Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)” as Want to Read:
Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mystic City (Mystic City #1)

3.76  ·  Rating details ·  9,971 Ratings  ·  1,289 Reviews
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The u
...more
ebook, 282 pages
Published October 9th 2012 by Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mystic City, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mystic City

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Khanh (the meanie)
I’m engaged to Thomas and yet I let another boy kiss me. And I kissed him back. The worst part? He’s not even a regular boy—he’s a rebel mystic!
Oh no! Of all the people suffering in the world, all the injustice going on in the Depths of futuristic Manhattan, THIS. IS. THE. WORST. THING. EVER!



That's great. That's wonderful. Good for you, sweetie. I just don't want your sort in a sci-fi/dystopian novel. Get the fuck outta here.

This book has

1. A weak, spoiled, wealthy TSTL socialite heroine whose
...more
Lilian
Nov 22, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I need to stop being lured in by blurbs that mention The Hunger Games and sparkly covers (though it is one of most enchanting covers I've seen in a while.) A much more accurate blurb would be: a Romeo and Juliet retelling with magical people who are nowhere as cool as X-men. I didn't go into this book with high expectations, but I was expecting a lot more action (that wasn't made up of aimless running around) and a lot less love proclamations. In the end, I couldn't get past the extremely predic ...more
Bonnie
Jul 04, 2012 marked it as dnf
DNF - No rating

Boring and predictable and I have far better books to be spending my time reading.
Insta-love and love triangles... I've developed a zero tolerance policy and I can't stand for the bullshit.
I tried! But no. Just... sorry, but no.
oliviasbooks
Jan 13, 2012 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Awaken (Kacvinsky), Blue Bloods (de la Cruz) and maybe Gossip Girl (von Ziegesar)
I would shelve Theo Lawrence’s young adult debut Mystic City as Futuristic Romantasy, if I had to be precise. It takes place in a future, but alternative version of Manhattan. The plot relies heavily on its fantastic elements, namely on the existence of Mystics, who are people who have magic, which is used as energy, as the stuff which makes skyscrapers float high above the flooded landscape with its crumbling, moldy buildings, and as the basic ingredient of a wonder drug called Stic. And the st ...more
Amelie
ZUR AUFMACHUNG


Ja, was soll man dazu sagen außer PERFEKT?! Selbst der typisch deutsche Beititel macht wirklich SINN und ich bin einfach nur noch immer total begeistert von diesem Cover mit Aria und Manhatten im Hintergrund.

ZUM BUCH


Meine Erwartungen waren hoch. Eigentlich zu hoch, wenn man bedenkt wie häufig ein schönes Cover und eine schöne Kurzbeschreibung auch das einzig schöne sind, das ein Buch besitzt. Und dieses Buch hier wollte ich von dem Augenblick an haben, als ich Cover und Kurzbeschre
...more
Emmeline Kazan
Amnesia. Tragedy. Tampered memories. Political ruses. Controlling and manipulative parents who treat their daughter as an asset to be traded to the most profitable buyer.

This book is... interesting? Not really in terms of the plot itself, but more the author's goals. Lawrence was attempting to create an original plot by twisting the storyline all over the place. And an alarming majority of these twists were extremely predictable, and foreshadowing was prevalent throughout the ENTIRE book.

Lack o
...more
✍Neyla Kunta ✍
Ich habe dieses Buch verschlungen. Immer wenn ich im Championselect, im Loadingscreen oder sonst wo warten musste & natürlich wenn ich nicht am PC war. Jetzt kann ich endlich Essen :DD
Dark Faerie Tales
Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales

Quick & Dirty: A girl tries to move on with her life after losing her memory, but moving on means being a puppet in a political race with her parents.

Opening Sentence: The party has begun without me.

The Review:

Aria knows she loves Thomas Foster. At least that’s what everyone is telling her. Loving someone with no memory of ever meeting them can be pretty tough, even if she does have flashes of memories — sneaking out late at night, meeting in the ghetto a
...more
Denise Bücherwunderland
3.5 - 4 ⭐ (ich kann mich nicht entscheiden 😂)

Vorneweg
Ich habe diese Reihe bei Thalia für 5.99 € pro Band gekauft 😁. Keine Ahnung, ob ich die Bücher sonst gekauft hätte, aber bisher bereue ich es nicht 🤓🙊.

Meine Meinung
Ehrlich gesagt hatte ich eine reine Fantasy Geschichte erwartet, aber ich würde Mystic City eher als Dystopie mit Urban Fantasy Elementen einstufen.

Mit dem Einstieg hatte ich so meine Probleme, da erstmal nicht viel geschieht. Die Protagonistin Aria hat einen Teil ihrer Erinnerun
...more
Jessica (Goldenfurpro)
This and other reviews can be found on The Psychotic Nerd

MY THOUGHTS
I've been wanting to read this book for awhile, so I felt like I hit the jackpot when I found this book and it's sequel at my local used bookstore! Overall, this book did not disappoint!

This book take place in a futuristic/dystopian New York City. There are two ruling families, the Roses and the Fosters, and everyone in the city has to choose sides between them. Aria has just 'recovered' after ODing off of Stix (a drug) and is
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Ashes of Twilight (Ashes Trilogy, #1)
  • Midnight City (Conquered Earth, #1)
  • Dark Star (Dark Star, #1)
  • Skylark (Skylark, #1)
  • After Dark (The 19th Year, #1)
  • Chosen Ones (The Lost Souls, #1)
  • Velveteen
  • Valkyrie Rising (Valkyrie, #1)
  • Black City (Black City, #1)
  • Ironskin (Ironskin, #1)
  • The Shadow Society  (The Shadow Society #1)
  • Gravity (The Taking, #1)
  • Blind Spot
  • Beta (Annex, #1)
  • Shadows Cast By Stars
  • The Suburban Strange
  • Yesterday (Yesterday #1)
  • Renegade (The Elysium Chronicles, #1)
5444795
THEO LAWRENCE is a graduate of Columbia University and the Juilliard School. A Presidential Scholar in the Arts for Voice, he has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Off-Broadway.
More about Theo Lawrence...

Other Books in the Series

Mystic City (3 books)
  • Toxic Heart (Mystic City, #2)
  • Body Electric (Mystic City, #3)
“I always knew this story would break my heart” 80 likes
“Your mother stands against everything my parents believe in," I say. "But I'm not my parents."
"Aria," Hunter whispers into my ear.
"Yes?"
"Just kiss me."
We press our lips together gentle, and it's like I am alive, on fire, like I can do anything in the world. I know this because he's a mystic, but there's something more familiar, something safe and sexy and irresistible about the way his lips feel, his tongue brushing lightly against mine. Our passion is like what's described in my love letters: it's like coming home, finally, when I never even knew I'd been away.”
35 likes
More quotes…