grips you from the first page, with revelations galore. A tale of secrets and the fallibility of memory. A story of how a person's true self languishes beneath layers of protective padding, exquisitely told, each layer that makes up Klara's mum, the elusive Sadie, peeled back like an onion to reveal the core within.
Michelle
May 18, 2014 rated it it was ok
Slow and boring!
Gillian Hamer
Jun 25, 2013 rated it really liked it
If I’d seen this book on the shelf in Waterstones, the cover may well have attracted me to find out more even if it had been in the woman’s fiction area and not something I would usually pick up. I wasn’t sure what to expect to be honest, but I’m delighted to say I was more than pleasantly surprised.


The central theme of the story is secrets and lies. How one deception leads intrinsically to another, and the author does a very competent job showing that the sins of the parents do echo down into t
...more
Mandy
Mar 13, 2014 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle
The Lies You Told Me is an interesting premise - Klara has been brought up to believe her mother left her and her father to move to the US for her modelling career when she was 6, and then that her mother died when she was 12. Married to Mark and supposedly happy when she receives a letter and a key to a storage locker filled with her mother's things, she keeps it all a secret because, well, I have no frigging clue. She kept waiting to find out why she felt she needed to keep secrets and treat t ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • What Lies Within
  • Red Ribbons (Dr. Kate Pearson, #1)
  • The Swimming Pool
  • Tall Oaks
  • Divas
  • The Shoestring Club
  • Settled Blood (DCI Kate Daniels, #2)
  • Do Me No Harm
  • Where You Can Find Me
  • Summer of Secrets
  • The First Wife
  • A Final Arc of Sky: A Memoir of Critical Care
  • Nearer Home: A Nola Céspedes Mystery
  • In the Name of God: The True Story of the Fight to Save Children from Faith-Healing Homicide
  • Quiet Neighbors
  • Just Another Manic Mum-Day
  • The Silent Touch of Shadows
  • Falling