Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Invisible” as Want to Read:
Invisible
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Invisible

by
4.34  ·  Rating details ·  665 ratings  ·  130 reviews
Ellyn DeMoss -- chef, café owner, and lover of butter -- is hiding behind her extra weight. But what is she hiding? While Ellyn sees the good in others, she has only condemnation for herself. So when a handsome widower claims hes attracted to Ellyn, shes certain theres something wrong with him. Sabina Jackson -- tall, slender, and exotic -- left her husband, young adult ...more
Paperback, 352 pages
Published April 1st 2013 by B Books (first published March 31st 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Invisible, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Invisible

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.34  · 
Rating details
 ·  665 ratings  ·  130 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Invisible
Anne Campbell
Apr 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I seldom give a solid five thumbs up for anything. Usually, the very best is 4.5 thumbs. This book by Ginny Yttrup, though--maybe it should be five wows plus. This is one of those books that will be a forever classic, one you'll remember all your lives.

If you have (or have a loved one who has) ever suffered from being overweight, anorexia, or depression caused by deaths, you will be amazed at the insights into these life-stealing diseases. I don't know how one person can express the inner
...more
Amanda
May 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The title may be Invisible, but I'd call it unforgettable -- a beautifully crafted story of four people dealing with heartbreaking problems and learning to put aside the shackles of shame.
Kriste
Jul 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Deeply impactful book from a variety of compelling sides! Highly recommend!
Laura A. Grace
Mar 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing
"Invisible" is one of the best books I have ever read! It is so powerful that I know Ginny's words will stick with me a very long time because God is writing through her!

This novel is for every woman out there who in some way or another has struggled with their self-image! I'm sure that many of us have viewed our imagine in some negative way that doesn't reflect God's view of us. Some of the characters struggle with this idea, but Ginny drives home the point so passionately that we are all made
...more
Catherine Leggitt
Jun 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Imago Dei --image of God. For those of us who see God's beauty and majesty in all creation except for our own bodies, this book is a startling revelation and provides a great number of new ideas to chew on. As one who has struggled my whole adult life with food issues, I came to a startling realization that my extra pounds provide insulation from exposure to others. I become invisible and thereby I am relieved of responsibility to be sexual, or gregarious. I can hide. My fat makes me disappear. ...more
Lynnda Ell
Apr 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Much of womens fiction takes the readers out of the ordinary and sends us into a world of fantasy. Most romantic fiction builds on this foundation, both Christian and non-Christian. Invisible, while fiction, is not fantasy. It focuses on the reality of the human experience.

The story revolves around three women and the chapters rotate between three points of view. Ellyn protects herself from the inner voice of her alter ego. Sabina runs from failed expectations. Twila balances on the edge. Her
...more
Tracey Bateman
Oct 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing
My first read by this author. Beautifully drawn characters. One of the best books I've read this year.
Lisa
Mar 18, 2013 rated it it was amazing
For years, when I looked in the mirror, I didn't like what I saw, and I didn't believe anyone else who said they saw something different.

Now, the struggle isn't as intense, but it's still a battle. And it's this image battle that novelist Ginny Yttrup writes about in her new book Invisible.

Ellyn is the owner and head chef of a restaurant in Mendocino, California. She's also overweight, has never had a relationship with a man and she's skeptical when a widowed doctor, Miles, shows interest in
...more
Colleen
Feb 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Made in God's image. This truly annointed author reaches us in depths that no other author can reach. Right where we live, whatever body image we have, we are made in God's Image. Lovingly made.

I had a weight problem for most of my life. My view of myself was not a good one. But, consider, if we are made in God's Image, we are perfect no matter our size or our hurts that life brings our way.

Even through anorexia, He teaches us, as only He can that we are loved, and, made in His Image, we are
...more
Ellen
Many people deal with issues of body image.

I am fat? too fat? too thin? too short? too ______ ?

I am worthless... lazy... I can't do _____.


How many people try to hide and seek invisibility instead of recognition?

How would they feel if they truly believed that all men and women are not only created in the image of God, but also meant to reflect His image to others.




Ellyn
single, 40-something, chef and cafe owner, friend, believer, overweight

Twila
single, 20-something, studies and sells natural
...more
Bethany
Jan 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing
In my opinion a good book is one that causes you to think long after you are finished with it and engages you wholly in the story. It is able to draw you in and yet also gives you things that you can apply to your own life. Rarely is such a book written and it takes a exceptional story teller to be able to do it and yet I strongly feel that "Invisible" by Ginny Yttrup is such a book.


"Invisible" by Ginny Yttrup is a masterly woven work of art that tells the very engaging, entertaining and thought
...more
Colleen Fauchelle
May 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. I have already sent the author a thank you message. The story is told by the 4 main characters. I love that the Lord is one of the main people in this book.

Ellyn - Chef, cafe owner, hard worker and she is my age. Ellyn has weight issues, she struggles to accept who she is and all she sees is fat. She is kind,giving and funny. Her inner voice Earl keeps her in the pit. She only wants Miles as a friend

Twila - A lovely young woman with wisdom beyond her years. She also has
...more
Marty
Jun 06, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed the simple conversations that the characters had with God. I also enjoyed how the friendship between Sabina and Ellyn was developed, it felt very real. Ellyn's struggle over body image and self-worth also was very real. The quote from Saint Augustine "Men go abroad to wonder at the heights of mountains, at the huge waves of the sea, at the long courses of the rivers, at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motions of the stars and they pass by themselves without wondering." ...more
Amy
Mar 23, 2013 rated it really liked it
Invisible was different than most, not overly romantic, not a mystery, but very deep. It tugs at your soul strings. I am sure most anyone could find at least one thing in common with this book. One minute I laughed, the next I cried as these ladies stories unveiled. I loved the way the author intertwined three completely different characters on the surface with equal needs underneath. The importance she put on recognizing our inner beauty vs how we see ourselves outwardly, and the fact that in ...more
Pam Collins
Aug 28, 2013 rated it it was amazing
A book that helped both my friend and I who could relate to characters in regards to our relationships with food and healing. Although I consider myself more spiritual than religious I enjoyed the references in the book and adored the Saint Augustine quotes I will be adding that to my to read list. A book with a great story and healing messages.
Laura Van Nice
A probing book about how we see ourselves and how others see us. I loved the recurring reminder that we are all "fearfully and wonderfully made" even if we are not society's idea of perfection.

The characters were engaging and each of their heart breaking circumstances was presented in such a way as to make me long for a positive resolution. The ending was pitch perfect.

Leslie
Feb 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2014
Really loved this book! The characters were authentic and real and relatable. Very thought provoking. Looking forward to reading more from this author.
Emily (Heinlen) Davis
Apr 01, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I loved, loved, loved this book! It has great characters and a great story! It grabs you from the beginning and won't let you go. I highly recommend it!
Shari Ring Wolf
Dec 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Christian Fiction

I wasn't aware this was Christian fiction when I purchased the book. I'm sure most people reading posted reviews won't overlook that as I did. Due to the genre, there is an underlying assumption to the story that could be construed as proselytizing or gentle preaching.
The story is "about" so many things. It is an open minded study on beauty, love, friendship, grief, family, guilt and shame, and healing emotionally. I did love the story, eventually. I was slow getting into the
...more
Amy Taylor
Jul 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
You know that youre created in the image of God, right? Imago Dei. After reading Invisible by Ginny Yttrup, these are the words that replay in my heart and mind.

The title alone also speaks volumes Invisible.

Havent we all, at one time or another, hidden or longed to hide our hurts, pains, past, secrets, etc.?

This is a story of Ellyn, a woman hiding behind extra weight, Sabina, a woman hidden in her depression, and Twila, a young woman coming out of hiding after excessive weight lossher way of
...more
Patty
Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is one of hope and faith. With 3 women and 1 man, we have several points of view that all lead us together. Ellyn is overweight and has severe confidence issues. When Miles, her retired general practitioner takes an interest in her, life begins to ask her questions. Twila has an eating disorder and when things begin to revert backwards, she is now looking for answers. And Sabina has some issues that come to light as she is counseling Ellyn and Sabina. What all four of these people have ...more
Christine Dillon
Jul 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
This story is one that many could relate to. The voice in our heads that accuses and attacks and cripples too many people. We listen to that voice and nod, rather than to the voice of our Creator. I'm not sure I liked the title - it didn't come out as strongly as the 'words' theme in Words. I'd prefer 'Imago Dei'.
This is the third book I've read by this author. I still struggle with the first person present tense but didn't find it as difficult in this one (it was much more clunky in 'Lost and
...more
Brenda
Nov 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is not my first book by Ginny Yttrup. I enjoy her writing because you can expect something different from each book. I listened to the audiobook and the narrator was amazing. The author dealt tactfully with some hard subjects. The struggle for the characters were real situations that happens to people everyday. I enjoyed listening to each character as they tried to deal with the things of everyday life and their problems. If you like something different and at times emotional you may enjoy ...more
April
Sep 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Invisible
By: Ginny L. Yttrup

This novel features characters that are broken in some aspect of their lives. When their lives intersect, each ones has something that helps heal the others. God gives them a lot of help. The listener follows as their lives begin to grow. I'm sure I will listen to this many times.



The narration was well done. The characters were well portrayed. Leonor A. Woodworth added the perfect voice for this book!!!



I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have
...more
Pam
Mar 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read the ebook version of INVISIBLE but I wish I had a paper copy. This is one of those books that has so much wisdom and depth that I'll want to refer back to it. I enjoyed how the story developed through the first person accounts of Ellyn, Sabina, Twila, and Miles. They all had issues they had to work through and their friendships helped them as they came to realize the freedom of knowing and accepting they were made in the image of God. This is one of the best books I've read so far this ...more
Shelly
Good read for devout Christians. Had a couple issues with some of "St. Augustine" quotes but what are you gonna do, the guy lived before time was recorded! Liked a lot of the doctrine being espoused, especially viewing ourselves as God's children created in His image. Touched on many temporal afflictions we endure and overcome here in this mortal life with well drawn characters who had depth and added meaning to the story.
Lora
Jun 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: finished
Truth remains forever relevant. That is the power and beauty of this book. Revealing the truth we cant see because of all the lies we believe. I didnt personally relate to any of the characters outward struggles, but I related to ALL of their inward struggles. I fell in love with each and every one of them, and I felt like I was their personal friend, too. I felt their emotions, fears, shame, hurts, and learned truth along with them. This is a beautiful, powerful, impactful book. ...more
Maryann Taylor
Nov 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is my favorite Ginny Yttrup book, thus far. It is delightful to observe the main character's surprise that a man can actually fall in love with her. As the owner of a restaurant, and lover of food, she is of somewhat generous proportions, but that doesn't stop the handsome Dr. who recognizes her beauty and patiently pursues her. There is much more to this story than the romance, though--sweet truths to contemplate.
Barbara
Jan 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Letting go of shame.

I was immediately drawn into this book and could not put it down until I read every word. Ms Yttrup brings the setting of a quaint oceanside village to life, and the characters are so flawed and real that I could identify with each of them. A beautiful book about letting go of shame by remembering you are made in the image of God. You will not regret buying this book.
Rhonda Sappington
A book to be kept in your library

I loved this book for the characters, the truths, and the quotes from Saint Augustine. Bible verses that are dear to me kept popping up and blessing me. Shame is a deep hurt, and freedom from it is truly revolutionary. Thank you Ginny for for completing this journey.
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Hidden (Jacobs Family #1)
  • The Deepest Waters
  • The Peashooter Society's Plan (The Mismatched Mail-Order Brides, #1)
  • Valentine Bride (Holiday Brides #1)
  • First Wave (Northwest Counter-Terrorism Taskforce #1)
  • The Orphan Daughter of Lupin lane: A Historical Victorian Romance
  • Secrets (Wounded Heroes #4)
  • Guarding Candy Kane (The 12 Mysteries of Christmas #3)
  • Petticoat Ranch (Lassoed in Texas, #1)
  • On His Bended Knee (The Brides of Purple Heart Ranch #1)
  • Convenient Lies (Hidden Truths #1)
  • A Romance for Rose (Seven Suitors for Seven Sisters #2)
  • These Healing Hills
  • Not Just Another Billionaire (When a Billionaire Loves a Woman Book 1)
  • Just the Way You Are (Pleasant Gap Romance, #1)
  • Loving Grace (A Bride's Unexpected Joy, #2)
  • Blessed Arrangements (Miss Main Street #2)
  • Wagon Train Baby (Love on the Santa Fe Trail #1)
See similar books…
241 followers
Ginny L. Yttrup is the award-winning author of Words, Lost and Found, Invisible, Flames, and Home which released April 1, 2017. She writes contemporary women's fiction and enjoys exploring the issues everyday women face. Publishers Weekly dubbed Ginny's work "as inspiring as it is entertaining." When not writing, Ginny coaches writers, critiques manuscripts, and makes vintage-style jewelry for her ...more

News & Interviews

Mary Pauline Lowry knows a thing or two about being stuck at home when you don't want to be. After all, the premise of her newest novel, The Rox...
13 likes · 1 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“But all of us, in some way, reflect an image of God-of who He is. So who's to say what's right or what's wrong about how we look?
-Twila”
3 likes
“Most high . . . deeply hidden yet intimately present, perfection of both beauty and strength, stable and incomprehensible, immutable and yet changing all things. Saint Augustine” 1 likes
More quotes…