Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Snitch World” as Want to Read:
Snitch World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Snitch World

3.81  ·  Rating details ·  53 ratings  ·  15 reviews
In the new novel from noir master Jim Nisbet, the Snitch World in question is actually made up of different worlds both old and new, populated with the old-time petty criminals, like Chainbang and Klinger, but also with the modern, including a nouveau femme fatale whose tools of the criminal trade are from the new economy. Snitch World takes place in a San Francisco of men ...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published July 1st 2013 by PM Press (first published January 1st 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Snitch World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Snitch World

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.81  · 
Rating details
 ·  53 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Snitch World
Still
Jun 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Noir enthusiasts; Fans of Bukowski & Derek Raymond & Other Cerebral Two-Fisted Crime Writers
Recommended to Still by: I Buy ALL Jim Nisbet Books
REALLY Liked It!


REVIEW TO FOLLOW.
Tuck
May 24, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: noir
thieves, bad guys and ex cons DO HAVE an ethics, and that is to NEVER snitch. so our down n out drunk, not-so-bad-guy Klinger can do nothing when he gets the big frameup and no payoff, just a trip to the hot seat.
jim nisbet writes the smartest, smoothest, most realistic noir today, usually from the perspective of the smelliest, low-downest, drunkest douche bags of the greater bay area. hell, in one book there's even a formula for why one should take as early an SS payout as possible. you can do
...more
Justin Howe
May 12, 2013 rated it really liked it
A small time crook collides with amoral dot-com venture capitalists in modern day San Francisco. What plot there is focuses largely on a top secret under development phone app, but the real entertainment is in Nisbet's prose and vivid depiction of San Francisco. An enjoyable book, both funny and sad in a "Those days are gone, but the people live on" kind of way. However I doubt most cops or crooks are as philosophical as those presented here.
Cheryl
Apr 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
An engaging, fast read. Fun for anyone who has lived in San Francisco and in the context of the tech world and the criminal underworld that you may/may not know exists. Engaging caper.
Pardner
Apr 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2019, e-book, deutsch
Auf deutsch gelesen, "Welt ohne Skrupel". Übersetzerpaar vergessen (stressig, das im E-Book nachzuschlagen). Pulp Master jedenfalls.
Schnell zu lesendes Kleinod, origineller Plot und hübsch erzählt. Teilweise sehr sperrig. Hab mich mehrfach gefragt, ob Mr. Nisbet auf schwer übersetzbare Sprach-Sperenzchen als unverkennbares Stilmittel setzt. Drüberlesen und gut! Unvergesslich hingegen die Begegnung des Protagonisten Klinger mit der (nach eigener Einschätzung) geldgeilen und im IT-Business erfolg
...more
Friscomama
Jul 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: neo-noir-books
I am delighted to discover Jim Nisbet's writing, a bit like narrative poetry. I'll be reading this again.
Your experience may vary. It's not for everyone.
Jason Maynard
Mar 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction
Good characters, decent action.
Dave
Jun 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
“Snitch World” is a great find. It is a kind of a Bukowski’s “Barfly” meets the tech world kind of story and is told in a somewhat slow pace that just reels the reader in bit by bit. It is a small story, not a grandiose world story, about a small-time guy in San Francisco’s North Beach, who stopped caring so long ago that he doesn’t even remember when. Klinger sometimes scrapes together enough dough to buy some drinks, often hot water with Jameson, but whatever he can afford from the well. It is ...more
The Cannibal
San Francisco… Rien que le nom de la ville éveille en moi des tas d'images et de sons.

Que ce soit la série avec Michael Douglas "Les rues de San Francisco" ou la chanson de Scott Mckenzie ♫ If you're going to San Francisco ♫ Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair ♪ ou Maxime le Forestier avec ♪ C'est une maison bleue, Adossée à la colline ♫…

Je ne pouvais qu'empocher ce petit roman dont l'histoire se passe dans cette ville et dont nous allons suivre les pérégrinations de Klinger, petit délinqu
...more
Tom Andes
Dec 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This was a pleasant surprise, a book I picked up at the PM Press table at the New Orleans Bookfair because I wanted to see what kind of noir they were doing that turned into one of the more enjoyable novels I've read lately. More than anything, it's a love song (or perhaps an elegy) for a disappearing San Francisco, the blue collar city that started vanishing in earnest around 1993 (though the novel is set in the mid-2000s) and has continued to cling to life through successive tech booms and mar ...more
A
Aug 19, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, mystery, e-book
E books from the library are a limited choice. It sometimes feels like these are more "vacation" and "best sellers" than the more obscure books which usually attract me. I was surprised to find this recent book by Jim Nisbet, someone I knew back in the 1970s, when he had written Death Puppet, which was not so great (in my humble opinion). This book shows how much Nisbet has changed as a writer, while he maintains his quirky edge.

The conversation at the end of the book was a diversion, and not s
...more
Laura Leonard
Sep 09, 2013 rated it did not like it
Shelves: gave-up-on
I didn't think about anything. 4.5 stars? If I can't get into a book within the first few chapters, I quit.

That being said, this book made 2 chapters. Then I returned it so that I could get my hold book. Fingers crossed it's better than this one.
Mike
Mar 09, 2016 rated it liked it
Takes about a hundred pages before it gets good. Typical Niisbet noir except with some white collar grifters this time around.
Dan Sharber
Jul 27, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction, own
this was a fun little book. very enjoyable!
Arasibo Campeche
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2020
Ferzana
rated it it was amazing
Aug 08, 2015
Shari
rated it really liked it
Oct 18, 2015
Cyber
rated it it was amazing
Sep 02, 2015
Scoutaccount
rated it liked it
Nov 19, 2013
Nathan
rated it really liked it
May 12, 2013
Mark
rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2017
Phil Judd
rated it liked it
May 10, 2014
Brett Newmyer
rated it liked it
Oct 17, 2017
Teeny Katt
rated it really liked it
Jun 16, 2014
John Cadigan
rated it really liked it
Nov 21, 2013
Johanna
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2015
Corrina
rated it liked it
Mar 30, 2014
Alex Norden
rated it liked it
Sep 26, 2016
Jes
rated it it was ok
Feb 08, 2017
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths (Fiona Griffiths, #3)
See similar books…
14 followers
San Francisco writer Jim Nisbet has published eleven novels, including the acclaimed Lethal Injection. He has also published five volumes of poetry. His novel, Dark Companion, was shorted-listed for the 2006 Hammett Prize. Various of his works have been translated into French, German, Japanese, Italian, Polish, Hungarian, Greek, Russian and Romanian.

Aside from reading and performing his own work
...more

Related Articles

Let's talk books, shall we? As you can imagine, Goodreads editors are voracious readers and there's nothing we like more than talking shop. Seriou...
26 likes · 12 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »