Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Healing Our World: In an Age of Aggression” as Want to Read:
Healing Our World: In an Age of Aggression
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Healing Our World: In an Age of Aggression

by
4.25  ·  Rating details ·  104 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Through its win-win approach, Healing Our World illustrates how the rules of social interaction which we learned as children hold the secret to universal harmony and abundance.
Hardcover, 435 pages
Published January 1st 2003 by Sunstar Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Healing Our World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Healing Our World

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  104 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Patrick Peterson
22 April 2019 - Having met and gotten to know Mary Ruwart in the 1980s, I was fortunate to read this book in manuscript shortly before it was first published in 1992. I have referred back to the published version many times since, since it is a very good book on many issues. The author is highly knowledgeable about libertarian theory and the issues she deals with in the book.

I especially liked the section on government regulations and the FDA in particular. The author has intimate knowledge of
...more
Paula
May 06, 2010 rated it it was amazing
This is probably on of the most important books I have ever read. I recommend it to anyone who cares about issues such as education, poverty, the environment, terrorism, or crime prevention.
I find many of my more liberal minded friends very frustrating at times because I don't think they are wrong; I think they well-intentioned but horribly misguided because they lack an ideological compass. This book is that compass. It does an amazing job of demonstrating that libertarians/anarchist want the
...more
Gerald Thomson
Feb 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This is one of those books that will change your entire outlook on how the world works. Ruwart provides the most clearly written explanation of how markets work that I have yet to read. She uses real life examples to back up her points and shows how far most governments have gotten from allowing market forces to make decisions that best benefit those affected by the results. Ruwart makes the concepts very easy to understand by using what she calls the Good Neighbor Policy. Her other concepts flo ...more
Craig
Mar 08, 2009 rated it really liked it
Feel-good intro book for Libertarian philosophy and activism. A bit too feel-good because the writers are also Aquarians, but it is easy to read unlike a lot of political literature, and it gives very down-to-Earth examples from everyday life.
Furb
Dec 10, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Everone
This book is a tremendous achievement. It shows how we hurt ourselves when we aggress against our neighbors, either directly, or through the use of the guns of government. As I have already read half of the second edition, I would probably never have read this third edition if it wasn't selected by The Freedom Book Club.

Dr. Ruwart shows us the four layers of aggression that make up the "pyramid of power", exposing how life COULD be without aggression. She shows us, clearly and logically, how, w
...more
Eric
An alternate, though probably less marketable, title for this book could have been, "At Gunpoint, If Necessary." These four words are appropriately laced throughout the book to remind readers that at the end of the day, every law and act of government is ultimately backed up by the threat of violence. This is an important point that so many books on political philosophy dance around but fail to articular in such clear understandable manner. The consequences of so much government are fatal physic ...more
Travis
Apr 21, 2014 rated it really liked it
ruwart's important discussion about social justice and nonviolence is a book that I sincerely hope makes its way to the nightstand of everyone who cares about peace, love, people and the environment. I would like to credit this book as part of my recovery process from the deep despair onset by years of immersion in grit, hooplah, and causes. In an empathetic, sensitive way, Mary discusses consequences of the initiation of force on endangered species, the land and the sea, our bodies and modern h ...more
Terry
Jul 16, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: philosophy
It changed my mind about the responsibilities of government, and for that reason I like this book. It forwards many ideas of the Libertarian platform. Basically this is that government should practice nonaggression. No taxes, no licensing laws, no minimum wage laws, no centralization, no regulated gvmt. monopolies, and more. Some ideas bothered me: environment and gun control. Other ideas fascinated me: work prisons offering restitution instead of punishment. Other ideas reinforced my views: pri ...more
Brett Clarke
Dec 31, 2011 rated it it was ok
Where this book succeeds in comprehension it fails in depth. This is obviously a book for the layman on any given issue. The chapter on the drug war is a very good one, and it's a great missionary tool for aspiring libertarian activists, but this will never replace academic literature and textbooks on any given topic. I loved reading it and it's style, but should not be considered authoritative.
Jon
Aug 19, 2010 rated it it was amazing
The second great commandment taken to its logical conclusion at the societal level, proving that love truly is practical and ideal.

"We need not choose between the ideal and the practical because they are simply two sides of the same coin."
Anna Kohl
Nov 06, 2008 marked it as to-read
Recc by Matt Reddy
Karen W
rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2014
Susan
rated it really liked it
Feb 11, 2015
Thequill
rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2014
Dan
rated it it was amazing
Sep 15, 2016
Kevin
rated it it was amazing
Apr 09, 2009
Eric
rated it really liked it
Sep 23, 2010
John DeGratto
rated it it was amazing
Oct 16, 2014
Matthew Kaboomis Loomis
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2017
Harry
rated it liked it
Dec 05, 2011
Michael McClure
rated it liked it
Mar 17, 2018
Richard Zierer
rated it really liked it
Sep 17, 2016
Denis Goddard
rated it really liked it
Aug 25, 2012
Steveligibility Stfia
rated it did not like it
Aug 17, 2016
lyle
rated it liked it
Nov 21, 2012
Joseph
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2011
EmilyMacNintch
rated it it was amazing
Mar 22, 2015
Jessica
rated it it was amazing
Apr 25, 2013
Ellen
rated it it was ok
Aug 11, 2012
Travis Usinger
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
“Indeed, taxation and other forms of aggression-through-government are so taken for granted in our culture that one of our most popular sayings is that "nothing is certain except death and taxes." Yet slavery was once as universal. Taxation is thought to be indispensable to civilization today, just as slavery once was. Advocates of taxation claim that since most people pay assigned taxes before the guns show up, they have implicitly agreed to it as the price of living in "society." Most slaves obeyed their master before he got out the whip, yet we would hardly argue that this constituted agreement to their servitude. Today, we have an enlightened perspective on slavery, just as one day we will have an enlightened perspective on taxes and other forms of aggression we now think of as "the only way.” 3 likes
“Wealth is created when we use existing resources in new ways. Since such creativity is virtually limitless, wealth is too.” 3 likes
More quotes…