Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rough Surrender” as Want to Read:
Rough Surrender
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rough Surrender

by
3.94  ·  Rating details ·  420 ratings  ·  97 reviews
One master, one woman who craves surrender, and a sky that will challenge them both.

At a time when airplanes are as new-fangled and sensational as the telephone, Faith dares to fly.

The one territory she has not explored is her own sexuality. In Leonhardt she discovers the man who can teach her how a woman surrenders her body and her mind. However, Leonhardt has a
...more
ebook, 275 pages
Published June 4th 2012 by Lyrical Press (first published June 3rd 2012)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.94  · 
Rating details
 ·  420 ratings  ·  97 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Rough Surrender
 Rosebud
Jun 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Egypt, 1910. Faith Evard travels to Egypt to attend and participate in 'A Week of Aviation' where she will fly her own plane and mingle with others who share a love of all things aviation. Plans change when she arrives and finds a severed human limb floating in the water, her cherished plane has arrived missing key important parts, her step-father has arranged a potential marriage for her, and random women are being murdered in the city.
To her chagrin Leonhardt Meisner, a domineering,
...more
R *is for Relentless*
Apr 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: bdsm, historical
What a great read! Historical, BDSM, Erotic Romance, What makes a story a great erotic romance for me? When it makes me squirm and shiver OOOHHH so right! ~shiver and squirm~ This book really pushed my buttons in the right way. I loved both the Hero and Heroine of Rough Surrender. Set in 1910 in Cairo, Faith is not your typical 1910 woman and Leonhardt is not your typical 1910 man. Faith is adventurous, opinionated, and feisty. Leonhardt is big, bold, and a Dom with a deep dark secret. I can not ...more
Louise H  -  ⭐ Life in the Book Lane Reviews ⭐
4.5 stars

Well I think this author may well have changed my opinion of historical romances, as well as having given me a whole new insight into the varied uses of a fountain pen!

My word this story is deliciously naughty, wicked and panty-melting hot. It also proves that a talented author can make any genre of book interesting to read. I would have read this in one sitting if my awkward family hadn't kept interrupting me with unreasonable requests for meals and the like. The book really had me
...more
Smut Junkie
FREAKIN' AMAZING, AMAZING book!!! It took me way to long to read it because of my work schedule this week, but I stayed up WAY too late to finish it because I could NOT put it down! Leonhardt - man! I never thought I'd be attracted to a big bald man, but damn, he made my heart pound on more than one occasion! And Faith was the perfect combination of submissive and spunky in a time that I'd imagine that was not a combination your saw often! Just FREAKIN' LOVED IT! I think a book that can make you ...more
Meggie
4.5 stars!

Everything he did, every action, every word, seemed to take some piece of her being and place it in his possession and she could only wait, trembling, for his next move.

This was a great read! I've never been a huge fan of historical romances, so I was hesitant going in, but I shouldn't have been. It added another element to the story, which set it apart from the BDSM romances I've read (which admittedly aren't all that many). I liked everything about it: the characters, the plot, and
...more
Jacqueline J
Very impressed. This was historical bdsm erotica. The historical details felt real and the research was of very good quality. The writing was stellar and so far above normal offerings in this genre. In addition, there was an actual plot that held together well and had a beginning middle and end. The character development was very well done. You got to know both the hero and the heroine and their story seemed real and genuine. Issues such as the fact that those who felt the need for dominance and ...more
Leslie OBrien
May 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was a fabulous story. Everything about it was a joy to read. From the time and locale to the character development to the poetry and eloquence of the scenes. Likes: The time periodeverything from the costumes, to the locale, to the airplanes. I loved Leonhardts (healthy) fear of those flying machines and Faiths fearlessness in wanting to fly them. Dislikes: Smythe. Although he does seem to be quite good at the double entendre and pretty much everything that came out of his mouth was twisted ...more
Holly Full Moon Bites Book Reviews


May have slight spoilers.

In author Cari Silverwoods book Rough Surrender we meet Faith Evard and Leonhardt Meissner.

