Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rogue of Rouxville” as Want to Read:
Rogue of Rouxville
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt

Rogue of Rouxville

by
4.29  ·  Rating details ·  7 ratings  ·  5 reviews
It is 1877.

Jakob Klein, a liberal-minded Jewish pioneer from Bavaria, has been living in the small town of Rouxville in the Orange Free State in southern Africa for well over a decade.

He will try anything to support his wife and growing family. His questionable business ethics often cause him to sail close to the wind. This time, he has sailed far too close, and his life
...more
Paperback, 344 pages
Published September 7th 2012 by Adam Yamey
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Rogue of Rouxville, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Rogue of Rouxville

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-13
Average rating 4.29  · 
Rating details
 ·  7 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Rogue of Rouxville
Charlie Bray
Oct 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Reading Adam Yamey’s novel is reminiscent of reading some of the great classic literature of our time. His writing style is timeless, very descriptive and his characters exude deepness, which is not readily accessible. Indeed, his main character Jakob Klein is built up in layers so that you get to know him slowly and are continually left wanting to know more about him. A very clever writing technique.

I rarely have rarely read such evocative descriptions. For instance, he describes two workmen
...more
Shomeret
Sep 21, 2012 rated it really liked it
This is a revised version of a book that originally appeared under the title of Debt and Deception. I thought that from the character perspective this was a marked improvement over Adam Yamey's first book, Aliwal. Jakob Klein is much more complex than Henry Bergmann. Jakob's ethics would be an interesting discussion topic. Jakob's dedication to his family also makes him a sympathetic character that I cared about.(view spoiler) ...more
Adam
Sep 09, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I am giving ROGUE OF ROUXVILLE 5 stars. I am the author of this historical novel set in southern Africa during the 1870s .

I believe that you should read my book because it gives interesting insights into the lives and problems of people living in southern Africa during the mid to late 19th century (the 1870s).

The questionable business practices of Jakob Klein, the hero of the book, resonate with today's sad decline in business ethics, as exemplified in recent shenanigans in the world of British
...more
Ramiya
Apr 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I loved Rogue of Rouxville by Adam Yamey, and could not put it down. Set in South Africa during the mid to late 18th century, Yamey completely immerses the reader in the everyday life and hardships in the small towns. We are given a glimpse into Jacob Klein's migration to America. Adam has a great economy of words, but at the same time, he describes every little detail during Klein's treks across the karroo, his family life as well as all the townsfolk. All the rogue characters are so well drawn ...more
Miloš
Sep 20, 2012 rated it really liked it
Well, I have really enjoyed in this book.
At first, it was a bit slower than I have expected, but soon it gets some speed.
Story was very interesting and remind me on some of the world classic books I have read.
Jackob, the main character was very, how can I say an intriguing fellow.
His struggle for the benefits of his family was very touchfull and bite my heart.

I gave it only four stars because I do not want to spoil the writer. :-)
Keep on going with good writing!
Christoph Fischer
rated it liked it
Nov 21, 2012
Adam Dossa
rated it really liked it
Aug 25, 2014
Angela
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2012
Malla
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2012
J.C.
marked it as to-read
Oct 19, 2012
Carol Preston
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2012
Doris-Maria
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2013
Joyce
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2016
topics  posts  views  last activity   
AMAZON 1 1 Oct 06, 2012 01:58AM  
81 followers

AUTHOR/ retired DENTIST


A great new travel book about India
Adam Yamey

BOOKS BY ADAM:

"TRAVELS THROUGH GUJARAT, DAMAN, AND DIU" describes an intimate journey through a less well-known area of western India.

"SOAP TO SENATE: A GERMAN JEW AT THE DAWN OF APARTHEID" is the biography of a politician who tried to combat the genesis of apartheid in South Africa in the first decades of the 20th century.

"ALIWAL" and "ROGUE OF ROUXVILLE":
...more