Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Spirit of Noh: A New Translation of the Classic Noh Treatise the Fushikaden” as Want to Read:
The Spirit of Noh: A New Translation of the Classic Noh Treatise the Fushikaden
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Spirit of Noh: A New Translation of the Classic Noh Treatise the Fushikaden

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  69 ratings  ·  5 reviews
The Japanese dramatic art of Noh has a rich six-hundred-year history and has had a huge influence on Japanese culture and such Western artists as Ezra Pound and William Butler Yeats. The actor and playwright Zeami (1363–1443) is the most celebrated figure in the history of Noh, with his numerous outstanding plays and his treatises outlining his theories on the art. These t ...more
Paperback, 184 pages
Published May 14th 2013 by Shambhala (first published 1400)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Spirit of Noh, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Spirit of Noh

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  69 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Akemi G.
Aug 28, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A few GR friends asked me about No (Noh) play. I've only watched it live once. I remembered this book by Zeami and am pleasantly surprised it is translated into English. However, my library doesn't carry it. So I downloaded and read the Japanese original here.

The original is short (22 pages). I guess this book contains introduction and notes, and I also see it contains one of the Noh script, Atsumori, which is derived from The Tale of the Heike. (Actually, I mentioned that famous story is my re
...more
Michael
Jan 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The other reviews are somewhat misleading--at least one refers to Wilson's book that combines a translation of FUSHI KADEN (transmitting the flower) with the warrior play Atsumori. This work by the French Japanologist René Sieffert is a longer and more varied collection, a good one-volume introduction to noh. The present volume contains a translation of FUSHI KADEN and other selections from Zeami's theoretical writings--for which readers of English will now want to refer to Tom Hare's Zeami: Per ...more
Stephen
Feb 05, 2008 is currently reading it  ·  review of another edition
sooo eerie Caela
i am working through this one RIGHT NOW
eerie/weird/of course

just looking it up research-wise
but truly weird
Arthur Rosenfeld
I automatically buy all of Wilson's translations and enjoy them very much. As a martial artist this one is less down my alley than some, but still a fascinating read.
Alexandra Rădescu
rated it it was amazing
Apr 13, 2014
Julian
rated it liked it
Apr 26, 2016
Dusty Bayers
rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2012
Ling Chow
rated it it was amazing
Jun 20, 2016
Gilbert
rated it really liked it
Jan 23, 2009
Kaspar Paseko
rated it it was amazing
Apr 23, 2017
Rob Callender
rated it really liked it
Aug 15, 2014
Virditas
rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2015
Ylyth Maeve
rated it it was amazing
Aug 07, 2016
Raven
rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2014
Shane
rated it it was amazing
Mar 01, 2015
Jason Schlessman
rated it really liked it
Oct 05, 2014
Ana Tecar
rated it it was amazing
Jan 13, 2013
Wayne "Doc Nirvana" Stein
rated it it was amazing
Nov 10, 2016
Blaze Mancillas
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2014
Marco
rated it it was amazing
Aug 27, 2018
Joe Martin
rated it really liked it
Jul 23, 2018
Cindy Jerrell
rated it liked it
Jul 09, 2014
Simona Viviani
rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2017
Jorge Ochoa-lions
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2012
Ana Maria N
rated it liked it
Sep 15, 2013
Naomi Cohen
rated it liked it
Jan 23, 2012
Dace Micāne zālīte
rated it it was amazing
Oct 18, 2017
Jeanann
rated it it was amazing
Dec 11, 2015
John Rackham
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2014
Jon Deyoung
rated it really liked it
May 03, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
7 followers
Kanze Zeami (1364-1444), also called Zeami Motokiyo, was a Japanese actor, playwright, and critic. His theoretical works on the art of the No are as justly celebrated as his dramas.