Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Tara the Liberator: How to Free Your Mind” as Want to Read:
Tara the Liberator: How to Free Your Mind
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Tara the Liberator: How to Free Your Mind

4.18  ·  Rating details ·  84 ratings  ·  10 reviews
A sharply perceptive introduction to the most popular female deity practice in Tibetan Buddhism, written by a Western practitioner with thirty years experience whose titles have sold well over 100,000 copies.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published December 16th 2012 by Snow Lion Publications (first published February 23rd 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Tara the Liberator, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Tara the Liberator

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  84 ratings  ·  10 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Chiara
Definitely not for me.
The first chapter is spent promising the reader doesn't need to practice buddhism,then by chapter 3 it clearly states that either you do practice buddhism, or you're condemned to perpetual reincarnation.
That's exaclty the same as Christians telling that either you believe in their God, or you'r doomed.
If there is such thing as THE way for human beings, it must be something that fits anybody.
Viola
Nov 06, 2017 is currently reading it
Recommended to Viola by: Cheryl Glans
Borrowed from Cheryl.
Gerardo
Jan 07, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
(IN SPANISH BELOW)

"How to free your mind" by Ven. Thubten Chodron is a gem of a book for those wishing to be introduced in the practice of Tara. It offers an overview of her sadhana (the gelug version), an explanation about the meaning and symbolism of the Praises to the 21 Taras and a lengthy commentary on the beautiful "A song of longing for Tara, the infallible", in which she touches on every important aspect of the path, both from the Sutrayana and the Tantrayana (especially the former), giv
...more
Angie Lisle
Jul 18, 2013 rated it liked it
Like most books of this nature, the opening pages offer promises of enlightenment and claims of radical cures. If that kind of stuff annoys you - steer clear.

I'm aware that many of the problems in the world could be solved by changing the way we think (but physical illness requires treatment of the physical cause in order to properly heal). If you know that your problems are caused by negative thinking, then this book could be beneficial as it requires readers to question and re-evaluate their
...more
Salvatore Familia
The beloved deity Tara is the feminine embodiment of enlightenment. For centuries practitioners have turned to her for protection from both external and internal dangers, from fire to arrogance. This well-written book presented in conversational style is an authoritative guide to the practice of Tara. It includes very helpful chapters on the whys and hows of various Tara practices as well as a commentary on the "Homage to the Twenty-one Taras."
Alexandra
Feb 27, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A beautiful offering. These teachings have steadied me in Dharma study. There is so much depth, clarity, and loving-kindness, strength and hope in these teachings and teacher. Thank you, thank you. I am continuing and continuing to read.
Danie
Oct 29, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ven. Chödrön offers a wonderful discourse on Buddha Tara. As a Westerner I found her descriptions of verses, metaphors and iconology indispensable. Without this book my understanding of Buddha Tara would have been very superficial, so I am thankful to have had this guidance.
Popkins
Sep 14, 2018 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Did not enjoy this book as much as I thought I would.
WndyJW
Feb 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thubten Chodron makes even the more complex Buddhist teachings accessible. This book about Tara is written for Buddhist practioners. Anyone can learn from reading it and no one should be dissuaded from reading this, but this is not an introductory book.
Hadji VanderVeer
Mar 20, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition


A good way to open your mind to other options the reader hasn't thought about or experienced
Alberto Mártir rodriguez
rated it it was amazing
May 20, 2014
Tara May
rated it it was amazing
Nov 11, 2018
Linda
rated it it was amazing
Jun 09, 2009
Wamble white eagle
rated it liked it
Apr 15, 2013
Jemima
rated it really liked it
Jan 16, 2017
Jesse
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2018
Buffalogal427
rated it it was amazing
Oct 17, 2014
Cheryl  Glans
rated it really liked it
May 27, 2015
William
rated it liked it
Apr 14, 2013
Reading Soul
rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2008
A.B. McFarland
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2014
K.
rated it liked it
Nov 25, 2007
Thiên Hà
rated it liked it
Oct 05, 2016
Stuart Eglin
rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2018
Rev. Kenny Whetstone
rated it it was amazing
Nov 09, 2015
Priscila
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2019
Richard
rated it really liked it
Nov 21, 2017
Sharon
rated it liked it
Jul 22, 2012
Travis J.
rated it really liked it
May 17, 2018
Stanzein
rated it really liked it
Nov 10, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
75 followers
Born in 1950, Venerable Bhikshuni Thubten Chodron (Ch: 圖丹.卻淮) grew up near Los Angeles. She graduated with a B.A. in History from the University of California at Los Angeles in 1971. After travelling through Europe, North Africa and Asia for one and a half years, she received a teaching credential and went to the University of Southern California to do post-graduate work in Education while working ...more
“Since different explanations, symbolism, and practices benefit different people, the existence of a variety of spiritual paths enables each person to choose what suits him or her best.” 1 likes
“At first, it’s hard for us to give to others, so we give a carrot from one hand to the other. Then we give away simple things, such as a jar of thumbtacks. Then, we grow a little bit and give away things that we hold more dear. Later, we can share our time or whatever else is more difficult for us to give. When we eventually become Tara, we will be able to give everything effortlessly and joyfully.” 1 likes
More quotes…