Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Tree of Gold” as Want to Read:
Tree of Gold
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Tree of Gold

3.78  ·  Rating details ·  185 ratings  ·  11 reviews
On her way to her wedding the heroine meets the only man she will ever love, but they are rivals in the silk industry that made Lyon the City of Silk.
Hardcover, 349 pages
Published November 6th 1986 by Methuen (first published June 18th 1986)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Tree of Gold, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Tree of Gold

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.78  · 
Rating details
 ·  185 ratings  ·  11 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Tree of Gold
Melissa
Feb 03, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Probably my favorite book of all time. I have lost count on how many times I've read it. It made me fall in love with the Napoleonic time period.
Dawn Dorsey
Feb 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is an intriguing story of two people in love, but never able to act on that love, and determined to remain true to their obligations despite their hearts. It also gives a good insight into the cutthroat competition in the silk business centered in Lyon, and how it was nearly destroyed during the radical phases of the French Revolution.

It is also a fascinating view of the Napoleonic era from the point of view of the French citizens. I have read several novels touching to a greater or lesser
...more
Artemiz
Apr 06, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley, 2016
Tree of Gold by Rosalind Laker is an interesting love story that happens in Lyon, the "Silk capital" of France in between French revolution and Battle of Waterloo.

A young woman, only daughter of a Lyoness silk manufacturer, Gabrielle Roche is on her way to her wedding with silk farmer Emile Valmont, when her carriage collides with an hearse. The deceased is her family's long time enemy and once competitor. Nicolas Devaux, son of the competitor, has come back to Lyon to bury his father and to op
...more
Amanda
Apr 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Rosalind Laker has a formula that just works really well, take a historic setting, add in a woman that works in a very specific trade and mix in some romance with a dash of drama. It works well and I enjoy it every time. You get to experience some history, you get to learn something about said specific trade and you get to snuggle up with a bit of romance. Tree of Gold fits that mold perfectly with a setting in Napoleonic France, Gabrielle Roche and her family's silk house and the dashing Nicola ...more
Strawberry
Apr 07, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley-reads
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Milena
Apr 06, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
I received free copy of Tree of Gold from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not realize that this is reissue of the older book. Regardless, I really enjoyed the story and the writing, which are engrossing, fresh and relevant. I enjoyed reading about the place and time the story took place, renowned Lyons silk industry during the Bonaparte rule and Napoleonic wars. I loved main heroes, Gabrielle and Nicholas, their impossible love story and their struggles during ...more
Jessica
Jul 24, 2016 rated it really liked it
This was a very good historical fiction. It gave plenty of details and interesting bits about the time period and also had well developed, likeable characters.

**I received a copy from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for a review**
Jennifer
Mar 26, 2011 rated it it was ok
Eh. That's all I can say. Eh.
Sandy
Aug 11, 2009 added it
Think I read it??
Linda
Jul 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
Entertaining historical novel about a woman who longs to make a mark in the silk industry in Lyon, France.On her wedding day, she meets the love of her life, the son of a rival silk firm.
Fredrick Danysh
Oct 05, 2015 rated it it was ok
This is a tale of two French silk making families in the vein of Romeo and Juliet. It is set in Napoleonic France and is a romantic novel.
Anna Cohee
rated it really liked it
May 19, 2017
Ally
rated it it was amazing
Nov 15, 2018
I P FRANCIS
rated it really liked it
Mar 06, 2017
Janice
rated it it was amazing
Oct 27, 2017
Sam Gunn
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2013
Rhonda Duncan
rated it really liked it
Jul 06, 2016
geraldine corcoran
rated it really liked it
Oct 02, 2016
anne hallam
rated it did not like it
Dec 09, 2017
Lyn Larsen
rated it really liked it
Oct 17, 2018
Amanda Hicks
rated it really liked it
Jun 09, 2014
Kelly
rated it really liked it
Mar 03, 2012
Anna Lell Thompson
rated it really liked it
Sep 13, 2018
Karen LeBoeuf
rated it really liked it
Feb 03, 2014
Sandy Wirth
rated it it was amazing
May 13, 2016
Liz
rated it it was amazing
Sep 01, 2015
Kathy Ulincy
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2016
Valorie Zonnefeld
rated it it was amazing
Feb 16, 2019
Alicia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 29, 2011
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Sea Garden
  • The Banker’s Wife
  • SABINA: A Novel Set in the Italian Renaissance: Revised 2015
  • Twist and Turn (Kyle Achilles #4)
  • It's Not You It's Him
  • The Russian (Rob Tacoma #1)
  • The Knockoff
  • Desperate Creed (Ryder Creed #5)
  • The Virgin's Spy (Tudor Legacy, #2)
  • Fatal Throne
  • Fitness Junkie
See similar books…
126 followers
A pseudonym used by Barbara Øvstedal.

Barbara Øvstedal was an author previously writing under the pseudonym Barbara Paul and Barbara Douglas. She wrote a few books under this pseudonym but later changed to Rosalind Laker when Barbara Paul gained recognition. Her many books include The Sugar Pavilion and To Dance with Kings.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »