Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Witch in the Wind (Bandit Creek Sweet)” as Want to Read:
Witch in the Wind (Bandit Creek Sweet)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Witch in the Wind

(Bandit Creek #17)

by
3.78  ·  Rating details ·  49 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Bandit Creek (Montana), has a new magical dimension, The Otherland. When murder strikes in Bandit Creek, and the victims aren’t who they seemed, powerful guardian warlock, Marcus Egan, is sent from The Otherland to investigate. What he doesn’t expect to find is Avalon Gwynn, the grieving daughter of the victims, who has no idea she’s an extraordinary, hereditary witch. And ...more
ebook, 149 pages
Published April 28th 2012 by WriteAdvice Press (first published January 1st 2012)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Witch in the Wind, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Witch in the Wind

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.78  · 
Rating details
 ·  49 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Witch in the Wind (Bandit Creek Sweet)
Donna Tunney
May 06, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: readers who like mystery, witches, and sweet romance
Had the pleasure of reading an advanced copy of WITCH IN THE WIND and what a pleasure it was. Wonderful world building, a compelling plot, and a mysterious, magical hero to die for. Great emotion throughout as the heroine, Avy discovers who she really is while dealing with the murder of her parents. It's a paranormal-mystery-coming-of-age story with a sweet romance thrown in for good measure. A captivating, fast-paced read. ...more
Lori Johnstone
Feb 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
What a fun ride! I fell into this story so easily. Loved the characters, the setting, the magic, everything about it! Brenda kept me turning pages and absolutely entertained the entire time. And when I had to take a break to work, to eat etc, I couldn’t wait to get back at it!
Melissa T
Jan 18, 2013 rated it really liked it
This review was originally posted on Melissa's Midnight Musings on January 30, 2013.

This book is fantastic. It's paced well, and the romance between the two main characters Marcus and Avy is perfect. It goes at just the right speed, not too fast so as to be insta-love, but not so slow that you're wondering if they're even worth reading about.

The blending of the real and magical worlds is excellent. I really enjoyed the separation of the non-magical world from The Otherland. There was just enoug
...more
Chris Torretta
Jan 27, 2013 rated it liked it
Ok, so I did this tour knowing that this was book SEVENTEEN in the series. Although this is a novella I did realize that there was no way for me to catch up prior to the tour date. So, knowing this I do feel like I missed out on some things. I think this can stand on it’s own but I do want to know more, a LOT more.

Brenda’s writing is really good! It’s phenomenal to read something that is given to you straight, no lolly gagging behind a bunch of useless words! She does describe the situation but
...more
Mindy
Jun 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing
The Bandit Creek Books are sexy and funny romances involving a small mountain town. The stories are interrelated in that the characters overlap and all occur in the same town. That is where the similarities end. Each story focuses on specific individuals in Bandit Creek and they all have different authors.

In this story we meet Avy, a local witch who doesn’t know she is a witch, who has been gone for the past five years. She has come home because her parents have died, actually been murdered. T
...more
Nancy
Jan 09, 2013 rated it really liked it
Bandit Creek, Montana, wasn’t much of anything. Until you looked a bit deeper, then you saw them: witches, warlocks, daemons and other thingies. Avy’s parents were killed so she is called home to wrap up the loose ends. Funerals, house, bills, that kind of stuff. She is a bit taken back to find their house trashed and an odd-looking dog hiding under the porch.
She immediately takes to the dog which is good because he doesn’t act like he’s leaving anytime soon. Christened Busby the dog won’t leav
...more
Laurie
This book is a part of a much larger series but reads perfectly well as a stand-alone. Bandit Creek is a small mountain community that has been rocked by a double murder. Avalon Gwynn returns home after learning of her parent’s untimely demise to find her childhood home ransacked and worse. A friendly dog shows up who she immediately feels connected to. As she tries to make sense of the tragedy, Busby, her new pet gives her solace.


Marcus Egan is a powerful guardian who is sent from The Otherland
...more
Katie O'Connor
Jun 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Witch in the Wind is a novella in the continuing saga of Bandit Creek, a small Montana town where everyone’s lives are intertwined for better or for worse. This is the story of Avy, a young witch just coming into magical powers she is unprepared for and Marcus, who has been sent by the council to investigate the suspicious death of Avy’s parents. Neither is expecting the rapid unfolding of events that wraps them up and binds them together.

Collins creates beautiful and believable characters who d
...more
Rhomy
Nov 14, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: magic

3.5 STARS!

As I said before, this is a book that it's part of a series but when I signed up to review it, I was told I didn't need to read the previous ones, and now I know they were right.

It totally reads as an only book.
It's a short story, entertaining, though the real action began at around 40%. The first half was a little slow.

