Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Compliance (Dust Chronicles, #2)” as Want to Read:
Compliance (Dust Chronicles, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Compliance

(Dust Chronicles #2)

by
3.93  ·  Rating details ·  1,040 ratings  ·  89 reviews
Haven Equals Safety.
The slogan is emblazoned on the minds of every Haven employee. But for Glory, life inside the domed city is anything but safe.
After rescuing her brother, Glory returns to Haven as a double agent to locate and save fellow Deviants. Far from her family and from Burn, Glory faces danger at every turn as she trains to be a Compliance Officer--to track and
...more
Hardcover, 378 pages
Published June 4th 2013 by Skyscape
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Compliance, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Compliance

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,040 ratings  ·  89 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Hilary
May 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing
If I'd known how good this was, I would have bumped it straight to the top of my to-read pile. Compliance is book 2 in the series, but it can stand on its own. You won't have a full understanding of the backstory, but it wasn't confusing; I haven't (yet) read the first one, but will remedy that shortly...

The characters' reactions and emotions seemed painfully real, relationships suffer from the same miscommunications, misunderstandings, loyalty, love and distrust as those in the real world, and
...more
Maria Mitchell
Jun 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads to review.

Maureen McGowan's Deviants series just keeps getting better and more addicting. This book starts off a few months after the first ended. Glory is going through her Comp training with Cal. It's rough on her and she's considered the weakest in the class. Her dating license with Cal still exists but that relationship is strained. She is still working both sides of the wall. She is still lying to everyone about her Deviance.

It was
...more
Mariela
Jul 05, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
En este libro Glory vuelve a estar dentro de Haven, trabajando en secreto con los mutantes que viven fuera de Haven, ayudando a rescatar mutantes antes de que sean desterrado por los ejecutores, pero también tiene que participar en el entrenamiento para convertirse en ejecutor y tratar de encontrar a un infiltrado entre ellos que está ayudando a los terroristas a atentar contra la vida del presidente y del resto de ciudadanos, Haven ya no es SEGURIDAD.

Acá vuelve a presentarse el triángulo amoros
...more
David
Apr 18, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book, I can't wait to see what you come up with next
Edwina Callan
Jun 21, 2013 rated it really liked it
Disclaimer: I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads to review.

Pure brain candy. I loved it.
Now on to book 3 of this trilogy.


Angela
Jan 07, 2016 marked it as deals  ·  review of another edition
7 January 2016: $1.99 on Kindle
Fly To The Sky
Feb 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
This review first appeared on my blog, Read Books and Live Green

I recieved this book via Netgalley
I just don't know how to write this review. I actually enjoyed the book. But there was still stuff that continued to bother me the same way it did in the first book. So here is my book breakdown.
THE PROS
1.) The pacing. I really enjoyed the quick pacing of this book! It didn't feel like it was dragging at all. There was always something going on.
2.) Glory. I really liked her (for the most part) in th
...more
LUNA
Oct 19, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
que no terminaaaa!!!!!! Que bien serie cortada...me quedo sin saber como termina ¿se puede ser menos profesional? Oz, si no vas a sacar una saga entera no empieces, que las editoriales teneis una mania que es repugnante y os hacen pocos fiables.
Jessica (Step Into Fiction)
Jan 09, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arcs, first-reads, 5-stars
Review originally posted at Step Into Fiction

If you have NOT read Deviants, please read with caution. There are some spoilers that were unavoidable. Proceed with caution . . .

Someone please yell at me when I put books off because I really shouldn't. This book came out in June and I've had it since like April or something but yet I just read it now . . . what? Ever do that with second books? I don't know if it's because I'm afraid of being disappointed when I loved the first book as much as I did
...more
Step Into Fiction
Nov 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: jessica
If you have NOT read Deviants, please read with caution. There are some spoilers that were unavoidable. Proceed with caution . . .

Someone please yell at me when I put books off because I really shouldn't. This book came out in June and I've had it since like April or something but yet I just read it now . . . what? Ever do that with second books? I don't know if it's because I'm afraid of being disappointed when I loved the first book as much as I did with Deviants or if because I'm afraid of th
...more
Galena Sanz
Esta segunda parte no me llamaba mucho la atención porque venía venir un triángulo amoroso que sí, ahí está. No me ha gustado tanto como el primer libro, pero reconozco que se averiguan cosas interesantes. No obstante, creo que la autora se detiene mucho en los pensamientos caóticos de Glory y a pesar de la densidad del libro, no suceden muchas cosas. Está confundida con Cal, está confundida con Burn, está confundida con la doctora... y le da las mismas explicaciones a Cal y Burn "es que tú me d ...more
Neikel
Jan 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
El segundo libro de Las crónicas de Haven se puede describir como pura adrenalina, secretos y desconfianza.
Al tener solamente el punto de vista de Glory y sus experiencias, sus dudas, el libro se convierte en pura tensión acumulada ante lo que no sabes que va a pasar, en quien confiar y quien dice la verdad.
Sola y sin poder confiar en nadie realmente, los que la conocen le han hecho daño y la que no saben que es, si lo descubren... la matarán.
En este libro descubriremos más sobre los mutantes y
...more
Sarah
Jan 11, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: audiobook
I think I enjoy this series for a lot of the reasons many readers liked the Divergent series (which wasn't my bag at all). It's quickly paced with lots of conflict and tough choices, which makes for a very engaging read (listen, in my case). Like I said when I wrote a little thing about Deviants on Goodreads, I really like the corporation as the Big Bad in this world and the X-Men/super-hero vibe is one that really works for me, and the love triangle really works in this series as well (it exist ...more
Charlotte Copper
Jun 02, 2013 rated it it was amazing
So I promised myself no more books until I got some of the current inventory read, but after reading Deviants I HAD TO download Compliance as soon as it was available. And I was NOT disappointed. I loved the book!! I thought Ms McGowan did an excellent job progressing the story and the characters. There are so many comments I want to make, but I don't want to do any spoilers. Suffice to say, I highly recommend the book. It is YA, and I (unfortuantely) am not, so I'm trying to get my daughter to ...more
Coral
Oct 01, 2013 rated it really liked it
This series is really enjoyable, so far, and would make a fantastic Hunger Games read-alike: it's a future dystopia with a strong female character who grows up in poverty and has low self-awareness; and not only that, but there's also a love triangle. Instead of a largish empire run by a small elite city, it's more of a corporatist elite controlling life in a dome, and instead of a fight-to-the-death game, there are mutants and non-mutants. But, seriously, it hits a lot of the same buttons.

I lo
...more
T. Jackson
It lived up to the first book. I enjoyed it very much.
Truitti
Oct 23, 2013 rated it really liked it
can't wait for the sequel. I am enjoying this series.
Chris Dunham
Jun 09, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Loved Compliance!!! What a great follow up to Deviants!!
Helen
Jun 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Review posted at http://canlitforlittlecanadians.blogs...
On July 21, 2013.
Debi
Aug 04, 2013 rated it really liked it
I would give this book a 4.5 star. It was very fast paced. I could feel the conflict and emotions that Glory experienced in the book. I'm so ready to find out what happens next.
Victoria Strauss
Jul 13, 2013 rated it really liked it
A worthy followup to the very good DEVIANTS, with good character development as well as exciting action. I'm looking forward to the final installment.
Sean
Jan 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A decent development, suffers from book 2 syndrome

This book is a good development of the themes set out in the first book. The ideas grow and it plants the seeds that will eventually come to define the 3rd book. It was still enjoyable and expanded on the adventure story and the structure of Haven. Unfortunately it suffers from the problem so many second books in a trilogy do, namely, that it’s been left trying to fill the gap between its siblings. The first book is fresh and full of new ideas. T
...more
Jess
Nov 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
He de ser honesta. Comencé este libro sin haber leído el primero.
Al principio lo hice porque me llamo la atención su sinopsis y solo quería hojearlo un poco, pero conforme fui avanzando me encontré como una historia compleja y bastante interesante. Una distopía como pocas que me he encontrado.
La trama gira en torno a Glory, una chica que sufre una peculiar mutación que la hace lastimar a la gente con una sola mirada. Eso es lo único que puedo decirles de ella, porque, como les comenté no es el
...more
Kelsea
My feelings about this book are right along the same lines as my thoughts on the first one - ie. Standard dystopian, often annoying main character, love triangle, but yet still compelled to finish it.

My one major complaint about Compliance is that I saw the "twist" coming a mile away. (view spoiler)
...more
_Blues_
Okay, going into book two of the Dust chronicles I was feeling very hopeful. At the end of book 1 I was just starting to like our MC and was excited to see what would happen once Glory was back in Haven this time as a spy for the Freedom Army and a recruit for the domes police system.
While I really liked some of the new stuff we were introduced to, I was not happy with Glory. I felt that she was overly cocky in her new position. Granted she did do a lot in a short time and mostly everything work
...more
Anne-marie Leduc
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Julie Goetz
Jun 24, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Really loved the direction this book took with Glory and her plan to help other deviants. The world building is much better in the second of the series. I felt that the book began to take on a much more original Dystopian story.
Justine Schauer (Book Catharsis)
I’m obsessed

I can’t wait to read the next book! I am an addict itching for more. I feel the burn. I have to know what happens next!
Marta Fernández
Feb 23, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Los ejecutores es la segunda entrega de la saga Crónicas de Haven, una novela cargada de acción y misterio. En cierta manera, la parte romántica queda verdaderamente relegada debido al oficio que tiene Glory en este libro. Aun así el libro es muy bueno, y merece la pena.

A la protagonista no le ponen las cosas nada fáciles, llega un punto en el libro en el que pensé que la pobre iba a volverse loca: la confunden y presionan, está rodeada de enemigos, y sus aliados lucen por su ausencia. Hay un p
...more
Kathleen (QueenKatieMae)
I absolutely devoured, and enjoyed, the first book of The Dust Chronicles, Deviants. Glory, the kick-ass Deviant heroine with the power to kill was a compelling character and her life, and escape from, the futuristic domed city of Haven was well told and engrossing. So, when offered a chance to read Compliance, the second novel, I jumped at it. I wanted to know what happened to Glory after she left her brother, father, and love interest, Burn, to re-enter Haven and rescue more Deviants.

Well, she
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Get Lost in a Story: Compliance!!! Maureen McGowans Release Week 1 2 Jun 03, 2013 04:32PM  
  • Nomad
  • An Infidel in Paradise
  • Compis (Five Tribes, #1)
  • Twist
  • Caste (The Corporation Series #1)
  • Ice Song
  • Fortress of Mist (Merlin's Immortals, #2)
  • Hidden (Northern Waste, #2)
  • Counting Back From Nine
  • Day of Fire (2176 Series, #2)
  • Embrace the Night Eternal (Envy Chronicles, #2)
  • The Infected (PODs, #2)
  • When Sparks Fly (Spark, #1)
  • Parallel Visions (Teen Psychic, #1)
  • Redaction
  • Worlds Collide (Sunset Rising, #2)
  • Changeling Winds (The Bachelor Battles, #2)
  • Finding ELE (ELE, #2)
270 followers
Maureen has always been making up stories, but side-tracked by a persistent practical side, it took her a few years to channel her energy into writing novels. After escaping a previous career in finance and accounting, she hasn't looked back.

Aside from her love of books, she's passionate about films, fine handcrafted objects and shoes.

She lives and writes in Toronto, Canada.

Other books in the series

Dust Chronicles (3 books)
  • Deviants (Dust Chronicles, #1)
  • Glory
“Brace yourselves,” the driver shouts from the front. “We’re going through the wall.” I grab one of the handles above my head, bracing for whatever comes.” 1 likes
More quotes…