Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Synthetic Dreams” as Want to Read:
Synthetic Dreams
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Synthetic Dreams

by
3.8  ·  Rating details ·  60 Ratings  ·  20 Reviews

Vynessa Somerton was just a girl when she learned about true evil. An encounter with the tyrannical Corporation scarred her body and exiled her to the crime-ridden S-District. Now an adult, Vyn creates glamours, worn by those who visit a virtual playground to live synthetic dreams. She's tried to stay unnoticed by the Corporation, but her latest invention has brought their

...more
ebook, 110 pages
Published (first published February 1st 2012)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Synthetic Dreams, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Synthetic Dreams

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Marlene
Feb 27, 2012 rated it really liked it
See all my reviews at http://www.readingreality.net/
If there are no such things as demons, which is something that the main character states unequivocally in Kim Knox' new cyberpunk science fiction romance thriller, Synthetic Dreams, then why are the hackers named after the Celtic demons of yore, the Fomorians?

But the real demon is Ouroboros. The worm of legend that eats his own tail. Confused? So was I--for a bit.

Synthetic Dreams paints a fascinating picture of a future world where the rich and
...more
E_bookpushers
Review originally posted at: http://thebookpushers.com/2012/02/28/...

Publisher: Carina Press
Publish Date: Out now
How I got this book: From the Publisher via Netgalley

Vynessa Somerton was just a girl when she learned about true evil. An encounter with the tyrannical Corporation scarred her body and exiled her to the crime-ridden S-District. Now an adult, Vyn creates glamours, worn by those who visit a virtual playground to live synthetic dreams. She’s tried to stay unnoticed by the Corporation, b
...more
Diayll
Jan 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fans of Science Fiction, Futuristic, Romance Novels
Originally Reviewed at: Mother/Gamer/Writer
Rating: 5 out of 5 Controllers
Review Source: NetGalley
Reviewer: Heather


Synthetic Dreams was really a whole new genre for me. I’ve never really read science fiction type stories. In this book the author takes us to a futuristic England where residents basically lead a life in the cold world, and one within The Mind. Both worlds are ruled by the Corporation which instills rules, laws as well as unfair boundaries on its citizens.

The cold world would be muc
...more
Book Utopia
Feb 29, 2012 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jessica Strider
Feb 15, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: sf
Pros: good pacing, tense moments, intricate plot, hot romance

Cons: limited worldbuilding, stereotypical characters

Vynessa Somerton grew up in N-District, a privileged member of society, who fell from grace for selling illegal glamor. Now she lives in S-District and struggles to survive. When the government starts vanishing other highly skilled programmers, she discovers she has a protector, an incredibly handsome man, who wants her to save his brother, who vanished and was replaced 7 years earli
...more
Sobia
Feb 25, 2012 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars....okay, seriously awesome stuff here..It was just so so good!
Synthetic dreams took me completely be surprise, it's so,so far beyond what I was expecting, I'm still reeling! it's a well told engrossing read...with strong, interesting characters...


I'd have given it 5 stars but for a few things:

it's so so good, it really should have been longer, these characters, and this amazing SFR tale could have easily been at least a hundred pages longer. Add to that, the story is only told through
...more
Katie Michaels
Feb 21, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arcs, sci-fi-romance
Kim Knox has created an interesting and unique world in this sci-fi novella. In a futuristic/ alternative Britain, people spend much of their time in a virtual world. Many use glamours to enhance their looks, but the good glamours are often illegal. Vyn is badly scarred in the real world. She used her own skills to create better glamours for herself in "the Mind," but she was busted and sent to live her life in the slums.

It's been seven years since then, and now Vyn has almost perfected a new de
...more
Tammy
Feb 07, 2012 rated it it was amazing
4 1/2 Stars!! If you looked up the definition of Science-Fiction Romance, it should simply say "Kim Knox." She really delivers a creative story with extraordinary world building. This is my second story by Knox, the first being Gambit. Gambit was a completely different world from Synthetic Dreams, which totally adds to my adoration of her strong world building.

We meet Vyn in the opening scene as she is testing out a new product (a glamour) at a club making her appear as a sexy blonde. In walks o
...more
Amanda Ryan
Mar 26, 2012 rated it liked it
This is a pretty intense sci-fi novella. Vyn (short for Vynessa), is a genius at illegally manipulating high-tech glamour, techie “suits” that allow you to plug in and become anyone you want. If you have the skill, that is. When Vyn gets swept up in a quest with Paul Cross, a Corporation agent, to find and free his brother from Corporate domination, she finds herself struggling to keep it together. Things get even trickier when they both realize she holds the key to bringing down the most corrup ...more
Cecelia
Jan 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
Kim Knox’s Synthetic Dreams is set in a futuristic society where a virtual reality has supplanted the real ‘cold world.’ Glamours disguise imperfections in the dream space, if clients can afford them, and the rules of play are directed The Corporation and its corrupt First Family. Vyn is a technology-bender, dealing on the wrong side of legal work, when she becomes enmeshed in intrigue far beyond her ken – and possibly, love?

This short sci-fi tale is sophisticated and well-written. The complexit
...more
Calisto
Feb 03, 2012 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of scifi romance
Really good scifi/futuristic romance.

Vynessa is a scarred programmer who creates glamors for a virtual playground. She has just created the ultimate glamor that brings the tyrannical Corporation in charge of her world crashing to her door. Enter Paul, the Corporation man who is more than he appears to be.

I have to say that I've had really good luck with Carina Press and their scifi romances and this is a perfect example. Scifi romances need a little more than then the average romance because the
...more
Jess the Romanceaholic
This is a Quickie Review. For the full review, please visit The Romanceaholic.

Expected Release Date: February 27, 2012 (Available Now!)
Publisher: Harlequin
Imprint: Carina Press
Author’s Website: http://darknessandromance.com/
My Source for This Book: Netgalley
Part of a Series: No
Series Best Read In Order: N/A
Steam Level: Steamy

This one was a hard one for me to rate. On one hand, I absolutely adored the world that Ms. Knox has created, with both its strong emphasis on virtual reality and its gritt
...more
Ally
Mar 24, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Synthetic dreams book review March 24th 2012

When hiding your imperfections with glamour’s and dream space is the place to be …or not be is the premise of your book you know you’re struck gold. Kim Knox’s synthetic dreams is set in a futuristic world where glamour is not the stuff of Faery-tales but virtual reality and Vyn is the girl to get this awesome tech from.

The corporation and its corrupt first families set the rules and play the game, a game which Vyn used to play and still plays as this
...more
C.L. Bevill
Jun 24, 2012 rated it really liked it
Sci-fi fantasy cyber punk extravaganza. Vyn is a girl who likes to hack things but this is a brave new world and there are worlds within worlds. Think of Inception except with quirks. She runs into bad boy cop, Paul, who's been watching her and has a specific need for her. It's a novella but full of interesting concepts. I probably would have given it a 3 1/2 if I could have, but I knocked it up because the author was creative with her world building. Interesting story but published by Carina so ...more
Caro
May 01, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: sci-fi
I really liked this book. I was great. Twisting and turning, edge of your seat, keep you on your toes, fast-paced, emotional, suspenseful, a couple of steamy scenes, great characters, and the 'it can't be real' feeling. I would most definitely read this book again. I liked the sci-fi/magic feel of it and the creativity. Everything was written well and pulled me in so I could see the scenes clearly. I couldn't put it down. This is my first time reading this author and I am looking forward to read ...more
AnnaM
Feb 21, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: sfr
I'm beginning to see that I like Kim Knox's style. I've enjoyed every story she's written. This one kept me guessing, had great pacing, characters, and twists. I liked the ending and the romantic plot, as well as the action plot and the SF worldbuilding.

There is a bit of sex but it's not graphic or gratuitous. I thought this was an excellent story.
Andrea
Oct 23, 2012 rated it liked it
This could have been an awesome sci-fi or a pretty good romance. As it ended up, it was a crappy bewildering romance and a decent sci-fi story.
C.A. Szarek
May 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Haven't read something like this in a long time. I loved it. Had a great feel. Very sweet love & great sexual tension! Onto the next one...Kim Knox Rocks!
Sarah
Sep 28, 2015 rated it liked it
3.5 stars
Jazz
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2015
Marie
rated it it was amazing
Apr 22, 2012
Kellie
rated it liked it
Feb 09, 2012
Jennifer Wells
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2014
Hawk's Angel
rated it really liked it
May 02, 2012
Celestine
rated it it was ok
Oct 24, 2012
Amara
rated it liked it
Jul 23, 2014
Dana
rated it really liked it
Jun 28, 2012
Jade Zic
rated it it was ok
Jun 08, 2012
Lisa
rated it really liked it
Aug 21, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2921354
Kim lives on an ancient boundary line, once marked by a Neolithic burial tomb. The tomb’s now a standing stone circle–thank the Georgians for that one–and stirs her mind with thoughts of history and ancient myths. She mixes the essence of the past into fantasy, along with the essential mix of magic and sex. She also writes science fiction romance, pushing out into the far future with effortlessly ...more
More about Kim Knox...

Share This Book