Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Masters Of The Pit Or Barbarians Of Mars (Michael Kane, Vol. 3)” as Want to Read:
Masters Of The Pit Or Barbarians Of Mars (Michael Kane, Vol. 3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Masters Of The Pit Or Barbarians Of Mars

(The Michael Kane Trilogy #3)

by
3.51  ·  Rating details ·  274 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
Michael Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns in the form of Michael Kane, a brilliant Earthman stranded on the treacherous deserts of Ancient Mars! In this sweeping, epic sword-and-planet adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kane and his blue giant companion Hool Haji must travel to the far reaches of the Red Planet to halt the hideous Green Death, an unstopp ...more
Paperback, UW1450, 158 pages
Published March 1979 by DAW Books (first published 1965)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Masters Of The Pit Or Barbarians Of Mars, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Masters Of The Pit Or Barbarians Of Mars

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Michael Adams
Jun 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
This was in a way the weakest and strongest of the three books in this trilogy about old Mars, odd as that may sound. By the midway point I almost wanted to give the book up, it had gotten impossibly convoluted; side-adventure within side-adventure. Plus some somewhat absurd-looking (described?) creatures became a prominent part of the story for a few chapters. I persevered, though, and actually found the ending a bit touching, and a nice, meaningful way to end the final story in the series. So, ...more
John
May 25, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the third and final adventure of the legendary Michael Kane (not to be confused with British actor Michael Caine, whose voice people love imitating on late night talk shows). If you've read the previous two novels in the trilogy, you know exactly what to expect. The first half of the book made me think that Moorcock was improving at this type of storytelling, but it turns out he was just saving the really dumb stuff for later.
This series never stops feeling like a rip off of Edgar Rice B
...more
João Batista
Feb 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kane and Hool Haji on a journey back to the Yaksha vaults... but before they stop at a city of the dead-faced Eleven; and encounter Bagarad fighters or looters, having to journey by ship with them. Stranded on the western continent, they all find the Masters of the Crystal Pit (the Jihadoos) as well as dog- and cat-folk. kane's original mission is not the same and it changes every time he finds stranger events. More creatures of Vashu are presented to us, this time sea monsters. Finally, Kane an ...more
Jayaprakash Satyamurthy
Edgar Rice Burroughs-style Martian adventure, originally written as a potboiler to help keep New Worlds magazine afloat. While taking part in and helping create the New Wave, Moorcock wrote these Martian novels under a pseudonym, but there are trademark elements. He refers to several of his New Wave peers via the names of various islands - Ssidla, Drallab, Nosirrah and even Kcocroom together with descriptions that convey his own impressions of these writers' worth and character, if you know who ...more
Bethnoir
Apr 14, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I didn't really get on with the style of this book, it was like a child's story, "this happened and then this happened and then we went there" with the occasional "I felt happy" thrown in. I have read quite a lot of later Moorcock and never encountered this problem before, I wonder if it was deliberate or just because it was written so early in his career?

The best I can say it that it shows a vivid imagination and the main character was quite likeable.
Travis
Nov 21, 2010 rated it liked it
Moorcock channels his inner ERB for this fun, pulpy story of an earth man on Mars, fighting awful monsters, angry native warriors, meeting his one true love and just being all around noble and manly.

M.E. Syler
Jan 30, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: sf
A fun book to read. Published in 1965 it takes one back to the early SF serials. Moorcock tells a complete story in 158 pages. That brevity without sacrificing content is a lost art on today's works of SF/Fantasy.
AndrewP
Mar 16, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
Book 3 of the martian trilogy
Frank
Feb 10, 2016 rated it liked it
This was a rip roaring Swashbuckler!
Charles
Jul 18, 2008 rated it it was ok
Shelves: fantasy
3rd in the Michael Kane series of John Carter pastiches from Moorcock. Written when he was a teenager, I believe. Or quite young. Not great stories but entertaining.
Shannon Appelcline
May 25, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: science-fiction
Another book that's at best OK. A lot more random than the others in its picaresque journeyings, but at the end it offers some interesting philosophy.
Matthew
Mar 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
Last one and it was good too. A bit of philosophizing at the end but not as overpowering as with Moorcock's other stuff.
Greg Lindsay
Though I really don't care for the writing style, the story its self is pretty entertaining. Its a quick read too.
Leo
rated it liked it
Aug 13, 2018
Marc
rated it it was ok
Sep 02, 2008
Ken Rander
rated it liked it
Jul 07, 2013
Barry Burn
rated it really liked it
Nov 18, 2017
Jerry Hyson
rated it really liked it
Jun 09, 2009
Amram E.
rated it really liked it
Jul 31, 2015
Bob Cline
rated it really liked it
Jul 23, 2018
Carlos Maduro
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2017
Mubbles
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2017
Bill Reynolds
rated it liked it
Dec 18, 2015
Kevin
rated it liked it
Jan 02, 2016
Ron
rated it it was amazing
Jul 13, 2013
John Glover
rated it really liked it
Jul 15, 2018
Dennis Liggio
rated it liked it
Aug 12, 2016
Jason
rated it liked it
Apr 23, 2008
Adam
rated it did not like it
May 27, 2016
Rob
rated it really liked it
Mar 18, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Almuric
  • Jandar Of Callisto
  • Lord Tedric (Lord Tedric #1)
  • The Legion of Space
  • Beyond the Farthest Star
  • Elric: Stormbringer
  • Those Who Watch
  • Michael Moorcock's Elric of Melnibone
  • The Possessors
  • The Day the Martians Came
  • The Universe Maker
  • Quest of the Three Worlds
  • Kalin (Dumarest of Terra #4)
  • The Changing Land
  • Conan the Defiant
  • War Games
  • Kedrigern in Wanderland (Kedrigern, #3)
  • Back to the Future, Part 3
2,035 followers
Michael John Moorcock is an English writer primarily of science fiction and fantasy who has also published a number of literary novels.
Moorcock has mentioned The Gods of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs, The Apple Cart by George Bernard Shaw and The Constable of St. Nicholas by Edward Lester Arnold as the first three books which captured his imagination. He became editor of Tarzan Adventures in 1956,
...more

Other books in the series

The Michael Kane Trilogy (3 books)
  • The City of the Beast or Warriors of Mars (Michael Kane 1)
  • Lord Of The Spiders Or Blades Of Mars (Michael Kane, Vol. 2)

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Fortune's Rising (Outer Bounds #1)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)
    $3.49 $0.99
  • End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days, #3)
    $3.49 $0.99
  • The Beginning of the End (Apocalypse Z, #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Going Wild (Going Wild #1)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Renegade: The Lost Books, Book 3
    $6.99 $1.99
  • The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Making History
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Godsgrave (The Nevernight Chronicle, #2)
    $10.99 $2.99
  • Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark, #1)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Lost Books: Includes four complete novels�Chosen, Infidel, Renegade, and Chaos
    $12.99 $3.99
  • Enchantress (Evermen Saga, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Let the Right One In: A Novel
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Come Out Tonight
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • First Drop of Crimson (Night Huntress World, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Fawkes
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Magic #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Hidden Relic (Evermen Saga, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Soul of the Fire (Sword of Truth #5)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Witch's Vacuum Cleaner and Other Stories
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Last Namsara (Iskari #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Followed by Frost
    $4.49 $1.99
  • The Rift Uprising (The Rift Uprising Trilogy #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl From Everywhere, #1)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Temple of the Winds (Sword of Truth Book 4)
    $9.99 $2.49
  • The Witch's Daughter (The Witch's Daughter, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Winter King: A Novel of Arthur (Warlord Chronicles)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Journey to the Center of the Earth
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Riot (Peter Grant, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Venom in the Veins (Elemental Assassin, #17)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The City of Brass (The Daevabad Trilogy, #1)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • I, Robot
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth, #1)
    $8.99 $2.49
  • Running with the Demon (Word & Void #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Infomocracy (The Centenal Cycle, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Atopia Chronicles (Atopia, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Stone of Tears (Sword of Truth Book 2)
    $9.99 $2.49
  • The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred, the Vampire Accountant
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Broken Pride (Bravelands, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Quicksilver (The Baroque Cycle, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2)
    $4.99 $1.49
  • The Book of the Unnamed Midwife (The Road to Nowhere, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Witch's Reign (Desert Cursed, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Into the Fire  (The Thin Veil #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Malice (The Faithful and the Fallen, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Sudden Appearance of Hope
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Path of the Storm (Evermen Saga, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Six Scary Stories
    $4.99 $1.49
  • Rite of Passage
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Flowertown
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Jilo (Witching Savannah #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Line (Witching Savannah, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Master Magician (The Paper Magician, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Compound (The Compound, #1)
    $7.09 $2.99
  • The Void (Witching Savannah, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99