Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dialogo sopra i due massimi sistemi del mondo” as Want to Read:
Dialogo sopra i due massimi sistemi del mondo
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dialogo sopra i due massimi sistemi del mondo

4.08  ·  Rating details ·  1,183 ratings  ·  52 reviews
907 pages
Published 2008 by Biblioteca Universale Rizzoli (first published 1632)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.08  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,183 ratings  ·  52 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Roy Lotz
I should think that anyone who considered it more reasonable for the whole universe to move in order to let the earth remain fixed would be more irrational than one who should climb to the top of your cupola just to get a view of the city and its environs, and then demand that the whole countryside should revolve around him so that he would not have to take the trouble to turn his head.

It often seems hard to justify reading old works of science. After all, science continually advances; pioneer
...more
Manny
Jul 07, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Anyone seriously interested in the history of science
Recommended to Manny by: Bertrand Russell, A.D. White, David Wallace and others
[A pleasant Venetian villa; through the open window, we see tourists photographing each other with their iPads while gondolas traverse a canal in the background. SALVIATI effusively greets his guests, SAGREDO and SIMPLICIO]

SALVIATI: Welcome, dear friends, and many thanks for answering my urgent convocation! It is my earnest wish that we now devote some hours to mutual discussion, as we have so often done before, but this time on a different topic: to wit, that book written by Galileo in 1629, wh
...more
Alp Turgut
Copernicus’in "Göksel Kürelerin Devinimleri Üzerine" adlı eserindeki Güneş sistemini kanıtlarla gerçeğe dönüştüren Gelileo’nun "İki Büyük Dünya Sistemi Hakkında Diyalog / Dialogues Concerning Two New Sciences / Dialogo sopra i due massimi sistemi del mondo" kitabı her açıdan Copernicus’un eserinin çok ötesinde. Öncelikle fikirlerini Sokratik diyalogları andıran diyaloglarla okuyucuya sunan Galileo, Copernicus aksine eseri sadece teknik bir eser olmaktan uzaklaştırarak tüm okuyucu kitlesinin yara ...more
Gary  Beauregard Bottomley
The end of Scholasticism starts with this book. The Aristotelian thought (or as the book usually calls them The Peripatetics) and its appeal to authority and the appearance of the phenomena as truth are overturned. Sometimes what we see (such as the sun rising in the east) is not what is.

I loved the way Galileo uses the Aristotelian logic to poke holes in the Ptolemaic science (particularly, using proof by contradiction). Often in the other books I've read they'll make a statement such that Gal
...more
Jonathan
Mar 18, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Why hadn't I read this book before? Not just one of the greatest texts in the history of science but fabulously written and entertaining as a dialogue. We hear about Galileo in high school, but that isn't like getting it right from the source.
Pandiya
Aug 22, 2012 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
I have read only first ten pages of the book.
Xander
Nov 17, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read parts of this book in 2016, when I was self-studying physics. I used a textbook that often referred to the main historical works of figures like Copernicus, Kepler and Galilei, and I thought it interesting to read (parts of) these references as well.

