Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta (Gabriel Stone, #1)” as Want to Read:
Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta (Gabriel Stone, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta

(Gabriel Stone #1)

by
3.87  ·  Rating details ·  31 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Gabriel Stone is a twelve-year-old boy still reeling from the unsolved disappearance of his mother. With a dad who’s hard to relate to, and mounting pressures at school, Gabriel lets off steam by hiking in the place where his mother was last seen. There, Gabe and friends find a crystal that proves not only beautiful, but magical beyond their wildest dreams. Only, magic and ...more
Paperback, 240 pages
Published January 1st 2013 by Month9Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.87  · 
Rating details
 ·  31 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Rachel Harris
Gabriel Stone and the Divinity of Valta is a fun-filled adventure filled with talking monkeys, flying tigers, magical powers, and three best friends who are smart, funny, loyal, and above all, authentic. My daughters fell in love with Finley, and I fell in love with the beautiful world Duffy created. A must read for fans of The Never Ending Story and The Chronicles of Narnia.
Lauren Hammond
Oct 13, 2012 rated it it was amazing
A truly magical and entertaining read!

I loved every second of it!
Rachael
[3.5/5]

Also check out my interview with the author as part of the blog tour here!

GABRIEL STONE AND THE DIVINITY OF VALTA is the type of book that a parent would love to read with a child! Filled with so much fun, magic and adventure, this is a book any elementary or middle school student would enjoy (:

Like any MG Fantasy book should have, this book comes with an enchanting magical world known as Valta, which I eventually fell in love with! Personally, I especially liked exploring Parm, a villag
...more
Jennifer
Feb 24, 2013 rated it really liked it
This book is a good read for adults as well as children. It's an amazing adventure of three friends and one surly annoying boy to a land similar to theirs but things are a bit different. Gabriel, Brent and Piper are out hiking and find something special but they aren't sure what it is. They take it to their school and ask the science teacher to tells them to make it into a science project. They head out to find out exactly what it is and along the way they find out a school mate of theirs knows ...more
Amy
Jan 10, 2013 rated it really liked it
The story of Gabriel Stone and his two friend Brent and Piper as they travel to Valta is a great story. Gabriel is missing his mother who went missing over a year ago. He, Brent and Piper are down by the town's falls when they see a mysterious stone in the ice. After retrieving the stone, the three friends end up in another world - Valta.

Valta is dying because the two Divinities that help it "run" have gone missing. One is in the possession of the evil Duke Malgor. Gabriel and his friends set o
...more
Dana
Feb 05, 2013 rated it liked it
This is an imaginative fantasy story for kids. Gabriel is 12 years old. His mother disappeared a year ago. After finding an unusual crystal, Gabriel and his friends are drawn into another world where an evil man is trying to take control and the world is dying and monsters roam at night. Gabriel is the only one who can save this world. He must be brave to do so. I think kids will like this imaginative book.
Ann
Mar 07, 2013 rated it really liked it
Young readers will like this magical kingdom. A young boy and his friends discover the entrance while searching for his mother who has disappeared. Strange creatures and weird humans make for a thrilling story.
Ceilidh
Feb 23, 2018 rated it did not like it
Shelves: books-i-own-epub
This book was...well. It oughtn't to have been published.
It was basically a "group of friends go to a magical world and save absolutely everyone" story--y'know how it is. And I was expecting some epic plotline, or halfway engaging characters, or at least something of merit. Did I get any of those things?

Nope.

Instead, it was basically a fanfiction of Narnia where the author inserted her son as the protagonist (and yep, his name is ACTUALLY Gabriel). The setup was bad, the characterization was fa
...more
Clare O'Beara
This is a young teen adventure, full of action, but I found it highly derivative. It is also poor on some realities such as what to do with a person who has been rescued from a frozen river. (Sit and talk to them, we're told. Don't hurry home or worry about hypothermia.)
Gabriel's mother left - or vanished - a year ago, and while hiking with his friends he find a strange crystal that emits shimmering light. Risking an ice-topped river to fetch it, and getting very wet, he realises that this is th
...more
Pam Torres
Mar 17, 2013 rated it liked it
Marvelous Middle Grade Monday Review

Shannon Duffy has created a great adventure for boys and girls alike. These twelve-year-olds manage to save a dying world, learn to depend on each other and even get to work a little magic. While I didn't find the plot intensely original there is tension almost every page and the world Duffy creates is unique. It took a while for me to see the characters, they are pretty generic. That said, eight to thirteen year old Tweens will surely enjoy the ride. Reminded
...more
Ladonna
Feb 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
This is a 4.5. A fun read.
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Feb 19, 2015
M.J.
rated it it was amazing
Sep 06, 2012
Denise
rated it did not like it
Mar 07, 2013
Brenda Drake
rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2012
Kelly Hashway
Aug 24, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Full review to come on January 2nd.
Rachel
rated it it was amazing
Aug 24, 2012
Amber Forbes
rated it really liked it
Sep 18, 2013
Jennifer Provost
rated it liked it
May 24, 2014
Nayla
rated it liked it
Nov 09, 2013
KP
rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2012
Pms Mrsmoose
rated it liked it
Feb 21, 2013
Shelley Watters
rated it it was amazing
Oct 13, 2012
Shannon Duffy
Aug 22, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Rose Garcia
rated it it was amazing
Feb 16, 2013
Ryan
rated it really liked it
Feb 11, 2017
Scoutaccount
rated it liked it
May 19, 2017
Eunice lopez
rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2012
Caroline Patti
rated it really liked it
Apr 17, 2013
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Available on NetGalley for review now 1 5 Jan 05, 2013 01:55PM  
157 followers
Author of MG and YA books full of adventure. I grew up on the east coast of Canada in the province of Newfoundland and now live in Ontario. I love writing, reading, fashion, fitness, and traveling.

Fine me on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/ShannonDuffy...

Other books in the series

Gabriel Stone (2 books)
  • Gabriel Stone and the Wrath of the Solarians (Gabriel Stone, #2)