Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Hundred Verses of Advice: Tibetan Buddhist Teachings on What Matters Most” as Want to Read:
The Hundred Verses of Advice: Tibetan Buddhist Teachings on What Matters Most
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Hundred Verses of Advice: Tibetan Buddhist Teachings on What Matters Most

4.60  ·  Rating details ·  77 ratings  ·  4 reviews
This commentary on Padampa Sangye's classic verses of advise to Tibetan villagers of Tingri—by renowned and beloved meditation master Dilgo Khyentse—offers guidance for people trying to lead a dharmic life in the workaday world. These hundred verses, studied for centuries by Tibetans and students of Buddhism, contain a complete survey of the Tibetan Buddhist path. Dilgo Kh ...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published July 11th 2006 by Shambhala (first published June 1st 2000)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Hundred Verses of Advice, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Hundred Verses of Advice

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.60  · 
Rating details
 ·  77 ratings  ·  4 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Sam
Apr 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing
A brilliant thinker of our time and a teacher to His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, this is possibly the most solid reading on Buddhism I've come across, concise and shakes your core. Lifes most important lessons are crammed in here and eloquently written. I have re-read many of the chapters, some are even worth memorizing.

Khyentse gives us a simple message, tells it poetically in many different ways to sell/teach Dharma. The opening chapters focus on death, and how it's an absolute certainty. T
...more
Grace
Apr 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
I found this book while browsing through my public library in Tulsa, OK.
I would recommend this book to people who like to journal, people who like yoga, people interested in Zen, peace-building, and empathy. I used this book as a firestarter to journal my thoughts about each verse and so I worked through some things while reading this book. Highlights would be the verses that helped me think of my thoughts as clouds passing through the sky of my consciousness & the verses about self-compassi
...more
Karendawa
Nov 08, 2011 rated it it was amazing
This is a book which I read over and over again. It's easy to pick it up and read an entry as a daily practise. Each time I read it, I learn something new, about myself, and about living consciously. Highly recommend this book to both buddhists and non-buddhists.
Ron Wagner
Nov 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wisdom, Wisdom and direct advice.
Edem
rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2017
Joseph
rated it really liked it
Jul 08, 2018
Tsering
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2014
Oliver Shiflish
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2018
Elisa
rated it liked it
May 08, 2010
David
rated it it was amazing
Nov 13, 2014
Mike
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2013
John
rated it it was amazing
Aug 09, 2016
Lucas Henriksson
rated it it was amazing
Feb 23, 2014
Ramón Álvarez
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2014
Robert
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2008
Mark
rated it liked it
Nov 06, 2008
Pola_Kagyu
rated it really liked it
Feb 02, 2018
Jangchub
rated it it was amazing
Apr 09, 2019
Mateusz Parkita
rated it really liked it
Jun 26, 2015
Lutha Leahy-miller
rated it it was amazing
Apr 19, 2013
John
rated it really liked it
Apr 15, 2013
Lotus915
rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2013
Kevin
rated it it was amazing
Aug 01, 2010
Judd Evans
rated it it was amazing
Jun 12, 2018
Lance Roberts
rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2019
Salvatore
rated it it was amazing
Jul 06, 2011
C.
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2016
Anastasia
rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2017
Richard Meacham
rated it it was amazing
Aug 17, 2015
Tom
rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
39 followers
His Holiness Khyabjé Dilgo Khyentsé Rinpoché (Tib.: དིལ་མགོ་མཁྱེན་བརྩེ། Wylie: dil mgo mkhyen brtse), born Tashi Peljor (བཀྲ་ཤིས་དཔལ་འབྱོར། bkra shis dpal 'byor) and ordained a monk as Jigme Rabsel Dawa Kyenrab Tenpa Dargye (འཇིགས་མེད་ རབ་གསལ་ཟླ་བ་ མཁྱེན་རབ་ བསྟན་པ་དར་རྒྱས། 'jigs med rab gsal zla ba mkhyen rab bstan pa dar rgyas) and later Gyurme Labsum Gyeltsen (འགྱུར་མེད་ ལབ་ སུམ་ རྒྱལ་མཚན། 'gyu ...more
“Our lives have no outcome other than death, just as rivers have no end other than the ocean. At the moment of death, our only recourse is spiritual practice, and our only friends the virtuous actions we have accomplished during our lifetime.” 9 likes
“Seeing the world with all the unspoiled simplicity of a young child, you are free from concepts of beauty and ugliness, good and evil, and no longer fall prey to conflicting tendencies driven by desire or repulsion. Why trouble yourself about all the ups and downs of daily life, like a child who delights in building a sand castle but cries when it collapses? To get what they want and be rid of what they dislike, look how people throw themselves into torments, like moths plunging into the flame of a lamp! Would it not be better to put down your heavy burden of dreamlike obsessions once and for all? ” 7 likes
More quotes…