I liked the main characters, they have some mystery around them but couldn't relate to them much (probably because of the length of the book). But I found very touchi
...more
Jo Notary
Feb 09, 2016 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
146p Everything happens in Bandit Creek when WITCHES, WARLOCKS, and CANINE FAMILIARS slip through the portal from THE OTHERLAND
Bandit Creek (Montana), has a new magical dimension, The Otherland. When murder strikes in Bandit Creek, and the victims aren 19t who they seemed, powerful guardian warlock, Marcus Egan, is sent from The Otherland to investigate. What he doesn 19t expect to find is Avalon Gwynn, the grieving daughter of the victims, who has no idea she 19s an extraordinary, hereditary wi
...more
Kathy
Nov 26, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2012
It wasn't until I was finished reading and looked online that I learned this book is part of a series. The books in the series are set in the same town and apparently have characters who carry over from series to series but read as stand alones.

Witch in the Wind was a one sitting read. I read it on my kindle but it is a novella that is probably only about 100 pages in length. It was an entertaining story that moved along quickly. It mixed elements of romance, mystery and the paranormal to create
...more
Cinette Santangelo
May 05, 2012 rated it really liked it
Avy hasn't been back to Bandit Creek in years, her parents often visiting her in the city. But the sheriff from Bandit Creek calls her. Her parents are dead.
Avy has lots of questions. Who would want to kill her new-agey, tree-hugger-type parents? Was it discrimination against their choice of religion (Wicca) in a conservative community? What were the murders looking for when they ransacked the house? What caused the huge burn marks in the yard? Where did this large dog come from, and why does h
...more
Lisa  (Bookworm Lisa)
Avy returns home to Bandit Creek due to the murder of her parents. The crime scene is peculiar. Her childhood home is in shambles.

She is introduced to a world that mortals are unaware of. The Otherland is the realm of witches and wizards- with their own governing system.

Marcus, the substitute vet, is in Bandit Creek to investigate the murders of members of the magical community.

There are magical and romantic sparks. The romance is clean and it is a quick and fun book to read. While this book is
...more
Mahrie Reid
Apr 23, 2014 rated it really liked it
What happens when you find out you are more than you realized, that family secrets may endanger your life and help might come in the form of a good looking guy - who is not what he seems? This fun, fast, paranormal romance is a recommended for those who want a relaxing, happy when you're finished but wondering what happens next kind of read. ...more
Kyra Dunst
Jan 31, 2014 rated it really liked it
I loved the intensity of this story. Right from the beginning, the reader is pulled into Avy's loss as she deals with the death of her parents. Add in magic, forbidden love and orders for her death and things just start getting interesting. I would recommend this book to others. ...more
hedy
Sep 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Witch in the wind

Great story. I could not put the book down until I finished the entire story. All her books are wonderful.
Kimberly
rated it really liked it
Feb 06, 2013
Lori
rated it it was amazing
Dec 29, 2018
Sheila Seabrook
rated it really liked it
May 30, 2012
Judith Dempsey
rated it really liked it
Aug 09, 2019
T Gonzalez
rated it really liked it
Jan 19, 2020
Myron Bailey
rated it it was amazing
Oct 19, 2015
Louise Christensen
rated it it was amazing
Jul 31, 2014
Donna Mixon
rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2015
Voirey Linger
rated it did not like it
Sep 06, 2013
Wanda Froes
rated it it was ok
Aug 20, 2013
Harmony
rated it it was ok
Aug 20, 2013
Donna Switzer
rated it liked it
Sep 21, 2015
Lorraine Paton
rated it it was amazing
May 05, 2012
Fenny Sanjaya
rated it really liked it
Mar 18, 2017
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Story You Need to Tell: Writing to Heal from Trauma, Illness, or Loss
  • Write That Memoir Right Now
  • We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.
  • All You Can Ever Know
  • All Our Wrong Todays
  • The Magicians (The Magicians, #1)
  • Fast Draft Your Memoir
  • Behind Every Lie
  • It's A Wonderful Midlife Crisis (Good To The Last Death, #1)
  • Immortal Desire (Desire, #1)
  • The Power of Memoir: How to Write Your Healing Story
  • Still Life (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #1)
  • Winterwood
  • Separation Anxiety: A Coming-of-Middle-Age Story
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Bandit Creek (1 - 10 of 35 books)
  • Lost (Bandit Creek, #1)
  • Siren's Song (Bandit Creek, #2)
  • Penny Candy (Bandit Creek #3)
  • Hard Candy (Bandit Creek #4)
  • Unknown (Bandit Creek, #5)
  • Death at Bandit Creek (Bandit Creek, #6)
  • A Christmas Gift
  • The Gift (Bandit Creek, #8)
  • Skin Deep (Bandit Creek, #9)
  • Prohibited Passion (Bandit Creek, #10)

Related Articles

Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts...
29 likes · 14 comments