Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Grounded” as Want to Read:
Grounded
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Grounded

3.93  ·  Rating details ·  968 ratings  ·  209 reviews
A middle grade novel about a 12-year-old girl dealing with loss, who uncovers a rather grisly scam involving a crematorium.

After her brother, sister, and father die in a plane crash, Daralynn Oakland receives 237 dolls from well-wishers, resulting in her nickname: Dolly. But dolls are little comfort to a twelve-year-old girl whose world is rocked by the dramatic changes in
...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published August 20th 2013 by Square Fish (first published November 9th 2010)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  968 ratings  ·  209 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
babyhippoface
This is, by far, my favorite Kate Klise book. I really, really liked it. I was hooked by the first four sentences. Let me show you what I saw....

Opening sentence: "I'm alive today because I was grounded."
Fourth sentence: "That's the only reason I wasn't in Daddy's plane when it crashed and killed him, my brother, and my little sister."

And the two sentences in between aren't bad, either.

With most of her family suddenly gone, Daralynn is left with her mother, who seems to be getting angrier day b
...more
Brady_Chua
Jun 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is great and exciting to read. Kate Klise, the author, used some easy vocab in the story so that younger children can understand the story. It’s suitable for everyone, but it might be too easy for adults. There’s nothing bad about this story, but in the middle it could be boring. It depends on what kind of person you are, if you are a person that likes to read about people’s lives, the story in the middle might be enjoyable for you. If you are a person that does not like to read about ...more
Bruce Gargoyle
Ten Second Synopsis:
After Daralynn’s father, brother and sister are killed in a plane accident, she and her mother find it hard to relate to each other, despite providing hair styling in tandem at her mother’s new salon. Daralynn has enough trouble trying to hide the hundreds of dolls she received after the deaths from her Mamaw, who is sliding into dementia, without having to worry about the frosty atmosphere at home. Then the charming Mr Clem moves into town with his new crematorium, sweeping
...more
Lauren Kester
Personal response
I read the book “Grounded”. This was a pretty good book. The title made me wonder what the book was about. I liked this book because it was full of suspense and I never wanted to put it down. I felt like I could really connect to the main character.
Plot
Daralynn is a twelve year old girl who gets grounded because she went fishing without her mother’s permission. Little does she know that being grounded saved her life. Since she was grounded she wasn’t allowed to go on a plane ri
...more
Goldilocks Reads (Jenna Vahue)
While I did enjoy this book from one of my favorite authors, it was a very heavy read. I felt very drained reading Grounded, but I'm glad I did. Not all books are an escape, but rather a smudged mirror of the reality some people have to withstand.

Grounded is about 12-year-old tomboy Daralynn who was grounded by her mother because she went fishing in the local pond without her permission. As punishment, she was not allowed to go on a flight with her siblings as her father pilots the plane. Horrif
...more
Caitlin L
May 02, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I just finished the book "Grounded" by: Kate Klise. I decided to write my report on the main character, Daralynn, also known as Dolly. She got the nickname when her dad, little sister, and big brother died in a plane crash and so many people gave her dolls to attempt to comfort her. Daralynn hates the dolls although her grandmother, Mamaw loves them. So basically, she's left with her grumpy mother, gaudy Aunt Josie, shy Uncle Wayne, and her grandmother, Mamaw! Well, and the mysterious cremation ...more
Emma W.
Jan 31, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I think that theme of this book is you should be optimistic when something bad happens because it may turn out to be better. I think this because a girl named Daralynn is grounded for going fishing without permission so her brother and sister get to go on a plane ride with her dad while Daralynn stays home with her mother. The plane crashes and kills her brother, Wayne Jr., sister, Lilac Rose and dad. I found this on the first page first sentence, 'I'm alive today because i was grounded.' I foun ...more
Tomiko
Oct 09, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
So many great children's books deal with death (Out of the Dust, Sounder, etc.) but this one starts with the heavy subject and blossoms into a story about life and carrying on. I'm not sure how many kids I could recommend this book to, but I think adults looking for a light, nostalgic read would enjoy it. The time period is hazy (sometime post-Vietnam war, but before this decade--maybe early 80s?) and the small town setting might be a turn off. Might work as a readalike for Because of Winn Dixie ...more
Kim Patton
Jan 26, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is my favorite of all Kate Klise's books so far! Daralynn's father, sister and brother are killed in a plane crash that she would have been on if she had not been grounded. She and her mother are left behind in their small town to start their life without the rest of their family. Mom starts working on hair at the funeral home, which leads to a new job at the local beauty shop. While Mom is wrapped up in the loss of her family, Daralynn struggles to understand the changes that have happened ...more
Karen
Dec 01, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great read - so similar to Each Little Bird That Sings- Daralyn is such a great character, just like Comfort. It was also a little heart-wrenching, and Klise handles the family's loss tenderly. The ending was rather expected, but great for middle schoolers. It won't eclipse ELBTS in my heart, but it was definitely enjoyable.
Kate Lee
Feb 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
AWESOME. It's all I can say, really. Just really awesome. Want to know more? READ IT! MAN this is a good book! So many good books now that I personally dont have a favourite book! WONDERFUL STORY! But dont like what the book is about, BC AND AD!
Leslie
Jan 31, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Sometimes it pays to misbehave. Or does it? Daralynn is grounded the day her daddy goes up in his air-o-plane with her older brother and younger sister. Now after their deaths, she is still left behind with her motion-sick mother and the small community of Digginsville in the Missouri Ozarks (of the 1970s). As Daralynn sorts out the differences between Before the Crash (BC) and After the Deaths (AD), she learns what it means to be grounded in every aspect of the word.

