Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Il mondo perduto” as Want to Read:
Il mondo perduto
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Il mondo perduto

(Jurassic Park #2)

3.76  ·  Rating details ·  106,884 ratings  ·  3,115 reviews
Sono passati sei anni dal disastro segreto di Jurassic Park. Sei anni fa quello straordinario sogno scientifico è finito con una catastrofe: i dinosauri sterminati, il parco distrutto, l'isola chiusa a tempo indeterminato. Ma cominciano a circolare strane voci: qualcosa vive ancora…
La saga dei dinosauri continua nel terrificante e avvincente sequel di Jurassic Park, un'em
...more
Paperback, Elefanti Bestseller, 440 pages
Published July 1st 2009 by Garzanti (first published September 17th 1995)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Il mondo perduto, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Jamie I read it expecting a film tie-in novel, but the difference is insane. It's so far removed from the second Jurassic Park movie that it's as though the…moreI read it expecting a film tie-in novel, but the difference is insane. It's so far removed from the second Jurassic Park movie that it's as though the script writers read the book summary but not the actual book. I'd say maybe 85% of the movie was made up out of thin air, and the rest was based so loosely on the summary that it might as well have been.(less)
Zach Smith Ian Malcolm, Richard Levine, Jack Thorne, Sara Harding, Eddie Carr and two sneaky kids Arby and Kelly. And the biosyn crew.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.76  · 
Rating details
 ·  106,884 ratings  ·  3,115 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Chelsea
Sep 25, 2007 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I find a lot of people discuss the "resurrection" of Ian Malcolm in their reviews, and I'd like to throw in my two cents. It's true, Malcolm is mentioned as dead at the end of Jurassic Park. To be exact, Muldoon is telling Grant what's happened to everyone else as they're flying away in the helicopter:
"What about Malcolm?" Grant said.
Muldoon shook his head.

The epilogue mentions the Costa Rican government not permitting the burial of John Hammond or Ian Malcolm (amongst a list of other ways they
...more
Beorn
Sep 26, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The story goes that Steven Spielberg flush with the success of the first Jurassic Park movie, itself an adaptation of a Michael Chrichton novel, decided to try and repeat his success by commissioning the author to write a sequel to his original novel (which the first movie was based on) which they could then adapt into a movie.
Whether or not that's true I cannot say but I will say that do not base your initial judgement of this book or the prospect of reading it on the lacklustre utter turkey th
...more
Chris Friend
Mar 06, 2008 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: No living creature on earth. Except silverfish. They need the fiber.
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sarah
This might turn out to be one of my favorite books of all time. I feel like there was so much to love. I don’t care if he was just cashing in on the success of the Jurassic Park movie. I’m not even mad that Malcolm’s death was retconned. What I’m mad about, is that Hollywood took a beautiful book and hacked it into pieces and tried to dazzle us with animatronic dinosaurs. Okay so I like animatronic dinosaurs too, but still- there was no need.

The plot is this: Dr. Levine suspects something happen
...more
Peter Meredith
The Lost World is not a very good book. The story is a slog to start and the characters are very weak. So weak that if any of them had actually been eaten by the constantly hungry dinosaurs I would've been like: shrug.
As the story progressed and I waited impatiently to find out: would they actually solve the mystery of the missing Dr Levine and go to the island of dinosaurs--as if there was a chance of that not happening--I was introduced to a series of these weak characters and it then became
...more
Casey
Jul 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I will start my review by saying that I did not enjoy this novel nearly as much as the first book, Jurassic Park. While this was an incredibly easy and fast read, I would have preferred if Crichton had cut roughly a hundred pages of additional information that, in my opinion, did not add to the story. Other than that, wow! What an adrenaline-charging, action-packed book! Crichton sure knew how to grab his audience by the hand and take them on a roller-coaster into a whole other world—a world in ...more
K.
Trigger warnings: violence, blood, death, gore, near drowning, gore, animal death, seriously you guys there's so much gore.

11/11/2018
Sticking with 4.25 stars this time. I love this story a lot, and it's really interesting to see all the ways that Spielberg took a surprisingly solid story and turned it into a steaming turd of a film.

30/10/2017
On reread, I'm bumping this up to 4.25 stars. It's ten bazillion times better than the truly terrible movie of the same name. I love the two kids in the st
...more
Stephanie
4.5

I read Jurassic Park in July of 2017 and really enjoyed it, so I have no idea why it took me close to 2 years to get to The Lost World (which I buddy read with my friend Erica!) but I finally got to it, and I loved it even more than the first book! I never watched the movies growing up, so I watched the first movie after reading the first book and now that i've finally read The Lost World I can continue with the movies!

I really enjoy the writing in these novels. I find it easy to read and ge
...more
Eddie Owens
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Andrew
Apr 28, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have to say that I do enjoy the writing style of Michael Crichton and although he has had his share of varying popularity I always feel I can trust his writing to deliver (even if to some that feels safe and uninspiring)

Anyway I digress - this was the second of his Jurassic Park novels and again a loose basis for the film (it still fascinates me how the first book and film diverge, digressing again), however the film was such a success there is little of surprise to the book, for me it was mo
...more
William Dalphin
Sep 05, 2007 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Masochists and the illiterate
What I learned from The Lost World: The only people worthy of surviving in Crichton's world are geniuses. Everyone else is destined to be fodder/feed for terrorizing thunder lizards.

The Lost World suffers from two things: First off, if you've ever read Jurassic Park, then you know that TLW's protagonist, Ian Malcolm, is, in fact, dead. That's right... he died in Jurassic Park, but since they couldn't convince Sam Neill to return for the movie, Crichton rewrote history so that Malcolm somehow sur
...more
Karen’s Library
Jul 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: sci-fi
Now that was really enjoyable!! I really loved all the science and theories.

Bella
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Ok so this book gained an extra star because Lex was not in it. Hands down that originally made me want to give it five stars. But lets get to why this book got two stars.

First off.... (view spoiler)
...more
Ashley *Hufflepuff Kitten*
I still maintain that without Ian Malcolm this book would've received a 2-2.5 star rating because without his snark I would've been bored to deathhhh. As it is, 4 stars feels generous but that ending just put me in a good mood. Good book, not sure it was necessary because nothing will top the original, but Malcolm spits so much truth about theories and what humans think we know that I'd say it deserves a read if you liked Jurassic Park.

...Can we have the new Jurassic World movie now plz?
David Firmage
Jun 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Better than the first book and great narration by Anthony Heald. A sense of peril that is not evident in the film.
Krystal
Not even close to as amazing as the first book, but this still has some great dino moments and absolutely fascinating ideas.

WARNING: This review contains unhidden spoilers for Jurassic Park.

The sequel is a little slow to get into. It's been six years since the events of the first book, but it's all been covered up and the people involved deny having been a part of anything. Hammond has stayed dead (unlike Malcolm) so we need a new reason to head back into dino territory and that reason comes in
...more
Deslni01
Michael Crichton's The Lost World is an interesting piece of work. On the one hand, it is an exciting, page-gripping, edge of the seat thriller reminiscent of the first Jurassic Park novel. On the other hand, it is exactly that: reminiscent of the first Jurassic Park novel. In many ways, it is merely a rehash of the original. Ian Malcolm returns, as does Dodgson, there are other dinosaur and mammalian experts involved (of course, they are all considered the best in the world), and the story coul ...more
Arybo ✨
È come Jurassic Park, ma sbiadito. Ci sono tutti i contenuti del primo libro (dinosauri, isola, umani stupidi ed avidi, umani scienziati e più attenti , matematici e geni del computer, ragazzini), ma il tutto si armonizza di meno.
Ali (the bandar blog)


the bandar blog

In case you missed it, not too long ago I was raving about Jurassic Park. I hadn't read the book before and was instantly obsessed. Needless to say, I was quick to pick up The Lost World, because sequels = more dinosaurs. While I didn't end up obsessing over The Lost World quite as much as JP, the 12-year-old boy in me was still satisfied by T-Rex scares, human-eating dinosaurs, and terrifying AF raptors.




What I didn't like quite as much:

It seemed just a tad-bit more science-y. Lots and lots
...more
Suzanne
Nov 07, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio, library, thriller
Note to self: if I am EVER stuck on an island with dinosaurs, do not be a jerk or I'm guaranteed to be eaten by a T-Rex. Also, if I ever need to look up anything on a computer, ask a kid because apparently adults cannot operate them.

The Jurassic Park adventures are always fun. One thing I especially liked about this book is the woman scientist was one of the strongest and most competent of the team. (The movie drove me crazy because the so-called African animal expert took blood soaked stuff INT
...more
Brian
Sep 08, 2008 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Jurassic Park was pretty good, but this book was rather poor. It reads like a bad movie. The author is so intent upon pushing Chaos Theory upon the reader that he often forces the characters to behave way, way, WAY out of their habits in order to force things to go wrong.

People suddenly do really stupid things. People forget that they have weapons. All attempts to prepare for a situation automatically fail, because it's completely impossible (not just improbable) for a prepared individual to act
...more
Rosie (mrsbunnymum)
Not as good as the first one, but still great. It's very sciencey and if that's your thing, then you'll love this too. I personally love the more sciencey side of things and can totally relate to Ian Malcolm and the other scientists whenever they correct people's use of common animal names and instinctively blurt out the scientific name. I do that too. I feel like there was a little less action this time round and some people would probably dislike that but obviously we've moved past the first s ...more
Enrique
Mar 28, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well to be honest, I had watched the film adaptation before reading the novel. I loved the film especially with the Big Rex attacking my hometown. (Sadly the news never reported it). Now I had begun reading it kind of late, since I could only find a copy of it at Barnes&Nobels but I begun reading!

Now when I did read the novel I tried to clear my mind and not try to expect alot from it. However when I actually did get to reading the Lost World I was slightly dissapointed. To be frank I think
...more
Debbie
Apr 26, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Having recently re-read Jurassic Park, I realized that I had never bothered with the sequel. I am glad I did but it wasn't all that great. It did not measure up to the 1st one at all. There is far less action and WAY more talk.

I felt that this was Crighton's way of spewing some interesting and some not so interesting facts out into the world. It seemed that he needed his readers to know all about complicated math theorems, evolution and extinction, et al. Sadly he used the character, Ian Malcolm
...more
Corey
Jun 28, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
The Lost World takes place six years after the Jurassic Park incident, and just like in the movie version, Dr. Alan Grant and Dr. Sattler did not return but Dr. Ian Malcolm does return for his role. The Lost World was an entertaining read, although I'll say not as good as Jurassic Park, for a number of reasons, but I won't go into all of them. I found myself skipping through some of the unnecessary parts that weren't really important to the story but when I came to some of the important parts I ...more
Carmine
Jun 14, 2015 rated it liked it
Quando i dinosauri dominavano la terra

Divertente intrattenimento da leggere sotto l'ombrellone.
Persa completamente la profondità contenutistica dell'opera precedente, l'infausto ritorno a Isla Sorna promette frizzanti guazzabugli preistorici con dinosauri esagitati e piuttosto birichini.
Certo, lo svolgimento è piuttosto scolastico e non aiuta l'oramai assente fattore sorpresa (vantaggio di cui il primo libro e relativo adattamento cinematografico hanno goduto).
Cathy (cathepsut)
Read it, liked it, Jurassic Park was better. What I loved about this book and still remember pretty well--it taught me about Chaos Theory, which fascinated me for quite a while after reading this.
Stacy
May 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great read
P. Lundburg
For me, a disappointment after the first Jurassic Park, but still a great read.
✟Roxanne✟(Death by Book Avalanche) ☠
Great novel just like the first. Like the previous one, I read this one quite young so believe I didn't quite fully understand it. My love for dinosaurs means that I will pick this up again one day.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Play Book Tag: The Lost World by Michael Crichton-4 Stars 5 17 Jan 31, 2019 05:41PM  
How to get best price of old phone? 1 2 Oct 25, 2018 04:17AM  
Goodreads Librari...: Please add details 2 207 Jul 17, 2018 06:23PM  
Easter Egg 2 12 Jun 28, 2018 01:58AM  
Which was better: Book or Movie? 39 325 Aug 29, 2017 03:53PM  
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
  • Lord of the Flies
  • The Ransom of Black Stealth One (Aerospace Systems, #1)
  • Shadows of the Empire (Star Wars)
  • Raptor Red
  • Independence Day: Novelisation
  • Jurassic Park III
  • Footprints of Thunder
  • Cemetery Dance (Pendergast, #9)
  • The Trench (MEG, #2)
  • Moonseed (NASA Trilogy, #3)
  • Almost Adam
  • Aliens
  • Cretaceous Dawn
  • The Empire Strikes Back (Star Wars: Novelizations, #5)
  • A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet, #1)
  • Carriers
  • V
11,942 followers
Michael Crichton (1942–2008) was one of the most successful novelists of his generation, admired for his meticulous scientific research and fast-paced narrative. He graduated summa cum laude and earned his MD from Harvard Medical School in 1969. His first novel, Odds On (1966), was written under the pseudonym John Lange and was followed by seven more Lange novels. He also wrote as Michael Dougla ...more

Other books in the series

Jurassic Park (2 books)
  • Jurassic Park (Jurassic Park, #1)
“What makes you think human beings are sentient and aware? There's no evidence for it. Human beings never think for themselves, they find it too uncomfortable. For the most part, members of our species simply repeat what they are told-and become upset if they are exposed to any different view. The characteristic human trait is not awareness but conformity, and the characteristic result is religious warfare. Other animals fight for territory or food; but, uniquely in the animal kingdom, human beings fight for their 'beliefs.' The reason is that beliefs guide behavior which has evolutionary importance among human beings. But at a time when our behavior may well lead us to extinction, I see no reason to assume we have any awareness at all. We are stubborn, self-destructive conformists. Any other view of our species is just a self-congratulatory delusion. Next question.” 388 likes
“All your life people will tell you things. And most of the time, probably ninety-five percent of the time, what they'll tell you will be wrong.” 188 likes
More quotes…