Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dot Dash” as Want to Read:
Dot Dash
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dot Dash

by
4.03  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  9 reviews
Prepare to enter a world where nothing is ever quite what it seems, where elephants squat in living rooms, plastic ducks fall from the skies and even the rabbits can’t be trusted. The fifty-eight stories in Jonathan Pinnock’s Scott Prize-winning collection Dot Dash show a vivid yet disciplined imagination at work.

These stories, many of which have individually won prizes, a
...more
Paperback, 183 pages
Published November 1st 2012 by Salt
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dot Dash, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dot Dash

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.03  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  9 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Katie Lumsden
Dec 16, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this collection, especially the long-short format. My favourite stories were 'Going Back to Cairo' and 'Farewell Symphony'.
Shirley Golden
Jul 25, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I bought this collection after reading, "The Amazing Arnolfini and His Wife", which I loved. It contains "dashes" - short stories, and "dots" - micro-stories. Jonathan Pinnock sets up fantastic but not always comfortable scenarios, which reveal fears and flaws. His sci-fi, horror and humorous patchwork is both entertaining and accessible. My favourites included the very moving, "Return to Cairo", the humorous, "Canine Mathematics" and the telling, "A Plague of Yellow Plastic Ducks". Recommended.
Dan Purdue
Feb 07, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
After ploughing through a string of four over-long and largely disappointing novels, Dot Dash turned out to be just what I needed. It's quite a slim book, weighing in at a shade under 200 pages, but it contains 58 stories. As implied by the title, these are arranged in sequence, with "dots" (very short stories, many of them small enough to fit the 140-character limit of a tweet) alternating with "dashes" (more traditionally sized short stories). The "dashes" tend not to extend over more than fou ...more
Ellie
Nov 25, 2012 rated it it was amazing
From guerrilla artists taking revenge on a corporate world to a tribal culture formed around rubber ducks. A love story told in few sentences; day one, week one, month one and year one. The simple, consideration of taking an old relative to a place of joy, if imaginary. A future where the food chain has been compromised and meat is a luxury few can afford. Mathematical murders. All these things are more are told through this collection of short stories from Jonathan Pinnock.

The travel guide was
...more
Jim
Apr 29, 2013 rated it really liked it
This is a fine collection of short stories and well-balanced. I do have some reservations however. With one or two exceptions there weren’t many stories here that I felt I wanted to reread and relish. They weren’t hard reads—and by that I mean they were so well-written that I slipped seamlessly from one sentence to the next and never once had to reread a paragraph to see if I’d understood him right the first time (with the sole exception of the story written in reverse) although there was a ‘dot ...more
Laura Besley
Feb 17, 2013 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Tracy
Feb 02, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I raced through this collection of short and flash stories. My first intention was to read a story a day, but once I started I couldn't stop. Wickedly funny at times and yet also written with pathos and humanity. Jonathan Pinnock's imagination must be a wonderful place to live - he would certainly be on my guest list for a dinner party!
Blogbaas Van 'tVliegend Eiland
Oct 20, 2013 rated it really liked it
8/10
Ed Price
Apr 15, 2013 rated it really liked it
Really good, full of very short and very very short stories - some are better than others, but every one is worth a read, and the best of them are superb!
Santino Prinzi
rated it it was amazing
May 17, 2014
Julie Adams
rated it liked it
Jun 08, 2015
John
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2014
Lauren
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2016
Jayne
rated it it was ok
Jan 03, 2015
Gordon
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2018
Peter
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2019
BookScout
rated it really liked it
Mar 01, 2017
Dominic Castello
rated it it was amazing
Jul 31, 2017
Kath
rated it it was amazing
Nov 08, 2013
Katrina
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2013
Sally Maclaren
rated it liked it
May 15, 2014
Sarah Logan
rated it liked it
Dec 08, 2012
Craig Hitchings
rated it really liked it
Jul 06, 2013
Peter Williams
rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2012
Jen Campbell
rated it really liked it
Nov 03, 2012
Rachael
rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2013
Gordon Darroch
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2018
Lorna Fergusson
rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2013
Dr John Cranston
rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2019
Gretel
rated it liked it
Feb 22, 2016
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Please merge books 3 12 Feb 04, 2019 04:21PM