I found Galilei's books surprisingly accessible and fun to read. Works of Copernicus and Kepler are hard to read for modern day readers due to the heavy use of outdated and complex mathematics. Galileo uses the form of a dialogue to bring his
...more
David
Jan 22, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Two New Sciences is definitely a unique physical treatise in that it is written as a Platonic style dialogue. As the title suggests, the dialogue serves to highlight a shift in thought and the format does prove suitable to allow ideas and opinions to clash freely. Simplicio is the clear-cut Aristotelian of the group. Sagredo and Salviati seem like mouthpieces for conflicting ideas with which Galileo himself had to reckon to arrive at his conclusions which are given in the text written by the "Ac ...more
Mark Woodland
Jul 28, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is still a fascinating read over 400 years later. They don't write them like this anymore; the classic "dialogue" format that one finds in classic writings such as those by Plato was not in general use. However, given the clash between the two dominant models of the order of the universe at the time, it was a perfect choice, and well "argued" on each side. Of course, the Copernican system was proved out, but the process by which it was done is an excellent example of the use of logic, and t ...more
Brian Maicke
May 25, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a great book to start with for those interested in the scientific classics. Written as a dialogue and in the vernacular rather than Latin, Dialogues is a much more accessible read than the Copernicus text I started with. There is still a bit of geometry that may be off putting to some readers, but even those without a science background should be able to follow the discussion if they have an interest.
Khalil
Jul 05, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
According to Socrates Everybody can grasp philosophical truths if they just use their innate reason , and that is what Galileo " tried " to do with Simplicio , he ( Galileo ) worked exactly like Socrates ( and his mother before him ) as a midwife , and tried to give birth to Simplicio`s reason in time which scriptures was sacred and reason was forbidden .
...more
James Violand
May 20, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Anyone.
Shelves: own
Believe it or not, I found this to be one of the most interesting books I have ever read. Easily understood, it is a seminal work in the history of science. Excellent.
Andreas Schmidt
Come vincere una guerra che probabilmente è già vinta?
Il testo di Galilei è un capolavoro di sfottimento, al contempo scientifico e paziente. Pur ovvio il fatto che dato il periodo della sua vita, l'informazione scientifica circolava molto lentamente (qui, due minuti dopo l'esperimento scientifico è già su 47 blog), il testo del Galilei rimane una lunga diatriba di confutazione della scienza aristotelica. Il problema di per sé è, che trattavasi di una guerra già vinta, visto che il suo discorso
...more
Myat Thura Aung
Jul 26, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Needless to say, this book is of such great importance to the history of science and to the scientific literature.Galileo is smart enough to write it in the form of a dialogue so that the book is a bit entertaining and accessible to a layman person (despite containing a little geometry).The silly arguments of the character Simplicio and the satirical remarks of Sagredo are quite amusing at times.To learn Galileo's arguments alone is worth enough to give it a shot.So I'd recommend this to anyone ...more
Ivan Savić
Dec 31, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Zanimljivo je da se vidi kako su ljudi razmišljali o nekim prirodnim pojavama i kako su ih objašnjavali pre 4 veka. Pisano je zanimljivo kao dijalog 3 čoveka među kojima nije Galilej, i vrlo je čitko za razliku od nekih knjiga iz filozofije, ali je to i možda loša strana jer nemaš osećaj da ti se Galilej obraća, nego je još malo kao da čitaš fikciju. U svakom slučaju zanimljivo za čitanje onom ko se interesuje za istoriju nauke.
Petra Hermans
May 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I believe in a new kind of science, every time an old religion
has been overcome.
Asanka
Feb 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
In the year 1632, Galileo Galilei wrote this book called "Dialogue", arguing that the Earth rotates around the Sun instead of the vice versa as described in religious scriptures. Within a year, his book was banned and Galileo was kept under house arrest till his death in 1642.


"Take note, theologians, that in your desire to make matters of faith out of propositions relating to the fixity of sun and earth, you run the risk of eventually having to condemn as heretics those who would declare the ear
...more
Sid Nuncius
Oct 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It's not the most alluring of titles, I admit, and even though most people have heard of Galileo and many know enough of his achievements to admire him, I suspect few people would consider reading a book by him. However, I urge you very strongly to buy this book and at least give it a try. It's a wonderful work, full of fascinating and brilliant insights and Stillman Drake's superlative translation makes it extremely readable. It gives a fascinating insight into what Galileo *really* did to anno ...more
Matt
Jul 22, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Salviati, Sagredo and Simplicio serve as Galileo’s vehicles to discuss the conflict between the Ptolemic/ Aristotelian universe and the Copernican. Separated into discussions over four days, Salviati is Galileo’s proxy as he disassembles Simplicio’s geocentrism to win over the undecided Sagredo.

