Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Finn's Fate” as Want to Read:
Finn's Fate
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Finn's Fate

(Finn's Legacy #1)

by
3.95  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  12 reviews
An exhilarating Norse saga, 'Finn's Fate' plunges the reader into the violent world of the 10th century AD, in which base survival overrides all other human desires. After a fire ruins their homestead, Finn and his brothers set out on a dangerous journey in search of adventure and a better life.
Hardcover, 312 pages
Published March 29th 2012 by Book Guild Limited
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Finn's Fate, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Finn's Fate

The Last Kingdom by Bernard CornwellThe Pale Horseman by Bernard CornwellLords of the North by Bernard CornwellThe Burning Land by Bernard CornwellSword Song by Bernard Cornwell
Viking Historical Fiction
126 books — 230 voters
The Last Kingdom by Bernard CornwellThe Pale Horseman by Bernard CornwellLords of the North by Bernard CornwellThe Long Ships by Frans G. BengtssonThe Battle for Skandia by John Flanagan
Vikings
113 books — 142 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.95  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Finn's Fate
Andy
Jan 14, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: hist-f-dark-ages
It was ok, certainly not a read I would want to endure again.

Opening few chapters I really liked in that we're introduced to Finn & his family & then his mothers extended family through the Sami tribe AND then well..... it all got a bit basic in terms of they did this, they went there, this happened, then that happened.

The story was told as a Viking Odyssey, an old saga relayed back by the author & it didn’t really grip me, with very little character development & any adventures were cut short &
...more
Inger Lindstrand
Mar 14, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Finn´s fate is the author´s first novel. It relates the story of three
brothers who leave Lapland, the land of the Sami, to find their fortunes.
Their travels develop into an adventurous Viking journey. We follow the
brother´s struggle for survival and get an interesting insight into the
rigours of life at that time. The author is a knowledgeable sailor and
incorporates much authentic historical detail in a skilful way. The
rough ways of the Vikings and their actions grip the reader´s attention
throug
...more
Anna
Mar 04, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I really really enjoyed this book. As an historical mystery adventure it has everything I was looking for in a book. To top it off I found myself learning things about a period of history I knew very little about. It has clearly been really well researched but doesn't feel like a lecture. The book is about all the characters and you just get drawn into their lives and into the time and place that they lived. I stayed up far too late to finish it which is always a good sign.

I absolutely recommend
...more
Debbie Thurlo
Mar 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: giveaways
I received this book free from a GoodReads First Read giveaway and I'm really happy that I did. There's no doubt about the amount of research that went into the writing of this book. There are many historical facts woven into the tale of Finn and his brothers. I was instantly captivated by the description of Finn's family and their way of life. The characters came alive and I felt as though I was experiencing their journey right along with them. Finn's Fate is very well written. It was a pleasur ...more
Tasha
May 08, 2012 rated it it was amazing
First of all I love the cover. I have a bit of a nautical obsession so putting a ship on the cover will always pique my interest. This book exceeded my expectations. It is a classic hero takes a journey in the form of a viking saga. A blend of fact and fiction with a lot of historical detail. I was educated and entertained at the same time. I found the story exciting and touching. I highly recommend it and look forward to more novels by Michael Wills.
Robin Carter
May 04, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I have to say that I bought this book because I was in a Viking mood, i was riding the crest of the Raven (Giles Kristian) wave, having read the Raven series for the second time, I wanted more Viking exploits, I had already read the oathsworn (Rob Low) twice I wanted something new.