Grounded, as a novel surroun
...more
Lauren
Who would ever guess that a story about a young girl losing her father, brother and sister to a horrible plane crash could be so full of laughs? Yes, Grounded explores the aftermath of a horrible loss, but by its end, you realize that it is not really a story about death. It's a story about what it means to be alive. It's about the people who are left behind when tragedy strikes (Daralynn and her mother, in this case) and how they have to drag themselves up and back into life no matter how much ...more
David
book: Grounded] by Kate Klise follows Daralynn Oakland after three family members die in a plane crash, and her world is rocked. Her story becomes about life and carrying on in a town filled with quirky characters. Can Daralynn save a dying business, solve a burning mystery, and resuscitate the broken hearts in Digginsville, MO, population 402?

A gift of a blank journal from her teacher gives Daralynn a place to write letters to her dead father, sister and brother. In her letters she reports what
...more
Princess Gonzalez
"I'm alive today because I was grounded." Daralynn otherwise known as Dolly, is a twelve year old girl who was grounded from going on the plane that killed her dad, little sister, and older brother, so now she is trying to get used to it but then something happens that changes her."Grounded" by Kate Klise is one of my most favorite books I've ever read!

Daralynn is a twelve year old girl whose dad,sister,and brother died in a plane crash. She is very brave and couragous. So now she is left with h
...more
Beth G.
Daralynn Oakland should have been in her father's plane that day. Instead, she was sitting at home, grounded by her mother, when a state trooper arrived to tell them that the plane's engine failed, and that Daralynn's father, older brother, and younger sister died in the crash. After that, nothing can be the same. Her homemaker mother stops cooking meals and takes a job preparing bodies at the local funeral home. Her grandmother loses interest in anything except playing with the 237 dolls well-w ...more
Mary
Jul 31, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Twelve-year-old Daralynn Oakland was grounded for going out alone fishing in their Ozark town of Digginsville, Missouri, so she wasn't on the plane that crashed and killed her dad, brother, and sister. Now it's just her and her mom struggling with their loss. The 237 dolls that people have given her don't really help her much, and even worse, she's getting called Dolly because of them, which she hates, as would any self-respecting tomboy. Her new nickname isn't the only change, of course. Her mo ...more
Nancee
Jul 04, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"I'm alive today because I was grounded." So starts 12-year-old Daralynn's story of why she remains alive after her father, sister and brother were killed when a plane piloted by her father crashed. The loss has transformed her mother into a bitter, angry woman who begins her own business as a hair stylist for the local funeral home after everyone admires the wonderful job she's done on her children and husband for their funerals. When Mr. Clem, a stranger with plans to build a crematorium, appe ...more
Angie
Daralynn Oakland survived because she was grounded. She had gone fishing at Doc Lake without permission so her mom grounded her and she didn't get on the plane that crashed and killed her dad, sister and brother. After the funeral, her mom starts doing hair at the funeral home and takes over the local hair salon. Her mom becomes more and more withdrawn as time goes by and everything seems to irritate her. The biggest irritant is Aunt Josie. Aunt Josie runs the Summer Sunset Retirement Home for D ...more
Rebecca
May 27, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Daralynn Oakland, age 12, hates dolls. Especially since people started calling her Dolly, on account of all the dolls. She doesn’t even want them, but doesn’t want to see Mamaw playing with them either, so she secrets the dolls away in hide-away spots, only to be unearthed and doted on by Mamaw the next day. The dolls were all presents, thoughts of kindness, from neighbors trying to help. But how can a few dolls replace almost your entire family? Daralynn’s father and older siblings died in a pl ...more
Erica
Jul 04, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Grounded by Kate Klise was so darn cute. Before I started reading, Grounded struck me as one of those books that is bizarre in the best way possible and it totally was. I loved the wacky characters Kate Klise has created and the story of growth they have to share.