The first day is a lively debate which sets the stage for the intellectual battle between established “scientific” belief and the persuasiveness of observable and geometric facts. With only polite restra
...more
Sean
Oct 06, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
For genius level of thought and scientific practice, this is obviously five stars. I give it four only because for a modern reader, it does go on a bit. Despite that, it's very readable for a 400 year old book. And the length is interesting because it's caused by the extensive nature of the arguments Galileo had to make to convince people of this crazy proposition that the Earth moves. Though not an idea original to Galileo, even in his time it was not something people believed. Galileo used act ...more
Autumn Kotsiuba
Mar 11, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: nonfiction
These sort of books are a bit tricky for me. On one hand, I ask myself how the ancients--or even those in Galilei's time--could believe that the earth was the center of the universe. But that wondering quickly ceases when I realize how little I understand. I mean, when I read Galilei, or Turing, or Einstein, I wonder how on earth I'll contribute anything to the human race when I've spent my life thus far just trying to wrap my head around what we've already learned. And anyways, I'm sure people ...more
JP
May 18, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A review of all of the learning of his youth, he writes this as a dialogue between three scientific explorers playing the role of teacher, experimenter, and student. He covers a lot of content in relatively few pages. More than anything else here, we see the process of the curious mind discovering physical truth incrementally through experimentation. Consider the humorous example of he and his friend convincing themselves that light probably is instantaneous as a result of their distant lantern ...more
Hangci Du
总评:

原书成书于1638年。(牛顿作品之前五十年)
读这本书的缘起,是想要寻找牛顿“力”“惯性”观念的源头,但略失望,伽利略并没有明晰地指出这些概念。伽利略最大的功绩,是首次研究了运动学的规律,然而对于“力”在运动中的应用则很少,也没有明确指明。因此还需要读更多资料研究牛顿“力的加速度表述”的观念源头。
在山西科学技术出版社的《科学名著赏析 物理卷》中我明白,这里的“两种信科学”指的是材料力学和动力学。“伽利略是用力的观念研究运动的第一人,是动力学的奠基人”(拉格朗日《分析力学》)。本书写于伽利略去世前,是伽利略一生研究的集大成。体裁是三人四天的对话(与其之前的作品《托勒密哥白尼对话》是相同体裁)。这种体裁的缺点就是不够明朗啊~
伽利略科学观受到三大思想影响:亚里士多德的思辨,欧几里得的几何,阿基米德的静力学。
按照《赏析》,本书四天的内容分为:
第一日,固体对断裂抵抗的讨论;(这是工程上的静力学嘛)
第二日:内聚力的原因
第三日:运动的讨论、均匀运动、自然加速运动
第四日:强迫运动和抛体
(第三第四日所讨论是我所感兴趣的(分别是运动学和动力学r),一二日所讨论的均是来自工程学的静力
...more
Zach
Sep 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science, classics
Galileo is brilliant and surprisingly clear in his exposition of the Copernican system against the Aristotelian/Ptolemaic. The dialogue form suits the discussion well - Salviati makes some impressive deduction, Sagredo exclaims how impressive it is and adds his own thoughts, and Simplicio quotes Aristotle. That's a bit harsh to Simplicio - Galileo goes out of his way to introduce a ton of objections to his/Salviati's theories, which are duly refuted by Salviati. Sagredo also brings a nice practi ...more
S
Mar 08, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Pisa 15 February 1564 – 8 January 1642 Florence (Arcetri)
1632

Stillman Drake, trans.
Albert Einstein, introduction
Stephen Jay Gould, series ed.

Those that deny the motion of the earth would point out that birds could not keep up with 24 hours of flying so fast, and would look as if they were rapidly being carried westward.
To reiterate, when we travel on horseback, we feel a wind against our face: what a wind we would feel if we were being borne in such rapid course (earth must complete revolution i
...more
Jeremy
Feb 17, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-writing
Galileo is a seriously good writer, he's got a great sense of rhythm and the imagery he employs to get his points across about everything from how logic works, to what happens when a canon is fired, are brilliant. The dialogue format also works really well here, its actually really refreshing to see several different voices working through a series of problems instead of just reading one long, bloated tract. Best of all, he attacks intellectual dogmatism head on, and makes the case that when a s ...more
Steve
Oct 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a great translation, well annotated by the translator with historical contexts and explanations of asides the participants in the dialogues make to one another in reference to current events and debates. It also has a thought-provoking forward by Albert Einstein, and a luminous Introduction by Dava Sobel.

