Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Two Much!” as Want to Read:
Two Much!
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Two Much!

3.51  ·  Rating details ·  224 ratings  ·  17 reviews
A ruse to bed a pair of twins quickly grows complicated

Art doesn’t mean to tell Liz Kerwin that he has a twin. He’s on Fire Island, and she’s so beautiful that he’s willing to say anything for a chance at getting rid of her clothes. So when Liz mentions an identical twin sister, Art blurts out that he has a twin too. His name is Bart, he says, and describes the most boring
...more
ebook, 236 pages
Published October 25th 2011 by MysteriousPress.com/Open Road (first published 1975)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Two Much!, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Two Much!

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.51  · 
Rating details
 ·  224 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Two Much!
Mark
Feb 13, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
After taking 2010 off, I've decided to resume my project of reading one Westlake novel a month in 2011. I need to finish the "Parker" series and it's time to make a dent in Dortmunder. But January's entry was the "minor" stand-alone, TWO MUCH, in which a conniving and womanizing Art Dodge stumbles into the jackpot of TWINS who happen to be gorgeous, rich, and very available. His response? He invents a twin brother for himself so he can marry both of them. The first 4/5ths of this novel are utter ...more
Olethros
-Entre picarescas y bromas, delitos graves.-

Género. Novela.

Lo que nos cuenta. El libro Un gemelo singular (publicación original: Two Much, 1975) nos presenta a Art Dodge, un encantador buscavidas inmoral, dueño de una empresa de tarjetas de felicitación poco destacada, y que se acuesta con la esposa de su mejor amigo que, además, le aloja en su casa. Cuando conoce a una mujer encantadora, atractiva, heredera de una considerable fortuna y con una hermana gemela, Art considera dar vida “real” al h
...more
lärm
Apr 28, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
After struggling through Olga Tokarczuk's "Flights" I was in desperate need for something light to clear my mind. What better way than to read the exploits of a cynical sexist in the seventies.
It's interesting to see how a book that is 45 years old can be refreshing, In the ultra politically correct, post #Metoo era, where people need custom made shoes for their long toes, the story of a man pretending to be a twin in order to have sex with a real twin is like a cold IPA on a hot summer's day.
...more
Patty
Jun 30, 2009 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Hilarious story of a guy pretending to be a twin, in order to date twin sisters...!
Hans
Dec 17, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
There is a reason I've read more books by Donald Westlake than any other author, however, this book is (mostly) not that reason. Between the irritating sociopath hero and the unrepentant 1970s-era racism in chapter 38, the book just doesn't hold up very well in 2017. But even with this, we have a pile of little gems that Westlake dropped in the book along the way. I ended up flagging 14 spots in the book during my read through, here are a few random notes:

The good:
--Chapter 4 features a great ex
...more
njpolizzi
Nov 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Con su característica mezcla de humor y relato policial, Westlake desarrolla una novela ingeniosa, divertida y entretenida.

Muy buen libro para pasar un buen rato, sin demasiadas complicaciones, y que se lee con facilidad.

Una trama donde las circunstancias que bordean el absurdo son el condimento permanente, y donde todos los personajes principales desarrollan su propio juego de intrigas, en un improbable esquema de gemelos idénticos.

Un imperdible para los seguidores de este particular y prolífi
...more
Diogenes
An ironic, twisted, multiple murder tale. The protagonist is a selfish, scheming, and totally politically incorrect villain named Art Dodge, (a 21st century Artful Dodger?).

For fans of Westlake's Dortmunder or Parker tales, this is a quite a change of pace. Different, but still very satisfying.

John
Not top notch Westlake, maybe because there is not one likable character, still the author's wit and style is clearly visible.
Brooks Jones
Dec 12, 2012 rated it it was ok
This is the first Westlake book I can't recommend. While sprinkled liberally with the biting Westlake wit, the main character is too much of a sleazy jerk for readers to care about what happens to him. The very definition of a unrepentant skirt-chaser, Art Dodge is more of a cartoon you might see in Playboy magazine, not as interesting as the protagonists Westlake usually creates. The truth is, Westlake is funnier when he paints hapless Everyman schmucks getting into trouble, instead of the prof ...more
Herb
Aug 02, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I would have given this 4 stars because I really enjoyed it. However, I took off a star due to numerous spelling and punctuation errors throughout the Kindle version of the book. There seemed to be at least one error on every page. It's a great book that could have used a great editor.
Ladiibbug
Orig. published in 1975, this is still a fun read. A down on his luck greeting card publisher pretends to be twins to date twin heiresses he meets.

Westlake's always funny. I was shocked at the number of racial slurs (toward several minorities). Yikes :-(
Denise M.
Sep 14, 2009 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
AKA: Alan Marshall, Alan Marsh, James Blue, Ben Christopher, Edwin West, John B. Allan, Curt Clark, Tucker Coe, P.N. Castor, Timothy J. Culver, J. Morgan Cunningham, Samuel Holt, Judson Jack Carmichael, Richard Stark, Donald E. Westlake
Tayler K
Jul 16, 2015 marked it as just-the-cover  ·  review of another edition
I don't actually have any plans to read this, but we got it as a donation at the library and I've never seen a velvet flocked book cover before... So I had to shelve this for posterity.
Maddy
May 23, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2001-reads
RATING: 3.25
Ginger Heskett
I registered a book at BookCrossing.com!
http://www.BookCrossing.com/journal/14345473
...more
Darryl Saunders
Jun 22, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The first line of the book hooked me "It started out innocently enough, I wanted to get laid". For a 17 year old high school senior, how could it not?
Lois
rated it it was amazing
Jul 05, 2012
Charles Hankins
rated it liked it
Oct 07, 2018
Vesna Denić
rated it really liked it
Jan 27, 2019
Peter Herman
rated it really liked it
Jan 09, 2017
Gwen
rated it it was ok
Aug 16, 2012
Craig Lipke
rated it it was ok
Dec 27, 2015
Carl
rated it liked it
Sep 12, 2013
Billy Stinkwater
rated it it was ok
Sep 14, 2017
Jesse McLean
rated it liked it
Mar 26, 2014
Michael
rated it it was amazing
Nov 28, 2019
Greg Barrett
rated it it was ok
Nov 20, 2014
Harry Dykeman
rated it liked it
Jul 27, 2014
Aj
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2011
Ollie
rated it really liked it
Aug 10, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Web of Murder
  • Dead Men's Trousers
  • Then We Came to the End
  • Saturday Night: A Backstage History of Saturday Night Live
  • Live from New York: An Oral History of Saturday Night Live
  • Candy
  • DECKER: CLASSIFIED
  • Personal Days
  • Low Moon
  • Hey, Wait...
  • Lost Cat
  • Shortcomings
  • Photographing the Dead (Nameless #2)
  • The Praying Mantis Bride (Nameless #3)
  • Red Rain (Nameless #4)
  • Funny, You Don't Look Autistic: A Comedian's Guide to Life on the Spectrum
  • The Will to Kill (Mike Hammer, #23)
  • The Goliath Bone
See similar books…
613 followers
Donald E. Westlake (1933-2008) was one of the most prolific and talented authors of American crime fiction. He began his career in the late 1950's, churning out novels for pulp houses—often writing as many as four novels a year under various pseudonyms such as Richard Stark—but soon began publishing under his own name. His most well-known characters were John Dortmunder, an unlucky thief, and a ru ...more

Related Articles

  Dean Koontz has been a long-time master of the suspense, with his bestselling Odd Thomas and Jane Hawk series as well as his many standalone h...
38 likes · 24 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Nobody gets everything in this life. You decide your priorities and you make your choices. I'd decided long ago that any cake I had would be eaten.” 2611 likes
“I am cuckolding myself” 1 likes
More quotes…