I saw this book and despite the bloody awful cover I was intrigued. (seriously who ever came up with that cover wants shooting... it does nothing to pull in the casual or new reader). Just look at some of the great cov
...more
Anna Belfrage
Nov 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Finn’s Fate is a story constructed like one of the old Norse sagas – intrepid heroes, a series of adventures, and, ultimately, a price to pay. It starts in the far, far north, where calamity strikes a small family one very cold winter night, leaving their little settlement in ashes.
There is nothing to do but to abandon their home and try to find shelter elsewhere. The family’s three sons, however, decide that now is a good time for them to leave altogether, all of them eager for adventure far aw
...more
Lalune
May 13, 2012 rated it really liked it
First of all I'd like to say that I very much like the cover of the book. I got "Finn's Fate" as a Goodreads giveaway and was positively surprised when I opened my package with the book inside. The cover really made me interested in the story, much more than the description on the back.
Once I started reading I got into the story very fast, the characters became alive and I wanted to know how the journey of the three brothers continues. The style of writing was for me quite unusual, with short di
...more
Anne
Mar 22, 2012 rated it liked it
I recommended this book to book club based on the number of 5-star ratings it received. I was very disappointed in the book. I liked it, but it was nothing special.
Bill
Sep 21, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A fascinating blend of history and speculative fiction. This was the first work I read on a Kindle; I was concerned that might affect my enjoyment of the book but it didn't. The text as well as maps and glossary were all appreciated and easily understood. I enjoyed reading about places whose names I'm familiar with today as they were then. There seemed to also be no sugarcoating of some of the more grim aspects of life as it must have been then. I admit when I thought of Vikings in their ships a ...more
Megan
Dec 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing
A simple tale, told with an absolute wealth of detail about Viking life. Fascinating. It'd be a good book to read aloud - although not to children.
Peter Haverty
May 23, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book (and its cover), a great read,I was gripped from start to finish. I will think about this story a fair bit in years to come and highly recommend it toall
Kiffayat
rated it it was amazing
Jul 06, 2012
Wendy Worley
rated it liked it
Sep 27, 2017
Henrik
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2018
Brett
rated it liked it
Aug 26, 2018
Farah Mahadin
rated it liked it
Jan 22, 2013
Rhonda
rated it liked it
Nov 19, 2015
Gadaire
rated it really liked it
Aug 27, 2019
Ronald A. Ronning
rated it it was amazing
Nov 27, 2016
Sheila Walker
rated it it was amazing
Mar 13, 2016
Sandra
rated it liked it
Apr 30, 2012
Thomas
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2017
Jim
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2014
Charles Orfang
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2019
Albert Sharp
rated it really liked it
Aug 24, 2012
Madison N. Baumholser
rated it it was amazing
Dec 15, 2017
Cj
rated it liked it
Mar 04, 2017
Peter Waller
rated it liked it
Sep 18, 2016
Troy West
rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Assassin's Quest (Farseer Trilogy, #3)
  • Royal Assassin (Farseer Trilogy, #2)
  • Viking Warrior (The Strongbow Saga, #1)
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)
  • Lafayette
  • The Way of Shadows (Night Angel, #1)
  • The Sea Road
  • King's Man (Viking, #3)
  • The Last English King
  • Good King Harry
  • The Bruce Trilogy: The Steps to the Empty Throne / The Path of the Hero King / The Price of the King's Peace (Robert the Bruce, #1-3)
  • An Ancient Evil (Stories told on Pilgrimage from London to Canterbury, #1)
  • Legacy
  • The Tainted Relic (The Medieval Murderers, #1)
  • Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #1)
  • The Crown Conspiracy (The Riyria Revelations, #1)
  • The Red Knight (The Traitor Son Cycle, #1)
  • When Christ and His Saints Slept  (Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine, #1)
See similar books…
42 followers
I was born on the Isle of Wight and after attending school there, I trained to be a teacher. I worked for two years in a secondary school in Kent before re-training to teach English as a Foreign Language. After a career in education both in UK and in Europe, I now have time to write about things which fascinate me, and foremost among my many interests is history. I like to tell stories about ordin ...more

Other books in the series

Finn's Legacy (2 books)
  • Three Kings - One Throne

Related Articles

Philippa Gregory is best known for reimagining the lives of famous royal women in bestselling novels, including The Other Boleyn...
68 likes · 27 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »