Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wright for America” as Want to Read:
Wright for America
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wright for America

by
4.30  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Pryor Wright’s ultra-conservative radio show has millions of devout fans who are sure that the slurs and wild accusations fired at the liberal left prove him a true patriot. But when his venomous rantings catch Maren Garrity’s twin brother in the crossfire, the struggling actress pursues her own style of justice and enlists a troupe of fellow unemployed actors to teach Wri ...more
Paperback, 252 pages
Published September 14th 2012 by Grayling Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Wright for America, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Wright for America

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-52
4.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kathleen Heady
Sep 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Wright for America by Robin Lamont
Robin Lamont's newest book is not suspense in the traditional sense, but she does create enough tension to keep the reader turning the pages.
The main character Maren Garrity is a struggling actress who uses her theatrical skills to work as a private detective to pay the rent. On her current assignment, she creates various identities and disguises to trap the sellers of knock-off designer bags, but the plot turns into a comedy of errors when a shipment of fake L
...more
Patty
Oct 29, 2012 rated it really liked it
Words have power. That is only one of the messages put forth in this rather entertaining book about talented but unemployed actress Maren Garrity. Pryor Wright is a conservative talk show host who spills his opinions on various subjects to a large contingent of followers. When some of those followers act upon his disgust of gays and assault Maren's brother she decides something has to be done. She approaches the district attorney's office and the ACLU but runs up against a bureaucratic wall so s ...more
Margaret
Sep 26, 2012 rated it really liked it
I have loved Robin Lamont as a singer and actress for a long time. Now, I love her as an author. I found her second book, Wright for America, to be intelligent, witty, and very relevant. I only hope my very conservative, Rush Limbaugh loving momma enjoys it as much as I did!!!! *crossing my fingers*
Aimee Jodoin
Sep 28, 2012 rated it it was amazing
In his extremely right-wing radio show, Pryor Wright—whose only purpose is fame and fortune, regardless of the harm he causes—inadvertently encourages conservatives to express their anger at the liberals through violence, landing Maren Garrity’s twin brother in the hospital. Maren, a member of an acting troupe, believes Pryor Wright is solely responsible for this crime, and she wants revenge. Using her acting skills, she poses as a law school student and acquires an internship on “Wright for Ame ...more
Chrissy (The Every Free Chance Reader)
Did I enjoy this book: This book was not bad but it did take me awhile to get through. It was not a book that I had to read every free chance I had.

For me, this book was kind of confusing. There were a lot of characters to keep track of and I lost track of most of them. Some of the characters - specifically the main characters - were playing multiple roles in this plot to get Pryor Wright. It was just hard to follow sometimes. I could not keep track of the different arms dealers and buyers or t
...more
Suspense Magazine
Robin Lamont’s newest book is not suspense in the traditional sense, but does create enough tension to keep the reader turning the pages. The main character Maren Garrity is a struggling actress who uses her theatrical skills to work as a private detective to pay the rent. On her current assignment, she creates various identities and disguises to trap the sellers of knock-off designer bags, but the plot turns into a comedy of errors when a shipment of fake Louis Vuitton bags is mixed up with a s ...more
Melysah Bunting
Oct 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Wright for America by Robin Lamont is a story with a lot of elements. There's suspense, romance, politics, and more! Maren Garrity is an undercover actress who helps to catch criminals. Her twin brother is the target of a hate crime, and this leads Maren to vow for revenge against the leader of the pac. The man responsible for spreading hate is a popular radio host by the name of Pryor Wright.

Maren devises a plan to frame Mr. Wright with the help of her troupe, and she also has her regular dayt
...more
Amie McCracken
Dec 06, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2012
Wright for America by Robin Lamont is a thriller and a political statement and a personal story all wrapped up in one. The reader follows a radio host who is full of himself, a young actress sticking up for her twin brother, and an FBI agent who has fallen in love with the woman he is tailing. The twists and turns take the reader to unexpected places.

The book started out with a topic I was not expecting. The radio host, Pryor Wright, is an extreme republican. And by extreme I mean goading his li
...more
Casee Marie
Sep 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing
My full review at Literary Inklings

Wright for America, Robin Lamont’s second novel, combines the worlds of art and politics into an absorbing, often satiric dialogue on the social landscape of America. Lamont’s examination of the power of words and the result they can have on our lives presents a consistent and thought-provoking theme throughout the novel, and her depiction of over-zealous conservatism illuminates an ideology whose progression is severely stunted by archaic morals. The result is
...more
A.G. Lindsay
Great premise, a bit short on delivery. If the author had concentrated on one (or even two) of the plot lines instead of throwing in the FBI. the arms dealers AND the revenge on the talk-show host, the book might have been better. As it was, there were just a bit too many characters who were dropped by the wayside and forgotten when the action heated up elsewhere and were never returned to.

For the most part, a fun read.
Donna Cavanagh
Feb 04, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This is one of the best books I have ever read. Robin Lamont weaves a tale of intrigue and humor. She truly is a master story teller. She draws on her experiences as an actor, Private Investigator and D.A. Phenomenal read.
Nell Nicholas
Jul 31, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book. Lamont does a wonderful job creating a back drop of political missteps with an ongoing investigation that had me smiling throughout the entire novel. When is the motion picture coming out? Would make a fabulous screen play.
Lori
Sep 17, 2012 marked it as unsolicited
unsolicited/from publisher
Tom
rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2013
Beth
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2012
Bethany
rated it liked it
Feb 26, 2017
Jon
rated it really liked it
Sep 11, 2013
Sandy Schmidt
Mar 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely delightful. Despite the hate-speech, there are many places that are belly-laugh funny. Reminiscent of the Cary Grant movies where misinterpretations lead to hilarious situations, it is really enjoyable.
James Gleason
rated it it was amazing
Sep 25, 2012
Felicity Barry
rated it it was amazing
Nov 18, 2012
Susan
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2014
Patricia
rated it really liked it
Nov 09, 2012
Tarek
marked it as to-read
Sep 21, 2012
Paul
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
Cindy Gates
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
Bob
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
Genine Franklin-Clark
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
PJ
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2012
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2012
Stephenie
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2012
Susan
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2012
Wanda
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2012
Dale
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2012
Victoria Phillips
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2012
Amber
marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2012
Corey Olomon
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2012
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2012
Shannon
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2012
Colleen
marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2012
Jaime
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2012
Danielle Joy
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2012
Ryan
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2012
Judie
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2012
Justine
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2012
Suzanne
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2012
Emily
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2012
Kimme
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2012
Caitlin
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2012
Walt
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
Jessica Buike
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
26 followers
Broadway actress - private investigator - Assistant DA - and now novelist.

Robin Lamont worked as a Broadway actress and singer, playing lead roles in Godspell, Grease, and Working. Her original cast recording of "Day by "Day" and her film version of the song have drawn fans from around the world. Utilizing her acting experience she became an undercover investigator for a PI firm in New York City
...more