Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “I Was A Teenage Toyah Fan” as Want to Read:
I Was A Teenage Toyah Fan
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

I Was A Teenage Toyah Fan

by
3.85  ·  Rating details ·  60 ratings  ·  16 reviews
From 1986 until its closure, Chris Limb ran the official Toyah Willcox Fan Club Tellurian as well as designing and selling merchandise during Toyah's extensive tours in the early nineties. This is not that story. This is the story of what happened before. It began on a dark winter’s night at the tail end of 1979 when a nerdy 14 year old boy watched an episode of the BBC’s ...more
Paperback, first, 144 pages
Published November 2nd 2011 by Chris Limb (first published November 1st 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about I Was A Teenage Toyah Fan, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about I Was A Teenage Toyah Fan

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  60 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of I Was A Teenage Toyah Fan
S.P.
Feb 23, 2012 rated it really liked it

This is a coming of age story, about a teenage boy who is inspired by a brightly haired Toyah Wilcox - one of those rare finds in those days, a female artist with something to say and who dared to be different.

There is a deep feeling of nostalgia and shared experience in the first few chapters as Chris Limb relives the time when he discovered the music that mattered to him. Most of us, I guess, go through this in our formative years, though the precise music may differ (Sorry Chris, really liked
...more
C Hellisen
A wonderful glimpse into 80s culture, and of growing up a teenage fan. Limb captures that feeling of obsessive pop-culture wonderfully, making me remember my own years where I collected everything to do with a certain band, and covered my walls with adverts for their singles, ripped from the pages of the Melody Maker.

The style feels a little stilted when it first begins (Chris likes whilst far more than I do) but within a few pages it settles down, and I can see and hear him, and thanks to a rec
...more
Lynda Kelly
Jun 06, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: deleted
I liked going back to the 80's in this book as the TV shows and musical references I remember well, too. So that was fascinating. I was never a particular Toyah fan but you don't need to be. It was nice to read that she paid attention to her fans and that Chris built up such a nice connection with her.
It covered the years from 1979 through to 1986 then stopped VERY abruptly, I have to say, as I'd like to have known what he ended up doing and if he continued to be a fan now in his mid-forties.
It
...more
Ness
Apr 09, 2012 rated it it was amazing
As a follower of Toyah I was really interested to read this book & wasn't disappointed. Chris told his story but I for 1 felt as though I was with him on his travels to her gig's. Toyah comes across as a real people person who actually bothered about her fans.
I didn't want it to end & would loved to have read more about how Chris got on after taking over the fan club.
...more
Marie
May 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This is an Awesome and very smart book I have ever read there are a 100,000,000,000,000,000,000

to describe this wonderful book!
Lauren
Jan 05, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle
Things weren't going so great for teenager Chris Limb. It's the early 80's and he is a student at an all-boys school in England. Quiet, introspective, somewhat effeminate and with few friends, he is targeted by a group of bullies he refers to (in his head, at least) as the Fuckers. Life is miserable, and his only respite comes in the form of Dr. Who fanzines and ogling the crazy-haired, heavily made-up female members of the now-burgeoning punk rock scene. Until he discovers Toyah, and everything ...more
CuteBadger
May 01, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Chris Limb tells the story of his obsession with Toyah and how he went from adoring her from afar to interacting with her and running her fan club.

I'm around the same age as the author (a little older I think, but only a little!) so his description of the 1980s rang true with me. I remember only too well the pain and pleasure of seeing bands and performers I liked on TV but having no reliable way of finding out more about them or when I'd be able to see them again. The whole fan experience has c
...more
S.A. Partridge
Jan 25, 2012 rated it really liked it
As a teen completely obsessed with Suede's Brett Anderson, I could totally relate to this book. In fact, anyone who grew up in the eighties will instantly relate to this book.

I was a Teenage Toyah Fan is a strikingly honest and witty account of the affect the punk princess known as Toyah had on a fifteen year old boy.

It's a memoir about the relationship between fan and star, but its also a story of growing up feeling a little bit different from anyone else and the realisation and inevitable ac
...more
Wayne Davidson
Mar 13, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: music
I saw a lot of myself in the author's Toyah fandom as I was a teenager at the same time who also related strongly to her music. The main difference being that I lived in rural Australia so there wasn't any way I could get to Toyah gigs in the UK and I had to import/order most of the records. It's a good picture of the time and of a healthy, if slightly obsessive, fandom. Another angle of this is Toyah Willcox's friendly and welcoming behaviour towards her fans which was really refreshing and I t ...more
Graham Sharpe
May 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This isn’t just a brilliant book for anyone who loved (still loves) Toyah. It will resonate with everyone who ever had a teenage fixation on an eighties pop star. I was most definitely a teenage Toyah fan, but unfortunately, in the 80s, I lived in sleepy North Devon so the nearest I ever got to seeing her in the flesh was one live gig in Bristol. Chris Limb’s engrossing story and his descriptions are evocative of a time when ‘celebrities’ were largely inaccessible (no facebook, no twitter, no in ...more
Steve Downes
Jan 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: biography, music
I loved this book as I got into Toyah at a young age back around 1981/1982 time.

Being too young to go and see her then or even before like Chris has, I particularly enjoyed his enthusiasm. His fondness of the times and of Toyah are obvious.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Toyah, the music of the era and anyone who's ever been a dedicated enough fan of a singer or band to follow them where ever they go.

Thanks Chris
Andy Lopata
Oct 18, 2013 rated it liked it
Quite fun as a reminder of teenage years but not particularly well written. The author tries too hard and some of the phrases are a clumsy attempt to earn a place in literary folklore.

As someone who loved Toyah as a kid, however, it was a relatively easy, undemanding read. I'm off to listen to Anthem now!
James
Jul 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this...took me back to the 80s and I loved it
Lynne Jenner
Jan 19, 2017 rated it liked it
This was good in so much that the memories of the time resonated, however, it wasn't very substantial.
Emma
Feb 22, 2012 rated it liked it
To be read, this message will be replaced with real review and rating when I have read it (copy received through Good Reads First Reads giveaways :D)

Ipswichblade
Aug 07, 2012 rated it really liked it
Great book for all Toyah fans
Andy
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2012
Mark Satchwill
rated it liked it
Sep 25, 2012
Sierra_Mist
rated it really liked it
May 27, 2012
Andrew Brook
rated it liked it
Jul 27, 2019
David Kelly
rated it liked it
Sep 15, 2015
Donna
rated it did not like it
Apr 20, 2012
Batul
rated it it was amazing
Jul 06, 2012
Mr D C Shepherd
rated it liked it
Aug 27, 2019
Mr A
rated it really liked it
Apr 20, 2019
Richard Johnson
rated it liked it
Jun 22, 2016
Michael
rated it really liked it
May 19, 2012
Steve Fox
rated it it was amazing
Apr 05, 2016
Huw Collingbourne
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2013
William
rated it it was amazing
May 12, 2013
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Silent Victim
  • Robinson Crusoe (Robinson Crusoe #1)
  • 99 Stories of Blood on the Wall: A collection of 99 word horror stories
See similar books…
13 followers
Chris's debut novel Comeback will be published by Unbound on 21 January 2021.

Chris has also had a number of short stories published over the past few years, blogs on a regular basis as well as reviewing books and audios for the British Fantasy Society.

Chris wrote a short pop memoir which was published in 2011 and went down well with its core-audience. It continues to sell at a steady rate to this
...more

Related Articles

There is nothing like reading a history or biography book and being so completely transported to another time and place that you find...
47 likes · 16 comments