First off I have to say that I absolutely loved this book; from the steamy hot sex scenes, to the detailed descriptions on the setting.

Secondly; I am going to have to find me a Leonhardt, or a Theo, Sten, mmm, Dankyo *clears-throat* as I was saying.

Rough Surrender. Pure. Awesomeness. The Queen of the Sex Scene is at it again as she takes us back in time to a time where airplanes
...more
Tony
Rosebud's Review described the premise of the book very well, so if you haven't read it go read it first and then come back here because there are a couple of personal reflections I would like add to what she had to say.

Let's start off with the bad stuff (and as you can see from my rating they aren't significant to really take anything away from the book); I would have like a bit more "warm-up" with Faith's character to identify her as the free spirit that she's later discovered to be. As it is
...more
Alice
Aug 01, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I practically counted down the days until this was rereleased as a kindle book. It was so worth the wait.

This is the final book to complete my June Opposites Attract BotB challenge, categories single/historical. I was also lucky enough to find a buddy to read it with me for the Buddy Read challenge also happening this month, many thanks Marie!

I'm still floating on my post read happy cloud, really trying to pull to gather my thoughts for a good review.

The attention to detail the author put into
...more
Sassy
Jul 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing
After stopping numerous times to take cold showers, I have finally finished reading "Rough Surrender" by Cari Silverwood. HR is one of my very favourite genres - especially hot, steamy ones like this one.

Set in 1910 in Egypt, I loved the hot hero and the feisty heroine, Faith. She is very adventurous and certainly has a mind of her own...well most of the time. Leonhardt is very demanding and dominating, with demons in his closet. But once he meets up with Faith, he finds he has a soft, gentle
...more
Becca
Jul 04, 2012 rated it really liked it
This book just kept getting better and better as I read it. Lots of adventure, a brave woman, a protective man and a murder mystery to boot! The story was wonderful, although it felt to me as though some of the back story was missing as to Faith's life. That, and some difficulty with the author's writing style are my only complaints with this book. I enjoyed the setting, the time period and (of course) the hot sex!

Rough Surrender takes place in Egypt in 1910. I'm not particularly familiar with
...more
Meredith
This is an example of a repackaged or "rerelease" book that was done well by the author. The author was upfront with her readers about it being a rerelease (so readers know and don't purchase it again if they've already read it). The author isn't increasing the price dramatically, and is even kindly putting it on sale for her readers. This is a great example of a repackaging that's beneficial to the author and fair to readers.
Ni_kii
Faith is a thrill-seeker, a woman who wants to fly at a time when aircrafts are unsafe and dangerous. In Egypt lies her ultimate dream; her own aircraft and a chance to fly at a massive expo. However, things dont seem to be going to plan when the engine of her craft fails to arrive in Egypt. Whilst trying to discover what has gone amiss, she comes across Leonhardt, a man with an intriguing arrogance and a tortured past.

Leonhardts sexual tastes have always been kinky and, in the past, he has had
...more
Silent_count
Jun 20, 2012 rated it really liked it
I was looking forwards to reading this book but, at the same time, dreading having to review it. You see, I like the author, Cari Silverwood. She's a hell of a nice lady. So I don't want to be the black-hearted bastard who cost her book it's 5.0 (at the time of writing) average rating. But I don't pull punches. Not for anyone.

A historical, erotic romance. To be honest, I've never heard of, much less seen, such a thing before (I've clearly led a sheltered life) but it does work. The period detail
...more
Nadine
Aug 27, 2012 rated it really liked it
Reviewed for http://www.mysecretromancebookreviews...

Rough Surrender is a scorching hot, historical read. Its the early 1900s. Aviation has taken the world by storm. Everyone is clamoring to be a part of this new phenomenon. Well almost everyone. Leonhardt Meissner, a man skilled in the art of control, thinks its dangerous and insane. Of course he would fall for a daring woman who seeks the freedom only flying in the skies can bring her.

Faith Evard is among the first female pilots. Adventurous
...more
Charity
Sep 06, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: erotica, historical
I read this book for a challenge. The purpose of the challenge was to introduce me to something out of my norm, while staying within the Erotic genre. I am an avid reader, mostly of Erotica, but I very rarely enjoy anything historical. My hang-ups in historical reading are the language and women being so fragile. I have nothing against it, but as a young modern woman, I get a little frustrated with the drawn out proper talk, when something could be said strait forward and quicker. It also rubs ...more
Rosa Sharon (iScream Books Blog)
Ever so thoroughly...
This is my first Cari Silverwood read, and it was highly entertaining. I kinda ended up reading it by accident, not realizing it was a historical. I'm a contemporary girl and would not have chosen it on purpose. Best mistake ever!!!! I loved it. I kept my girlfriends laughing with updates as I was reading. We were all amazed and intrigued by the imagination of this author. The main characters were both very strong in their own way, especially the female since it was not
...more
Becky Condit
May 29, 2012 rated it it was amazing
The ending is heart-stopping and riveting. I could not put the book down for the last 80 pages or so, not even to answer the phone or fix dinner. Who is the killer? Who is his next victim? Will the victim be rescued in time? Will Faiths airplane motor be found? Will a pilot walk away from a crash? So many things happening at once to bring this story to a dramatic conclusion. This is a plot-driven novel but the characters are fully developed, from the main characters, Leonhardt and Faith, through ...more
Piper
Nov 04, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Since I first read Agatha Christie's 'Death on the Nile' when I was a teenager, I've had a passion for Egypt, murder mysteries and the 1900-1920's.
Cari Silverwood, in writing Rough Surrender, has woven all three passions around a story of Faith's sexual awakening (and what an awakening!) via Leonhardt's skilful ministrations.
With the author's faithful descriptions of location, fashion, vehicles and aircraft of that period, and her attention to detail, you were left in no doubt you were there in
...more
Laz the Sailor
Jul 20, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: smut
This was a fun story! I liked the setting and the mystery/thriller aspects. There were little extras in the descriptions that I appreciated (the blocks of a pyramid are too tall for a short woman to climb).
I wouldn't say the sex was over the top hot, but it was intense and true to the characters. The tension from the plot made some of the scenes hotter.
NiteReader
Jun 14, 2012 marked it as dnf
Shelves: kobo, 2013-reads
DNF
I'm bored.
Life's too short...
Victoria
Jul 11, 2013 rated it really liked it
For this and other reviews please visit Zemfirka Blogs...

Because it thrills me. Because when I fly, I am truly alive. You must come up and fly sometime. Do something new in your life! I dare you, sir! Rough Surrender (Kindle Locations 602-603).

I have to admit this was my dare read, as I dont often venture into such an explicit content. Now dont take this the wrong way. I dont consider myself a prude, but historical BDSM erotica is not really on my to-read list. So, this was quite an unexpected
...more
Tabatha
Jul 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Rough Surrender was definitely an enjoyable read, but I also found it to be a breath of fresh air as well. When so many books coming out these days all seem to be so similar, the uniqueness of this book is really what made it special for me as a reader. I loved all of the historical details that the author took the time to weave into the story, and you could really tell that she put a lot of effort into it, too. Upon reading the blurb, I was fascinated by the fact that this book was taking place ...more
Leeann Barker
Jul 07, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This ebook was given to me for an honest review by
http://www.bdsmbookreviews.com/

Rough Surrender, an historical romance, set in the early 1910s, Cairo. Faith Evard is one of first female pilots in the world, strong in her beliefs, quick with her witty tongue and lives for flying her Bleriot in the skies over Egypt. Just having arrived from Paris, she is introduced to Leonhardt Meissner, an engineer working in Cairo; he is immediately enamored and enthralled by Faith. Although Faith had long
...more
Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
Kitty's review posted on Guilty Pleasures


I was a little skeptical when I read the description of this being a Historical BDSM book. Who knew that BDSM was thriving in 1910? I guess it's not something that is in the history books. But, what a surprise this book was. I was enthralled from page 1 and could not put it down until I was finished.

