Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Saving Thanehaven” as Want to Read:
Saving Thanehaven
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Saving Thanehaven

3.23  ·  Rating details ·  71 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Noble is a knight with a heart that's true and, well, noble. With his not-so-trusty sword, Smite, he fights his way through a vicious, unfriendly landscape, sure (or at least, he thinks he's sure) that one day he'll defeat the bad guys (whoever they are) and win the heart (at least he guesses that's the idea) of a beautiful princess. Then one day Rufus comes along and turn ...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published July 9th 2013 by EgmontUSA (first published January 1st 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Saving Thanehaven, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Saving Thanehaven

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  71 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Saving Thanehaven
Brandy Painter
Nov 06, 2013 rated it it was ok
Saving Thanehaven has an intriguing concept. An ambitious one too, and that is the problem I think. It may have been a little too ambitious. I was never able to fully relate to the characters because I knew they were computer systems, parts of a machine. Yes, they are given personality, but a good portion of the book is dedicated to them figuring out they are a computer system and working to save the computer from crashing. The whole thing was a uneven and it was longer than necessary. I may have come at ...more
Aaron
Jul 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
Video gamers and techies will definitely find a lot to like in this novel from Down Under with a story that looks at what happens when video game characters decide they want more freedom than they generally have since their existence is defined by the plot of their games and the players who own their computers.

It all starts from Nobel the Slayer as he is trying to get to the castle to save the Princess Lorellina from the clutches of the evil Lord Harrowmage. With his trusty sword Smi
...more
Thambeka
Sep 05, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Saving Thanehaven by Catherine Jinx is about a young man whose name is Noble. Noble's daily life is fighting monsters, slaying dragons and saving princesses. Soon Noble finds out (by the help of Rufus) that he's life of heroism and good deeds were nothing more than a mere computer game. His life begins to change dramatically and soon noble finds himself learning how to think in his own way.

The author made this book truly amazing. I loved it when she made noble not understand simple thin
...more
Elaine Fultz
Sep 17, 2013 rated it did not like it


Set in a videogame, this book would be benefit from some online cheat codes that allow readers to skip to the end. Quest titles (and videogames) are tedious unless the creators either ramp up the action or offer characters to care about. Unfortunately none of these are included in Saving Thanehaven. Rufus, a hacker, inserts himself into a videogame and attempts to liberate everyone from their programmed path. Noble, the hero, is told he doesn't have to fight anymore, gargoyles don't have to be f
...more
Aiyana
Sep 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
A highly enjoyable, tongue-in-cheek sort of story. It gets off to a slightly slow start, but makes up for that later. Fans of Ready Player One, Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians, and Only You Can Save Mankind will appreciate this adventure that takes place entirely within the circuits of a laptop.
Jeff Raymond
Saving Thanehaven is far from the first book to marry the idea of a computer game and a fantasy novel. Epic in particular from a few years ago is the best of the lot, and Catherine Jinks, who had a solid start to a series with Evil Genius, is trying something a little different here that ultimately did not work for me at all. While it tries to bring this subgenre to a middle grade level, it ultimately ends up being a slog of a short book that continues a streak for me where Jinks just might not be the author I want. ...more
Vanessa
Apr 01, 2015 rated it really liked it
Imagine that you're a knight, fighting your way to the castle to save the princess. But what if it turns out you're actually the bad guy, keeping the princess imprisoned in her castle because to leave it would mean certain abduction? Noble the Knight finds himself facing that very dilemma in this action-packed adventure for ages 11+. A young man named Rufus shows Noble that there is another way, that feuding and fighting may not be his only lot in life. But there is more to Rufus than meets the ...more
Angela
Aug 06, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kidsbooks, sf-fantasy
Very unique! The rendering of the inner workings of a videogame, software, hardware, etc. is really interesting and unique. The spoofs of popular computer games or types of games was very funny. The mystery of Rufus--the computer and the real one--is great. The struggle and mystery about what is right and best in each situation is very presented; the book is thought-provoking as well as a great adventure.
Daniel
Mar 05, 2016 rated it it was ok
This book would seem a lot better if you could relate to it more. It seems like it was written to be funny... but you have to know computers to get the jokes. It follows Noble and his friends as they travel through a computer, but I don't get the parts of a computer, other then very basic parts. Looks like it would be good, but I wouldn't recommend you haveread it unless you have built and programmed your own computer.
Tamara Richman
Ummm... interesting. A fantasy novel taking place inside a computer. The games a middle schooler is playing achieves sentience led by a piece of malware masquerading as a revolutionary. Does that make any sense? I thought it went on too long but it was definitely thought provoking. A nice attempt at something different but didn't completely fly for me.
Patricia Baker
Oct 11, 2014 rated it liked it
Noble the knight is convinced by Rufus that he can choose his destiny. He doesn't have to fight. Thus begins a journey of discovery and destruction inside a computer.
Along with other characters from games on Mikey's computer, Noble trails after Rufus until things start to fall apart. Can Noble save Thanehaven and the other 'worlds' inside the computer?
Ms. Yingling
I normally like Jinks' work, but this somehow didn't quite work for me. Part standard medievalish novel, part video game description, I didn't like the main character and found this somewhat confusing. I wanted something like Dashner's Eye of Minds, and this wasn't quite it.
Emily Ann
May 21, 2014 rated it it was ok
I loved the idea but I didn't like the characters or the way they acted.
Emily
rated it liked it
Apr 13, 2017
Jenny Butler
rated it liked it
Apr 14, 2014
Vonnie
rated it liked it
Jan 29, 2016
Xiaoke
rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2014
Jonathan
rated it it was ok
Jun 10, 2016
Allyson
rated it liked it
Jan 10, 2014
Joanne L.
rated it it was ok
Nov 21, 2013
Julie
rated it it was ok
Nov 08, 2015
Sophia
rated it liked it
Jul 10, 2013
Crowinator
rated it it was ok
May 24, 2013
Matthew
rated it did not like it
Jun 18, 2014
Therese
rated it really liked it
Aug 13, 2013
Shanshad Whelan
rated it it was ok
Aug 19, 2013
Shanshad Whelan
rated it it was ok
Jun 11, 2013
Avmo123
rated it liked it
Apr 28, 2015
Kellie Demarsh
rated it liked it
Apr 19, 2015
Crystal Falconer
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
447 followers
Catherine Jinks is the Australian author of more than thirty books for all ages. She has garnered many awards, including the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Award(three times), the Victorian Premier’s Award, the Aurealis Award for Science Fiction, the Australian Ibby Award, and the Davitt Award for Crime Fiction. Her work has been published in Australia, New Zealand, Britain, ...more