Daralynn is such a great main character - she is a character that everyone can connect with. She is not the beauty of the family nor the favorite and she would rather be fishing than playing with dolls or doing girly things. Guys have s
...more
Katelynn
Jan 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
For years, the six Oakland's have put down roots in their small community. A plane crash tears up their family leaving twelve year old Daralynn and her mother behind. They stumble. Loose their footing. They balance life differently. Daralynn roots down seeing life events as "BC"(before the crash) and "AD"(After the deaths) often writing letters to her deceased father and siblings in her Pertinent Facts & Information handbook while her mother rises up and throws herself into a new job working ...more
Becky
Jan 31, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ages 9-12. Daralynn divides her life between B.C. (before the crash) and A.D. (after the deaths), after her father, brother and sister are killed in an airplane crash. Now it's just her and her mother, and her mother has turned to stone. The only way she can pay the bills is to style the hair of the corpses at the funeral home. But when Clem Monroe breezes into town, bringing a crematorium to Digginsville, it threatens her mother's livelihood. Daralynn dreams up the "living funeral", where livin ...more
Jackie
Not the typical Kate Klise book, Grounded finds its way into your heart as you read about DaraLynn Oakland and her tragedy. Her father, brother, and sister were killed in a plane crash piloted by her father. She was left out of the trip because she was grounded at the time. Now, DaraLynn and her mother must come to terms with their loss and grief.

DaraLynn's mom becomes employed as a hairdresser to the recently dead, but finding that business is not booming (thank goodness), she branches out of h
...more
Leamae Cruzat
Jan 08, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is amazing. Especially the ending. I wasn't expecting it. I just thought in the end, Mr. Clem and Daralynn's mom would be okay. They would unite together in a business and have a happy ending. They did kind of I guess have a happy ending, but Mr. Clem didn't since they found out what he actually is. Anyways, I love how in the beginning of the book, Kate Klise already gave some clues about what Mr. Clem is already doing. Like how Daralynn found the tooth at the lake. She thought it wasn ...more
Ariel Cummins
I must admit that I only added this book to my pile at the library because the cover caught my eye. Once I got it home, though, I moved it to the top of the stack because the premise sounded so interesting.

Now that I'm done, I have that today I have to put a check in the "impulse book decisions" column. This book was excellent! Despite the somewhat macabre subject matter, the story never felt heavy handed or overly depressing. There was just the right amount of humor to lighten up the mood, but
...more
Samantha
Daralynn loses her father, older brother, and younger sister in a plane crash and gains 237 dolls and a new nickname:Dolly. To make ends meet, her mother takes over ownership of a beauty parlor after she shows her skills with preparing her family's bodies for their funerals.

The first summer after the unfortunate deaths is a hard one for Daralynn. Her mother uses anger to push down her own feelings of grief while Daralynn turns to writing letters to her lost loved ones in a journal given to her
...more
Grace Sensenig
Aug 17, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Darralynn Oakland is grounded for fishing at doc lake without her mother's permission,
when one day her father wayne, her sister lilac rose, and her brother wayne junior, take a ride on her fathers airplane. later that day, Darralynn and her mother recieve word that wayne, wayne junior, and lilac rose are dead.
after that, darralynn gets 237 dolls from well wishers, resulting in her nickname Dolly, but Darralynn hates dolls, she would much rather be fishing at doc lake than sitting around playing
...more
Luisa
Jan 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
This was a sweet little book, reminding me a lot of Polly Horvath. There were seeming ridiculous situations (living funerals, the Frenchie, the crematorium) that were made pretty funny with good writing. Of course Daralynn was great, and her mother was appropriately cranky and tragic. I loved the descriptions of the funerals and all the social dynamics of a small town. Aunt Josie was hilarious, while also kind of sad, and Daralynn made a great observer to everything. My only complaint is that th ...more
Voca
Mar 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was amazing. This one girl called Daralynn has been grounded by her mother because she went fishing without her mother's permission. Her father, sister, and brother all die in the plane on the trip that Daralynn was grounded from going on. Neighbors feel heartbroken that a little girl has to go through this, and individually buy their share of 237 total dolls. Daralynn is now being called Dolly. But a new man comes into town and bad things start to happen. Find out what happens in the ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Jake
  • Milo: Sticky Notes and Brain Freeze
  • Star in the Forest
  • The Reinvention of Moxie Roosevelt
  • The Danger Box
  • Camo Girl
  • The Summer of May
  • Doodlebug: A Novel in Doodles
  • Livvie Owen Lived Here
  • Dorko the Magnificent
  • R My Name Is Rachel
  • Six Innings: A Game in the Life
  • A Whole Lot of Lucky
  • A Thunderous Whisper
  • Griff Carver, Hallway Patrol
  • Sugar and Ice
  • Samurai Shortstop
  • Saint Louis Armstrong Beach
See similar books…
256 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author by this name in the Goodreads data base.

Catherine "Kate" Klise is an American author of children's literature. Many of her books are illustrated by her sister, M. Sarah Klise. Their popular Regarding series is presented in a scrapbook style format, with letters, journal entries, and related ephemera telling the story. She is also known for her picture
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »