Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Death Displaced (Lansin Island, #1)” as Want to Read:
A Death Displaced (Lansin Island, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Death Displaced

(Lansin Island #1)

by
3.44  ·  Rating details ·  853 ratings  ·  109 reviews
A character-driven story with elements of fantasy and the paranormal. Read about visions, witches, ghosts & murder, as a larger mythology is steadily unravelled.

Nicolas Crystan lives a stunted life; the past hangs over him, and his relationships have broken down. He yearns for something more. But when a disturbing daydream of a woman falling to her death turns out to b
...more
Paperback, 246 pages
Published June 21st 2012 by Createspace
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Death Displaced, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Death Displaced

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Karen
This book sounded interesting with all the history surrounding witches. I liked the mystery of the mansion and it felt like a pretty good paranormal story. But what put me off were the main characters. Julie and Nick have off putting qualities. Julie is the spoiled, selfish, rich kid who thinks she is better than anyone, while justifying that everything she has in life has been earned. Hard to believe that when her parents gave her, her business, house, and money. She also tries to make herself ...more
Lisa
Jul 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this book. It had just the right amount of mystery and suspense to keep me hooked, and keep me guessing. The story is told from different Povs but it flows seamlessly, always giving just enough information to keep me engaged

I felt empathy toward the characters especially Juliet, a strong business minded woman who as always seen everything as black and white until her beliefs are shattered when she sees things that cant possibly be real and she comes to realise that there is more
...more
Susan
Nov 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Have you ever picked up a book wanting to read a few pages before you started your day just to find that the day is now night and you finished the book? Be warned, "A Death Displaced: Lansin Island Series" by Andrew Butcher is one of those stories. Not only was the plot interesting, the mysteries crying out to be solved, the mystical and magical waiting to be discovered and the 'dark past' history behind it wanting attention. The author's ability to take you places and make you a part of the sur ...more
Natalie
Oct 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a treat!

While I'm not at all into ghosts and spooks - this book hooked my attention so well that I read this book in nearly one sitting (had to take breaks for house, kids, hubby :)
The characters are believable - the world building is awesome. I could see the fantastical setting for the "portal" as vividly as I can see my own room.

While paranormal experiences were spooky (well written!) - the characters that experienced them behaved like I would, or possibly you.

And the freakiest thing
...more
Mitchell
Oct 19, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I can easily see” A Death Displaced” as a TV series. Can't wait for the next book. The characters have lots of depth and the story has well written mystery and suspense!

When I first started reading this I had no idea what to expect. But before I knew it, a couple hours passed and I was reading well into the night.

The story kept moving suspense that kept me turning the “virtual” pages in my kindle.

Great book and can’t wait for the next one.

Highly recommended!
Gemma
Aug 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great book. I just wanted to read more, more, more! Bring on the next in the series.
I loved the characters especially Nicolas who seemed like the nicest guy ever, looking out for other people, and the thoughts he has are funny. I felt sorry for Juliet too and hope that some good things come her way in the next book!
L.michael
this isn't my usual type of book but it turned out to be pretty good. it's a great page-turner and it had a cool final chapter. it was dark and disturbing which i wasn't expecting. i hope the next in the series comes out soon!!!! i can't wait to find out more. recommend it to anyone.
TONIA DELLINGER
Sep 20, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Nicholas Crystan (Nick) is just a regular guy doing his day to day routine. Nick has some growing up issues that he is dealing with using the aid of a therapist. One day he has a premonition, while daydreaming at work, about a woman falling to her death in front of his place of employment. It is very real to him and he cant stop thinking about it. Soon after the premonition he starts seeing the dream coming true. He realizes this is” the moment” and he rushes to save the woman from dying. Juliet ...more
Hayley
Aug 14, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own-e-book
I really loved this novel!! An excellent paranormal-suspense novel, with a healthy dollop of mystery and dab of romance, this book delivers. The story is narrated by the two main characters Nick and Juliet, who are both discovering their medium/psychic abilities. There are quite a few layers within the book - examining depression, death, loss and revenge. I can’t wait until the next novel is released.
Joel Adams
Oct 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I'm a big fan of paranormal fiction and this book was right up my alley! The writing is excellent and very believable as well. You'll definitely find yourself invested in the characters and unable to put the book down as you turn page after page to see what happens next! Can't wait for the next one!
Ted Guglielmo
Sep 01, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
a fun read with an ending that was completely unexpected. i enjoyed every minute. the characters are built beautifully throughout and then the ending is sprung upon you. very well done
Susan Webb
Aug 01, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Interesting. This is one of those books that leave you with a lot of questions and hopes that future books will expand upon things and give the reader the back stories needed to fully understand what is going on. But a good read, nonetheless.
R. Scott VanKirk
A Death Displaced
Andrew Butcher

Overall ** Plot ** Interactions **1/2 Characters *** World **** Originality **** Grammar *** Style ****

Nick Crystan is a man without much of a purpose in life. He spends his time trying to find enlightenment in various ways and ekes by with part time work in a new-age shop on Lansin Island. “A Death Displaced” begins with Nick having a startling and realistic vision of a woman falling to her death. A few days later when Nick recognizes the early parts of his visio
...more
Charlene
Jul 04, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebook, review-request
This novel had an unexpected depth with the narrative especially in Nicolas as the perfect example of the every-man, with insecurities and family issues that ground him in reality even as he realizes the extent of his newfound abilities. Workaholic Juliet Maystone equally is sensible and grounded as she deals with her own family issues and a near-death experience. I felt like the beginning chapters sets up the intriguing premise well, and from the plot summary I was expecting a sort of straight- ...more
Simon Okill
A Death Displaced (Lansin Island #1) by Andrew Butcher is a tremendous paranormal thriller full of mystery, witches and the supernatural. The author uses well-written narrative to force shivers down this reader's spine, believable dialogue that rang so true for the mid twenty set and described a setting so creepy and ghostly. Shudders!
20 something Nick works in a crystal shop, meanders through life in a dull manner until he foresees a terrible accident. Then his life is turned into one of comple
...more
Joy Marino
Nov 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great story with vivid imagery and a way of teasing all 5 senses. First book in what will surely be an amazing series.

With just the right balance, we go back and forth between more than one person's life. We see them intertwine and with the perfect amount of revelation, one sits on the edge of what is to happen next. I truly want to see Nick (Nicholas) and Juliet come together, as I am a romantic at heart, but with all that has happened, who is to say that will come about? Mr. Butch obviously ha
...more
Laura
Feb 11, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The plot and characters were very well-thought-out, with plenty of "side stories" for added entertainment. I loved the multiple facets of each characters lives that play out in the book. The two main characters with their family, work, and relationship issues in addition to the main story line playing out really give you the "full" picture and help to immerse you into the world, times, and lives of these characters as you read.

The only reason I couldn't give this book a perfect rating was the im
...more
Jennifer
In this book, we've got Nicholas Crystan, who can see into the future. He has two brothers who are twins named Tom and Tommy. His dad is James and he has seemed down and troubled since Samantha, his wife, disappeared several years ago. Nicholas works at Creaky Crystals, which is owned by Mora, a kind hearted wicen.

Juliette Maystone is a wealthy young woman who sees ghosts. She owns a cafe called Chanton Hillview. Her parents won the lottery when she was eight and when she finished school they mo
...more
Karen Bonilla
I didn't care for this book at all. The story started out great, the premise is very good and a change for the usual died a d brought back to life and now I see ghosts stories. At the beginning, Nick was super annoying. He seemed wimpy, washed out and lazy. Just as he started to improve, we got to know Juliet better. I found her character to be smug, selfish and spoiled. She worries over things like shopping online, wether or not Nick has his own place and her best friends boyfriends career choi ...more
Dena Scroggins
Nov 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I had the pleasure of reading A Death Displaced by Andrew Butcher. This book is the first book in a new series called the Lansin Island Series. The story starts out telling the readers about the life of Nick Cyrtan, a 24 year old who is living a fairly boring life that is dealing with bouts of depression and anger and then goes on to tell how he saves the life a beautiful girl named Juliet. The story switches back and forth from Nick to Juliet for a couple of chapters and then finally they meet ...more
Georgeanna
Oct 13, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
There were several different things going on in this story. It was easy to follow and hard to put down. Nick is a lonely guy working a part time job and Juliet is a lonely woman with wealthy, but absent (emotionally and physically) parents. Chance brings them together when Nick saves her life by heeding a vision he's just had. And things get wonky from there. Spirits, missing people, and thieving co-workers are just a few. All of the characters were well done, and I'd like to read more about Lan ...more
Jackie
Aug 20, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book is so much more than a paranormal suspense. It touches on depression, abandonment, relationships, life choices and more. Scenes are described vividly and the words flow easily. Being the first book in a series, there is some resolution but keep in mind there are books to follow. Would I recommend? Yes....if you like a series.
Mrs Susan J Bociek
A promising start

The book opened with an introduction to the main character and I do like to have a bit of supernatural suspense every now and then so I was quite looking forward to it. But after about one third of the way through, the writing became a bit random and almost as though the author had forgotten the original plot and was desperately trying to inject some new direction. It didn't really work, I completed the book but at the end I was just glad it was over.
pam laporte
Mar 06, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Very different...

Nick had a nightmare a woman was going to die...he saved her and there starts a bunch of mysterious things. Juliet begins to see spirits and the spirit of nicks mom asks her to find him and give him a message. Then the two of them plod along to find answers. I don't want to give away the story but it is strange, paranormal and even though there are gross parts, interesting.
Rita
Aug 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A Great Thriller!

I really enjoyed this book. I was amazed at where the author took me. I will definitely be reading more from this author. There were so many twists and surprises in this story and it left me with so many more questions of what would be coming next. This book will not disappoint!
Linda A. Blanchette
San interesting start to a promising series.

I found the characters interesting especially in how they deal with their new-found "gifts". This is the first in a continuing saga and should be read as such. The story does not wrap up all the lose ends by design, but leaves the reader wanting to know what happens next.
sharon murray
An interesting but also frustrating book

I'm not sure how I feel about this story. I needed to keep reading. I was drawn into a very twisted world that only got darker. But the main characters were not all that likeable or particularly intriguing. But I still needed to find out what happens so give it a try.
Liz Wood
Jul 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed this tale

What an interesting mixture of today and possibilities! I became fascinated with the characters themselves, not how well they were developed nor how real the conversation seemed.
Doreen
Jul 13, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I won’t read any more in the series. The book was not compelling enough for me to invest more time into the series. I was hoping for a good stand alone story that would be interesting enough to make me want to read more, this one book was enough for me.
Vic Forsman
Jul 30, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Interesting tale of awakening powers

It was an interesting story with a good pace. I enjoyed finding out where the characters new powers took them. It was a little predictable in places and most of the ending was anticlimactic. Overall I still enjoyed the book.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Nook books: January 5, 2018 1 2 Jan 05, 2018 05:51PM  
Creative Reviews: A Death Displaced (Lansin Island Series #1) - Andrew Butcher 1 11 Aug 30, 2012 04:33PM  
  • Goddess of the Moon (Diana Racine #2)
  • Haunting Refrain
  • Darker Things (The Lockman Chronicles, #1)
  • Bewitching You (Bewitching Women, #1)
  • The Shadow Box
  • The Sword of Sighs (The Age of the Flame, #1)
  • A Soul to Steal (The Sanheim Chronicles, #1)
  • Keep Me Ghosted (Sophie Rhodes Ghostly Romance #1)
  • The Grave Artist
  • Witch Flame (Keepers of the Stones, #0.5)
  • A Black Deeper Than Death
  • Dragon Badge
  • Blood Alley (The Highwayman #1)
  • Dead to the Max (Max Starr, #1)
  • Mason's Daughter
  • The Touch
  • A Gift of Ghosts (Tassamara #1)
  • Preta's Realm: The Haunting (The Hidden Evil Trilogy, #1)
116 followers
Andrew Butcher wrote and released his first novel, "A Death Displaced", at the age of twenty-one. Since then, he has written more books in the same series and has branched out into writing nonfiction and teaching creative writing online.

He has over 2,500 students from over 100 countries enrolled in his highly rated course "Write a Novel Outline from Scratch", and his books have often hit the #1 sp
...more

Other books in the series

Lansin Island (3 books)
  • A Body Displaced (Lansin Island, #2)
  • A Spirit Displaced (Lansin Island, #3)
“When you were pulled out the way of the car, you were physically saved, but you spiritually died. You are displaced, Juliet. Your soul is in the Otherworld but your body is here.” 2 likes
“into his path, causing him to sidestep. He apologised for the near collision. As he carried on his way, the girl scurried off to her mother setting up a stall for” 0 likes
More quotes…