Rough Surrender is set in Cairo in 1910 and revolves around Leonhardt and Faith and the invention of airplanes. It involves Leonhardt's passion for Sadism,
...more
Cari Silverwood
Sep 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: bdsm, m-f, historical
NOT my review. This book is a BDSM themed erotic romance. If you are not in love with both BDSM and books where the plot revolves around love, sex and BDSM, with the suspense plot and history of secondary importance this may not be the book for you.
Reviews from sites that have not placed their reviews on Goodreads

--- ---
"From hot sex scenes to tender moments, I fell in love with this book..." Terri - Night Owl Reviews 5/5
http://erotica.nightowlreviews.com/no...

"sensual, touching,
...more
Ana♥
Sep 15, 2012 rated it liked it
So, this is pretty much my first BDSM book and I've gotta say, Cari Silverwood did not disappoint me. At least when it comes to the sezzy scenes. This book is a BDSM novel through and through, wrapped up in chains (instead of pretty ribbon) and delivered to you in all your submissive glory. We've got Faith who is an adventure seeking woman that craves that little bit of "life-on-the-edge" feel and finds herself in Leonhardts' capable hands. Leonhardt is a domineering male that allows Faith to ...more
Betsy
May 15, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This is my third Cari Silverwood book and they just keep getting better. I don't know why, but I go in expecting the usual, a thinly veiled highly erotic novel with poorly written connective tissue. Every one of Ms. Silverwood's are really well-developed stories, interesting multi-dimensional characters with realistic and refreshing interactions. Stories on their own merits which would be interesting and worthy of reflection. I enjoy erotic novels and these stories are highly charged, evocative ...more
MissyGirl
Leonhardt meets Faith, and soon discovers she has an interest in exploring her kinky side, something he is more than willing to indulge her in. Faith is a pilot, at a time when planes are still an enigma to most people. She plans on flying again in 10 days, and Leonhardt plans on using that time to make her love him, and convince her not to fly again.

Super smexy, bdsm read! Set in Egypt in 1910. I don't usually read historical, but I would recommend this book! A bit slow right at the beginning,
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Chasing Cassandra (The Ravenels, #6)
  • Tap (Lovibond, #1)
  • Southern Player (Charleston Heat, #2)
  • Sylvie: Dr. Richards’ Littles 26
  • White Out (A Bachelor Mountain Short Story)
  • Submitting to the Doctor (Cowboy Doms, #7)
  • The Darkest Hour (KGI, #1)
  • Sweet Temptation
  • The Trade
  • Heard From Me (ME Series, #3)
  • Falling Into Bed with a Duke (The Hellions of Havisham, #1)
  • Lev (Shot Callers, #1)
  • Dr. OB (St. Luke's Docuseries, #1)
  • Adore (On My Knees Duet #2)
  • Worship (On My Knees Duet, #1)
  • Epic (Him, #2.5)
  • Dr. ER (St. Luke's Docuseries, #2)
  • Breaking Perfect
See similar books…
898 followers
Cari Silverwood is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling writer of kinky darkness or sometimes of dark kinkiness, depending on her moods and the amount of time she's spent staring into the night.

When others are writing bad men doing bad things you may find her writing good men who accidentally on purpose fall into the abyss and come out with their morals twisted in knots.

email:
...more

Related Articles

Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts thro...
59 likes · 12 comments
“As she reached back for the buckle, her fingers met Mr. Meisner’s. She jumped. “I can do this... Sir.”

“Ah.” He brushed aside her fingers. “I see you’ve at least remembered the sir.”

“One always calls gentlemen that, just as you--”

With only a rustle of cloth to warn her, his teeth met in the lobe of her ear, sending a spark into her middle. Like the melt of winter snow, she felt heat pool in her lower body. Her fingers curled against her collarbone where her hands still rested either side of her neck.

“I’m not a gentleman, Faith.”
6 likes
“For the thousandth time, Faith wondered why this appealed to her. She detested letting men walk all over her, letting them think they were supreme beings. But when Mr. Meisner did all these diabolical things to her, her body fired up and wanted more.” 0 likes
More quotes…