Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The End of Your Life Book Club” as Want to Read:
The End of Your Life Book Club
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The End of Your Life Book Club

by
3.81  ·  Rating details ·  41,023 Ratings  ·  6,814 Reviews
A lifelong love of books plays out as a son accompanies his extraordinary mother during her two-year treatment for cancer. A very special book club with just two members: a mother and a son.

The inspiring story of a son and his dying mother, who form a 'book club' that brings them together as her life comes to a close. For fans of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture.

M
...more
ARC, 330 pages
Published October 11th 2012 by Two Roads (first published 2012)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The End of Your Life Book Club, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Cathe This was a great book, I learned so much about people as well as good books. What an amazing woman.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Nancy Kennedy
Oct 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Will Schwalbe began accompanying his mother to chemo treatments for her pancreatic cancer at Sloan Kettering. To pass the time, Mr. Shwalbe asks his mother, "What are you reading?"

Fortunately, Mr. Schwalbe and his mother had always shared a love of reading and enjoyed spirited conversations about their favorite books. While the endless chemo treatments proceed, and his mother's disease progresses, the two make their way through books of all kinds, from the popular (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Ag
...more
Elyse
Oct 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Update: I read this book when it was first released. I paid full price - bought the hard copy and still own it and have referred to the glossary in the back of the book many times.

I have also - since reading this book bought AT LEAST a DOZEN copies ....or more ( Not at full price)... but in perfect condition to give to close friends...
heck -- I've sent the book to a few people on this site.
I LOVE this book - I adore Will ( the author) ...
And Ive known Will had been writing a new book about BO
...more
Claire
Jul 08, 2013 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2013
I truly wanted to enjoy this book. I read this book for a book club and at first I thought it was a good choice. It sounded like something I would really want to sink my teeth into, however, I just did not find it interesting. It is appalling that I was 90% of the way through and telling myself, don't worry, she must die soon and it will all be over (I feel like a terrible person). I appreciate that Will Schwalbe's mother appears to have been a woman who championed many valuable causes and did g ...more
Holly
Oct 04, 2012 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2012-reads
The book discussions were cursory, at best. I hadn't intended to find myself reading a memoir of a parent's pancreatic cancer; call me oversensitive (and a sucker), but books like this make me FURIOUS! The author seems like a nice man and all, but what exactly is the draw for readers? It's his personal memoir and story of his mother, and it's actually really, really boring. The book club-thing is a gimmick - Schwalbe works in publishing, after all (i.e., he had connections and help getting it pu ...more
Eric Kibler
Nov 25, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: booktopia-2013
A beautiful book about the connection through books a mother and son were able to make it the years leading up to her death from pancreatic cancer. I lost my mother to cancer six years ago, and I really envy how Will and his mother Mary Ann were able to find a common language to discuss the questions of life, death, and the possibility of the hereafter.

I wish my mother and I had had that common language. And I wish my stepfather, through his own bitterness and lashing out, hadn't poisoned my pro
...more
Diane
Sep 29, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Reading isn't the opposite of doing; it's the opposite of dying."

This is an amazing memoir. Mary Anne Schwalbe was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2007, and she and her son spend time sharing books and holding informal book club chats, partly because they were both avid readers and partly to take Mary Anne's mind off of her illness. So it's a book about books, but it's also about the lessons Will learned from his mom.

I would recommend this book to any book lovers, but also to those who are
...more
Saleh MoonWalker
Onvan : The End of Your Life Book Club - Nevisande : Will Schwalbe - ISBN : 307594033 - ISBN13 : 9780307594037 - Dar 336 Safhe - Saal e Chap : 2012
Nicole
Oct 24, 2012 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
There were so many problems with this book. First, the author so worshiped his mother that the reader never got to know the real her. She was on the board of numerous international organizations that help refugees, orphans, and women. She traveled extensively, often coming home quite ill. She seemed to take this as part of her working overseas and refused to take the full course of antibiotics. (The author reports this as if it is heroic rather than foolish.) She also supposedly talks to everyo ...more
Teresa Proença
Há dias, fui comprar uma coisa (que não devia) e deparei com uma pequena estante com vários livros em promoção (quase ao mesmo preço da coisa "feia"). Este chamou-me a atenção pelo título; comprei-o e comecei a lê-lo pensando tratar-se de um livro sobre livros, que me iria dar a conhecer mais umas quantas maravilhas. Não é um livro sobre livros, apesar de nele haver referências a dezenas de obras literárias. É a história da mãe de Will Schawlbe, desde que lhe é diagnosticado cancro no pâncreas a ...more
Emma
3.5 stars

A hard one to review as my beloved nanny died of pancreatic cancer last year. I didn't realise this before agreeing to review the book and the parallel experiences made it a challenging read. Especially as her birthday has just gone and there are only three months till the anniversary of her death. She was on my mind even before reading this. Nanny and I never had a book club as such, but we both read a lot and often shared/talked about books. She is intertwined so much with my idea of
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • My Reading Life
  • My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop
  • Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading
  • The Reading Promise: My Father and the Books We Shared
  • Reading My Father
  • Howards End Is on the Landing: A Year of Reading from Home
  • One for the Books
  • Survival Lessons
  • After Visiting Friends: A Son's Story
  • How Reading Changed My Life
  • The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: A Memoir of Friendship, Community, and the Uncommon Pleasure of a Good Book
  • The Long Goodbye
  • Hands of My Father: A Hearing Boy, His Deaf Parents, and the Language of Love
  • Elsewhere
  • Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child
  • Sixpence House: Lost in a Town of Books
  • The Etiquette of Illness: What to Say When You Can't Find the Words
  • The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop: A Memoir, a History
274511
Greetings! Since we are both here, I’m guessing you are probably a fellow book-lover. Always great to meet other members of the tribe!

I’ve put a lot about myself in my books, but here are some of the basics. I was born in New York in 1962; grew up in Cambridge, Massachusetts; went to boarding school in New Hampshire, and to college in New Haven, Connecticut. So I consider myself a New Englander, e
...more
More about Will Schwalbe...
“One of the many things I love about bound books is their sheer physicality. Electronic books live out of sight and out of mind. But printed books have body, presence. ... I often seek electronic books, but they never come after me. They may make me feel, but I can't feel them. They are all soul with no flesh, no texture, and no weight.” 141 likes
“We're all in the end-of-your-life book-club, whether we acknowledge it or not; each book we read may well be the last, each conversation the final one.” 133 likes
More quotes…