Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Nights Gone By” as Want to Read:
Nights Gone By
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Nights Gone By

by
4.45  ·  Rating details ·  11 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
In the tradition of Hitchcock, Rod Serling, Ray Bradbury and Shirley Jackson, "Nights Gone By" is an anthology of six horror, science fiction, drama and suspense stories.

DDA // Ada Verhoeven has just graduated from a Berlin university. Now she's following her father's words of advice, getting things in order and making plans for her new life.

House Lights // Thinking he nee
...more
Kindle Edition
Published (first published November 29th 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Nights Gone By, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Nights Gone By

Community Reviews

(showing 1-20)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Darcia Helle
This diverse collection of stories takes us on journeys into the future, the past, and through present day ordeals. While each is unique, they all share Jason McIntyre's signature dark twist.

One of the things I love most about McIntyre's writing style is his ability to capture a character and a moment in vivid detail, without the weight of too many words. The emotions he stirs are often surprising, the turns he takes and the view he shows raw and real. If you're looking for something unique and
...more
Maria
Dec 28, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Dark, surreal, insightful, meticulous, fightening, compulsive, expressive -- just some of the words that can be used to describe McIntyre's writing. I thoroughly enjoyed this collection of stories. Each one is unique, but each deals with different aspects of fear. DDA begins the collection, and appears at first to be quite a light hearted read, but don't let that fool you; McIntyre is only playing with your mind. These tales are full of suspense, intrigue, terror. McIntyre lets you know what his ...more
J.H. Sked
Dec 13, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: short story lovers, anyone who likes dark fiction
Of the 6 tales in this anthology, every one of them hits Jason McIntyre's trademark of creepy, unsettled and often unexpected little stories.

DDA is more unsettling after you've finished reading than during the story itself; something I keep going back to re-read to get my mind around the concept.

House Lights is an interesting take on what might happen when you meet your old high school crush years later, and the attraction is still there.

Man with an Addiction was incredibly disturbing; the twist
...more
Cliff Townsend
Mar 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
Good stories as expected.
Maria Haskins
May 26, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I first became acquainted with Jason McIntyre’s writing in the multi-author short story anthology Triptychs where his writing hooked me on the spot – and Nights Gone By is another excellent read. Each story in this collection is a well-written, suspense-filled, and captivating tale – and each one has a twist or an edge or a gleam of darkness that got right under my skin. The genre and subject vary, from the spine-tinglingly Ray Bradbury-esque ‘DDA’ (what kind of department and application are we ...more
J. Greenwood
Sep 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing
McIntyre veers into Stephen King/Rod Serling territory in this tight collection, bringing his own fearlessly dark and sardonic tone to each story. You get caught up in each story and, if you're like me, you expect a certain climax--you even find yourself rooting for that certain ending. But then you can see McIntyre, silently shaking his head as he slams the door on you as if you were peddling happy endings door-to-door. McIntyre has no truck with that. He goes for the visceral, the vivid and th ...more
Jason McIntyre
Jan 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Trish
rated it liked it
Jul 04, 2014
Adam
rated it really liked it
Apr 22, 2012
Michael Zuffa
rated it liked it
Feb 21, 2016
Kimberly McMichael
rated it it was amazing
Oct 05, 2013
Ruth Ferguson
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2012
Blue Eyed Vixen
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2012
Anastasia
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2012
Dawna
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2012
Doreen
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2012
Barry
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2013
Susan
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2013
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
4173218
JASON MCINTYRE is the #1 Kindle Suspense author of THE NIGHT WALK MEN, bestsellers ON THE GATHERING STORM and SHED, plus the multi-layered literary suspense THALO BLUE. His short fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and won several awards.

His debut novel ON THE GATHERING STORM earned McIntyre a spot in the Top 20 Debut Authors for the Goodreads Choice Awards.

THE DEVIL'S RIGHT HAND is the lat
...more
More about Jason McIntyre...

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »