Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Gilded Knight” as Want to Read:
The Gilded Knight
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Gilded Knight

3.38  ·  Rating details ·  13 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
Is He Simply A Knight In Shining Armor...
In the midst of England's coldest winter in years, widowed Nell Simmons is relieved that her period of mourning is nearly over, but she cannot help worrying about her delicate young daughter, Delphine - especially when the heir to Meadow House is due to arrive and demand their removal from the estate. But when the new viscount sends
Mass Market Paperback, 254 pages
Published 2005 by Zebra Kensington
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Gilded Knight, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Gilded Knight

Community Reviews

(showing 1-43)
Rating details
Sort: Default
Mar 16, 2008 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Traditional Regency or Sweet Romance
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"3.5 stars" The Gilded Knight is a sweet Regency romance that was an easy read, perhaps a little too easy. The hero and heroine were pretty likable and relatable characters, but both they and their story seemed so ordinary as to be rather lackluster. They were just two average people for their time, facing rather average problems. The conflict is pretty minimal, fueled mainly by the fact that Charles is on a mission for his brother to essentially evict Nell from her home
Susan Ross
Aug 26, 2017 rated it liked it
This book had the makings of a five star read. I really liked the storyline. The primary and secondary characters are likeable. I loved the interaction between the hero and the heroine's daughter. But for some reason the book felt flat. Perhaps it was the lack of humour. It just seemed stilted to me, which was frustrating because I enjoyed the plot.
I also would have liked an epilogue. Why was Delphine, our heroine's child, sick? I hate unanswered questions.

Mar 05, 2015 rated it it was ok
the book was more about the heroine and hero finding themselves, but more through self-realization than anything they do for each other. the heronine finally admits to basically being a squatter because she was afraid of change, though she kept blaming her child's illness. the hero finally admits to being a real life gilded knight, thinly covered with a knighthood, but with no substance underneath. liked the kid, the constant references to the gilded knight got tedious, not sure why the valet's ...more
Mar 30, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: limp
A good story, well written, with indirect characterization (very well done) and a beta hero who is not the usual honorable man but tends to be kind in spite of his selfishness.
Had forgotten I had read this years back, it is a nice variation on a theme, with a happy ending.
Aug 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
it's all about glided knight :) #Love #inspiring #mother's love
rated it it was ok
May 23, 2014
rated it it was amazing
Jun 24, 2012
Cheryl Breza
rated it it was ok
Jan 13, 2016
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2016
rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2009
rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2017
rated it liked it
Sep 15, 2017
Kelly Wong
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2008
Donna Simpson
Mar 21, 2009 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
added it
May 06, 2009
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2010
added it
Nov 26, 2010
marked it as to-read
May 05, 2011
added it
May 25, 2011
added it
Mar 24, 2012
Linda C
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2012
marked it as to-read
Dec 26, 2012
added it
Mar 25, 2013
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2013
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2013
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2014
marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2014
marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2014
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2016
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2016
marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2016
Iris LG
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2016
marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2017
Seema Khan
marked it as to-read
Mar 31, 2017
Blue Falcon
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2017
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2017
Rose Canteiro
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2017
John Alger
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2017
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2017
Jane Wheeler
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2017
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Sinopsis en Español // Synopsis in Spanish 1 1 Nov 07, 2015 12:09PM  
Donna Lea Simpson is a nationally bestselling romance and mystery novelist with over twenty titles published in the last ten years. An early love for the novels of Jane Austen and Agatha Christie was a portent of things to come; Donna believes that a dash of mystery adds piquancy to a romantic tale, and a hint of romance adds humanity to a mystery story. Besides writing romance and mystery novels ...more
More about Donna Lea Simpson...