Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Be Still: Simple Keys to Living a Spiritual Life in a Material World” as Want to Read:
Be Still: Simple Keys to Living a Spiritual Life in a Material World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Be Still: Simple Keys to Living a Spiritual Life in a Material World

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  3 reviews
Why do we spend so much time looking outside of ourselves when all the great spiritual teachers of the past tell us, quite clearly, that we can find all that we need within? Throughout our lives we are conditioned to believe that nothing is easy. From early childhood we are taught that if something is worth having, then it has to be worked for and earned. In school we lear ...more
Paperback, 145 pages
Published September 5th 2012 by The Centre of The Labyrinth
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Be Still, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Be Still

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  5 ratings  ·  3 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Be Still: Simple Keys to Living a Spiritual Life in a Material World
Holly
Nov 16, 2012 rated it it was ok
I won this book in a goodreads giveway.
I enjoyed most of the book. There were some very good points on living a simple life and I found his examples hit home in many ways.

Why did I not give the book a better rating? There was an odd chapter towards the end of the book that instructed us to pay our therapists. I mean, I get it. I have many artistic friends that are not paid what they are worth, but in the flow of this book about living a simple life I'm suddenly hit with 'pay me
...more
Christoph Fischer
Nov 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing
The simple keys in this book are exactly that: Simple and basic pieces of thoughts, wisdom and knowledge to put the everyday madness of modern life in to a more spiritual context. The basic theme, to BE STILL, runs through each of the chapters, to demonstrate how easy life can be and actually is.
This simple but highly effective concept makes this simple and effective idea easy to grasp for everyone.
I can only recommend it to anyone new or experienced in Spiritual Teachings.
Martin Dale
Dec 05, 2012 rated it really liked it
Great book and very easy reading. The central message - to be still in order to allow positive aspects of life to flow unhindered - is gently drummed in to the accompaniment of anecdotal examples and well-told parables. As the author states at the start, there is not much new here. Rather it is a useful reminder to those of us who get lost in the material world from time to time, to stop up, chill out and be still.
Wayne
rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2012
Linda Russell
rated it really liked it
Nov 15, 2012
Linda
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
Kellye
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
Cornerofmadness
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
Kendra
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
Cindy Gates
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Sharon Huether
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Nicole Sawhney
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Susan
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Violet
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Pam
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Autumn West
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Kellie Smith
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Paul
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Karen
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
 Lynn Daniel
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Courtney
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Lissa
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Harmony Chezum
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Marie
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2012
Carol Sugden
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2012
Michelle Rapp
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2012
Lisa
added it
Nov 08, 2012
Tammy
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2012
Corey Olomon
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2012
Michael
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2012
Simon Fletcher
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2012
Colleen
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
3 followers
Born in the English Midlands but now resident in South Wales, Jim Fox is a writer, inspirational speaker and spiritual teacher.

After spending many years as a professional musician, performing throughout the UK and Scandinavia he trained as a Sound Therapist & Healer.

He went on to set up an Holistic Centre in Swansea, South Wales which provides a space for Complementary Therapies,
...more