Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Flowering and Other Stories” as Want to Read:
Flowering and Other Stories
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Excerpt

Flowering and Other Stories

by
3.88  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  9 reviews
Flowering is a collection of stories built around the themes of loss, social disruption, mistaken judgment and stumbling redemption. From a shoplifting sociopathic genius to a card-dealing witch offering a mystical experience at the blackjack tables to a harsh drunk who turns out to be a malignant-yet chillingly accurate-soothsayer, the story's lead characters are complex ...more
Paperback, 314 pages
Published May 22nd 2012 by AuthorMike Ink
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Flowering and Other Stories, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Flowering and Other Stories

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
Average rating 3.88  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Flowering and Other Stories
Michelle
Jun 06, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Zoe Tribley
Jun 16, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
First, let me say that I won a copy of "Flowering and Other Stories" through Goodreads First Reads which i am very thankful for. this is a bit overdue but anyways. i really was not disappointed with this book, it was very well written and complex though each story had my adoration. i loved the characters and Tom Bentley, may i just say, your awesome.
Yasaman
Jul 22, 2012 rated it liked it
Very diverse and interesting characters, This book reminded me of the literary works that I used to study and analyse in college. I think that I could study it in my English class. However, I don't recommend this book to people that only want to read entertaining stories.
IndieHeart
Feb 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
Often in a book of short stories, I enjoy one or two of the stories a great deal and find the rest just okay or even boring. Mr Bentley's collection gets a 4.5 from me---I found the majority of the stories to be very good reads indeed. I enjoyed that the stories, while framed around a small set of themes (loss and the consequences of poor choices being the primary elements), were set in a number of different time frames and different physical/cultural settings. Although many of the stories ended ...more
Bonnie Hudon
Oct 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
I love short stories, this collection was especially enjoyable for a number of reasons.
1. No typos ... I hate having to figure out what someone is saying, in this day of "spellchecker", it's unforgivable
2. Grammatically correct - for the reasons listed above
3. Tom Bentley has an amazing imagination ... he covers a diverse subject area and the endings were not predictable and I like the unpredictable
4. Since I travel for my job, short stories are perfect for me, I can usually finish one before g
...more
Cecilia
Jun 15, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads

First, let me say that I won a copy of "Flowering and Other Stories" through Goodreads First Reads. (For which I am very thankful.)

'Flowering and Other Stories' is a collection of short stories with various settings and themes. There is enough of a variety that most people will find at least one story that appeals to them. There is even a cute little children’s story.

Tom Bentley has a very vivid and picturesque way of writing. (Picturesque is my word for it.) I was easily drawn into each sto
...more
Trebor
Nov 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Bentley is a super smart and funny writer, and what I like about him is that he writes about real people with real problems. But there is always the essential humor that comes up as well so that indeed, one remembers that life is sad and funny more than anything else. There is a nice breadth to this collection, with widely varied characters and subject matter.
E.D. Martin
Feb 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this collection before reading it, or even while reading it. The stories twist and ramble, but all that does is pull you further in. While all the characters are different - mannerisms, motivations, backgrounds, etc - they're all real and relatable. Definitely an interesting read.
Judy
Oct 29, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: good-read-wins
Another good reads win. The endings often had surprising twists so you cant predict what is going to happen. Every story was good and I didnt skip any of them.
cheryl
rated it it was ok
Jun 11, 2012
Mary
rated it liked it
Sep 01, 2014
Ines Sagula
rated it really liked it
Oct 14, 2012
Bethany
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2012
Jennifer Ferris
rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2012
Ed Brenegar
rated it it was amazing
Jan 13, 2017
Jeannie
rated it liked it
Jun 15, 2012
Sylvie
marked it as to-read
May 16, 2012
Jennie
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2012
Melissa T
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2012
Yassy Do
marked it as to-read
May 23, 2012
Yvonne
marked it as to-read
May 25, 2012
Debra
marked it as to-read
May 30, 2012
Amanda
marked it as to-read
May 30, 2012
Lys
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2012
Benjamin
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2012
Marcia
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2012
Dianne Danielson
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2012
Tasha
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
Tricia
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
Cheryl
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
Jenny Franklin
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
Tesha
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
Sussie
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
Karen
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2012
K.D. Owens
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Haley
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Karen
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Karen French
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Meghan
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Grace Sanders
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Lorraine
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Andrew
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Stephanie Cook
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Marilyn
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
Vex
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
5 followers
Hello. I hope this doesn't sound like a laundry list (and a soiled one at that) of me, me, me, but: I’ve run a writing and editing business out of my house for many years.

I've published hundreds of freelance pieces—ranging from first-person essays to travel pieces to more journalistic subjects—in newspapers, magazines, and online. (Venues include Forbes, Wine Enthusiast Magazine, Writer’s Digest,
...more

Related Articles

Diverse voices and sparkling debuts dominate today's contemporary short story collections. For this roundup, we took a look at the ...
74 likes · 7 comments