Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Summoning the Mountains: Pilgrimage Into Forty” as Want to Read:
Summoning the Mountains: Pilgrimage Into Forty
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Summoning the Mountains: Pilgrimage Into Forty

by
3.89  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  7 reviews
Hoping to rekindle the spirit of freedom she once knew, a divorced, single mother sets aside family and society's expectations to seek fulfillment by following a lifelong calling. On the eve of turning forty, Amy reaches for her personal goal of hiking the Appalachian Trail. Accepting the name of "Willow" bestowed by her teenage sons, she settles them into new lives at the ...more
Paperback, 310 pages
Published September 28th 2012 by Saille Productions, an Imprint of Wyatt-MacKenzie
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Summoning the Mountains, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Summoning the Mountains

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-44
Average rating 3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Summoning the Mountains: Pilgrimage Into Forty
Nancy Werking Poling
Jul 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing
The image of black balloons with “Over the hill” printed on them didn’t deter Amy Allen. Instead the anticipation of turning forty inspired her to go over mountains. She set for herself the ambitious goal of hiking the entire length of the Appalachian Trail. Alone.

Now, I’m only good for a three–hour hike, four hours at the most, so I didn’t read her memoir, Summoning the Mountains, as preparation for setting a similar goal. I read it for the pleasure of getting caught up vicariously in an experi
...more
Deb
Jan 06, 2015 rated it really liked it
This was an interesting read for me as Amy, the author, helped me buy my first hiking boots when we were in Black Mountain, NC a few weeks ago. I cannot imagine doing this journey! Hats off to all who have ever did the AT!
Ann
Jun 25, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Beautiful language and the story is amazing. While reading Summoning The Mountains, I came to understand we all have journeys we must take. This book speaks to all women and men. Take your journey. This book will stay on my shelves and be reread many times.
Paul
Oct 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Very easy read and enjoyable story of someone finding how strong they really are. The real changes of the trail are softened but it’s fun the to share her observation and growth she experiences. Not necessarily a how to book but clearly shows how one can grow emotionally through physical challenges. Strong.y recommend for this who are really comfortable with themselves.
Lisa Workman
Jul 10, 2019 rated it liked it
3.5 stars
Lee
Jun 16, 2016 rated it liked it
Amy's book is good. If you are interested in what it would be like to plan and then undertake the huge trek of the Appalachian Trail, you will like it.

Amy's style is informal and conversational. It's written like a series of journal entries with dates and locations, but it could have used a more particular editor, in my opinion. I particularly liked her perspective as a parent and a woman. Hiking solo is a different matter altogether for women, especially women with children. Great story of one
...more
Arriel
Jan 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
Amy was refreshingly honest and open about the harsh reality and raw beauty of the AT. Hiking the AT has been my dream for years ever since hiking Springer and Blood Mountain while living in GA. It was an interesting and entertaining read. If you love hiking, etc. you should definitely read this book.
Denise
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2015
Tammy
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2015
Askaline
rated it liked it
Feb 01, 2014
Kitty
rated it liked it
Mar 25, 2013
Thomas
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2017
Debra Calhoun
rated it liked it
Mar 28, 2014
Lynn
rated it it was ok
Jan 27, 2014
Denise
rated it really liked it
Oct 01, 2017
Vyviane Armstrong
rated it it was amazing
Jul 25, 2017
Denise
rated it it was amazing
Apr 21, 2015
Kat
rated it liked it
Sep 02, 2020
Dave
rated it liked it
Sep 10, 2013
Lori
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2015
Laura
rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2013
Aubrey Biggerstaff Stewart
rated it really liked it
Dec 28, 2017
Jessica Kopp
rated it really liked it
Mar 09, 2017
Michele
rated it really liked it
Jan 05, 2014
Cheyenne Houska
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2015
Memphis86
rated it it was amazing
May 21, 2014
Tonya
rated it really liked it
Aug 26, 2020
Carmen Slaughter
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2013
Bekah
marked it as to-read
Jul 03, 2013
Darcus Murray
marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2013
Vizma
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2013
Tori Miller
is currently reading it
Aug 31, 2013
Susan
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2013
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Oct 26, 2013
Shelbi Warner
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2013
Sandra
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2014
Nettrea Robinson
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2014
Shawna
marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2014
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2014
Amy Shroyer
marked it as to-read
May 28, 2014
Guyonahog
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Ckrzy
added it
Aug 13, 2014
Kimberly Hicks
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Third Watch (Tracy Crosswhite, #0.5)
  • Honeysuckle Season
  • Think Like a Cat: How to Raise a Well-Adjusted Cat—Not a Sour Puss
  • Blood Lines (D.I. Kim Stone, #5)
  • Art Journal Freedom: How to Journal Creatively with Color & Composition
  • Old Man on a Bicycle: A Ride Across America and How to Realize a More Enjoyable Old Age
  • The Truth About the RV Life
  • Broken Grace
  • A Widow's Walk Off-Grid to Self-Reliance: An Inspiring, True Story of Courage and Determination
  • Sabbats: A Witch's Approach to Living the Old Ways
  • Crafting a Daily Practice: A Simple Course on Self-Commitment
  • My House Has Wheels
  • The Witch's Book of Self-Care: Magical Ways to Pamper, Soothe, and Care for Your Body and Spirit
  • My Husband's Secret
  • Leave Well Alone
  • The Perfect Neighbor (Jessie Hunt #9)
  • Killman Creek (Stillhouse Lake, #2)
  • Summer
See similar books…

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
26 likes · 14 comments