I've told most people who ask that the most difficult thing for me to do, reading this, was forget how much more I know than even Galileo did. I think of this book as one of the earliest
...more
David
Apr 14, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fairly slow going, but it's fascinating to watch an early 17th-century natural philosopher work through an explanation of (what we would now call) gravitation without recourse to calculus or decimal fractions, with no finer measurement of time than the human heartbeat. Galileo's thought experiments work equally well as powerful mental images; his best is the traveler on a boat belowdecks.

In this edition, the note to p. 360 explains an ingenious thumb-operatoed water clock that he devised to meas
...more
Han beng Koe
Feb 19, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A very good book written by the "father of modern physics" which clearly shows how brilliant Galileo not only in his knowledge and importantly how he conveyed his idea to the reader, even Einstein wrote a foreword for this masterpiece by Galileo!

It is not a very heavy material although some thinking is still needed, but all the argument is written beautifully and easy to understand.

I recommend this book to everyone (in fact to every scientist!) who is interested how does the modern science kind
...more
Dayla
It took me forever...to finally sit down and read this book, but I was so happy once I understood the format and the topic of discussion. I learned so much, especially about movements of the sun verified by sun spots and completely different movements of the moon, whose front side is all those on earth can see.

Very interesting process of using a dialogue to voice the opinions of the skeptic as well.

« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
About TIME! 1 2 Feb 17, 2013 10:50PM  
  • On the Revolutions of Heavenly Spheres
  • Epitome of Copernican Astronomy and Harmonies of the World
  • Ptolemy's Almagest
  • Elements of Chemistry
  • Opticks
  • Experiments in Plant Hybridisation
  • On the Motion of the Heart and Blood in Animals
  • The New Organon
  • The Copernican Revolution: Planetary Astronomy in the Development of Western Thought
  • Euclid's Elements
  • The Geometry of René Descartes: with a Facsimile of the First Edition
  • The Works of Archimedes
  • Records of the Grand Historian: Qin Dynasty
  • Proslogion
  • A Chemical History of a Candle
  • Hippocratic Writings
  • Science and the Modern World
  • The Many Worlds of Hugh Everett III: Multiple Universes, Mutual Assured Destruction, and the Meltdown of a Nuclear Family
292 followers
Galileo Galilei was a Tuscan (Italian) physicist, mathematician, astronomer, and philosopher who played a major role in the Scientific Revolution. His achievements include improvements to the telescope and consequent astronomical observations, and support for Copernicanism. Galileo has been called the "father of modern observational astronomy", the "father of modern physics", the "father of scienc ...more
“To our natural and human reason, I say that these terms ‘large,’ ‘small,’ ‘immense,’ ‘minute,’ etc. are not absolute but relative; the same thing in comparison with various others may be called at one time ‘immense’ and at another ‘imperceptible.” 10 likes
“After an injunction had been judicially intimated to me by this Holy Office, to the effect that I must altogether abandon the false opinion that the sun is the center of the world and immovable, and that the earth is not the center of the world, and moves, and that I must not hold, defend, or teach in any way whatsoever, verbally or in writing, the said false doctrine, and after it had been notified to me that the said doctrine was contrary to Holy Scripture — I wrote and printed a book in which I discuss this new doctrine already condemned, and adduce arguments of great cogency in its favor, without presenting any solution of these, and for this reason I have been pronounced by the Holy Office to be vehemently suspected of heresy, that is to say, of having held and believed that the Sun is the center of the world and immovable, and that the earth is not the center and moves:

Therefore, desiring to remove from the minds of your Eminences, and of all faithful Christians, this vehement suspicion, justly conceived against me, with sincere heart and unfeigned faith I abjure, curse, and detest the aforesaid errors and heresies, and generally every other error, heresy, and sect whatsoever contrary to the said Holy Church, and I swear that in the future I will never again say or assert, verbally or in writing, anything that might furnish occasion for a similar suspicion regarding me; but that should I know any heretic, or person suspected of heresy, I will denounce him to this Holy Office, or to the Inquisitor or Ordinary of the place where I may be. Further, I swear and promise to fulfill and observe in their integrity all penances that have been, or that shall be, imposed upon me by this Holy Office. And, in the event of my contravening, any of these my promises and oaths, I submit myself to all the pains and penalties imposed and promulgated in the sacred canons and other constitutions, general and particular, against such delinquents.”
10 likes
More quotes…