Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books” as Want to Read:
The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books

by
4.57  ·  Rating details ·  14 ratings  ·  11 reviews
Have you ever published a book, and then had no idea how to promote it online? Most self-published authors only sold 200 copies of their books in 2011. Are you one of them?

If you're still struggling with promoting your book online and making an impact on your bottom line, you owe it to yourself, your friends and your family to find a better solution now. After all, how lon
...more
Kindle Edition, 1st edition, 89 pages
Published May 23rd 2012 by Aleweb Social Marketing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-19
4.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  14 ratings  ·  11 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Taylor
Sep 10, 2012 rated it it was amazing
“…a lot of new titles just aren’t gaining the traction that they could, and this is a direct result of the fact that many of the things traditionally handled by the publisher are now being left for the author to do themselves, and they haven’t a clue where to begin.”

Sound familiar?

The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books provides practical, up-to-date advice on the various ways to promote your book. Tara walks you through a menu of promotional methods from which to choose, from the traditional v
...more
Tanja Russita
Feb 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received a free copy for an honest review.
There are many books that are similar to this, I think this one is fourth of fith I read on the subject.
But still I found many useful tips and I have a feeling that the author is the walking library of links. She seems she really knows her stuff.
I'd advise you to read this book - you are provided with free downloadable freebies inside, too (though I couldn't use them immediately because I have no internet connection on my Kindle, but I will try - if th
...more
Pat Stanford
Aug 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Good One for Your Toolbox

Wish I'd met Tara before my book launched, but the info here is good for those of us catching up to ourselves as well.

A lot of the information is for e-book format and is pretty basic otherwise, but serves as a reminder checklist of things you should pay attention to regardless of your format.

There are lots of links to click on articles to give you more in depth info, but one of the ones I wanted to read "So now you've won a book award - now what?" didn't work. Rats! I j
...more
Caleb Kimball
Feb 13, 2015 rated it really liked it
I got The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books yesterday, and I finished it last night! Yes, even though I am a rather quick reader, it is not that often that I gorge down non-fiction books this fast. Tara Alemany writes in a way that makes it almost impossible to put down, and this book is not even fiction! This books goes through the launch of your book, from advertising, to building a website and blogging, to getting (legit) reviews, to affiliates, podcasts, webinars, and teleseminars, to diff ...more
Tara Alemany
Jun 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Many authors I know struggle with what the next steps are after they’ve finished all the writing work. They search the internet and book stores for “how to” guides to get them started with marketing and promotion, but many of the ones that are available either are incomplete or lack the level of detail required to do it yourself.

Until now, that is… Like any entrepreneur, I listen to my clients and look for those common issues they encounter; the questions I answer on a regular basis. The need I
...more
Howard Tuckey
Jun 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This is the book I wish I'd read before I put my own stuff out there!

I tend to be a bit too much "laid back," and I thought all I had to do was write a good book and put it out on Kindle, and then sit back and rake in the royalties. Boy was I wrong! In The Plan That Launched a Thousand Books, Tara Alemany emphasizes the things I should have been involved in all along, even before I uploaded my books, in order to ensure sales.

Tara has done all the hard work in searching out what works, and put it
...more
Christine J Randall
Mar 08, 2015 rated it really liked it
I received this revised edition from Story Cartel in exchange for a review. Since I've almost finished my first novel, this title caught my attention. I have already spent time researching marketing on the Internet so some suggestions were familiar, but others were new to me. It seems much more doable having a plan. I will be going through this publication again and again, following the many links provided. It is very convenient to have all this information in the one book, lots of food for thou ...more
P.
Mar 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: anyone trying to publish a book but also anyone interested in promoting their work.
Absolutely essential because you won't think of all this yourself!

All I can say is Wow. There is SO much incredibly good and useful information, as well as a wonderful, overall, guiding theme that authors can follow. Tara has taken a huge, unwieldy, overwhelming subject and has presented both a cogent and cohesive series of action steps - outlining them in a sequence that makes sense. The book gives both an overview to what an author might be trying to accomplish as well as the details to make t
...more
Patrick
Mar 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing
If you are interested in self-publishing an eBook like I am, this book will be immensely helpful. While many eBook books tell you how to make a book, this one goes another step and helps you MARKET your book! What good is your book if it doesn't get in front of your intended audience? The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books includes many great techniques and marketing strategies to get your book noticed in many different venues. It's an easy read, too. I read it in an evening. This is a book you ...more
Barbara
Feb 09, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This was a marketing book that I didn’t want to put down—and I’ve been in the industry for 30 years! It offers a fresh approach to marketing your book online or with traditional methods. And the resources! She lists other authors and websites where you get additional information or obtain a service. Written in an easy to understand way, she guides authors through various methods of marketing that work. I highly recommend this book for authors—and any business owner who wants to gain valuable inf ...more
Please Pass the Books
I received a free copy for an honest review, which I feel this is.

The book needs to be revamped and updated. There are several references to websites where "at the time of publication in October 2012" that, even then, are outdated--and the author does state that to be the case. I understand the website links are given more as examples of what an indie author should be searching for, but if a book is being resubmitted for newer reviews then it certainly should have content that is up to date as w
...more
Barbara
rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2015
Gary McGugan
rated it really liked it
Oct 23, 2016
Virginia Martin
rated it it was amazing
Sep 13, 2018
Joe Sewell
marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2015
John
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Sonia Goforth
marked it as to-read
Apr 27, 2017
Jay
is currently reading it
May 15, 2018
Rekha E. Nuovo
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2017
8 followers

Tara R. Alemany is a multi-award winning author, speaker, book marketing consultant and publisher.

She speaks frequently on book marketing and publishing topics, and works with authors and speakers regularly to get found online, on stage and on-the-shelf using the services of her two CT-based businesses.

Emerald Lake Books’ publishing services are especially effective for consultants, coaches and ex

...more