Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Guardian Review Book of Short Stories” as Want to Read:
The Guardian Review Book of Short Stories
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Guardian Review Book of Short Stories

by
2.74  ·  Rating details ·  58 Ratings  ·  13 Reviews
Freebie from the Guardian, 10 previously unpublished stories.

Alice Munro, mistress of the short form, describes a story as "a world seen in a quick glancing light". From caves in Pakistan to the underground tunnels of London's Piccadilly line, each of the stories collected here takes the reader into a very different world. And just as they roam across the globe, so they tr
...more
Paperback, 128 pages
Published October 29th 2011 by The Guardian
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Guardian Review Book of Short Stories, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Guardian Review Book of Short Stories

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ollie
Nov 09, 2011 rated it it was ok
This collection of short stories came as a free souvenir with the Guardian at the start of November 2011. Considering the calibre of authors included - Margaret Atwood, Rose Tremain, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - it's a surprisingly poor collection. The distinct feeling from the get go is that these are cast away stories the authors drudged up to let the Guardian use - the kind they would never dare use in a collection of their own. The one exception is Audrey Niffenegger's surrealist masterpiece M ...more
Quanti
Jan 30, 2012 rated it it was ok
Wasn't really worth the time spent (although read mostly in the bathroom ;)) - the only good one was Moths of the New World, as it turns out, from Audrey Niffenegger, author of Time Traveller's Wife. I was interested in watching the movie some time, but considering circumstances, I'll probably go for the book.
Betheliza
This is a good and varied short story book for reading in the bath. There are a couple of stories which I would read again and again such as The Man Who Fell by Polly Samson - a simple tale whch stays with me long after I've read it.
Simon
Feb 28, 2014 rated it liked it
Absolute blinder in here from William Trevor!
Tracey
Apr 06, 2012 rated it liked it
I very much enjoyed AudreyNiffenegger's 'Moths Of The New World', and moved on from this to her novels.
Alex
Oct 27, 2012 rated it liked it
Some little gems here, particularly those by William Trevor and Rachel Cusk. There was only one which I thought didn't work at all, by Mohsin Hamid, who wrote 'The Reluctant Fundamentalist'. All the others had some glitter and resonance.
I'm glad this is a small collection; I find too many short stories together take away from each other. The reader has to adjust to a change of style and world view with each story. The delicate magic of a good short story is easily brushed aside by the completely
...more
Evelyn
This was a freebie with The Guardian weekend newspaper which came out recently. A good mix of contemporary short stories covering a range of genres which have elements of politics, history, romance, religion, current affairs, the environment, science-fiction etc. I mainly picked it up because Margaret Atwood had contributed a story to this collection (entitled 'Underbrush Man'), and particularly enjoyed Audrey Niffenegger's 'Moths Of The New World' and Rose Tremain's 'The Closing Door'.
John
Aug 20, 2015 rated it liked it
Very varied stories. I really liked the ones by William Trevor (An Idyll in Winter) and Rose Tremain. Had not previously read anything by William Trevor and want to try one of his novels now. I already love Rose Tremain. The Audrey Niffenegger story was a bit weird. It didn't do it for me, but others seem to like it.
Jackie
Jan 08, 2012 rated it did not like it
Just strange!
Flora
Aug 06, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: books-i-own
Some stories were great, some were weird.
Tatyana
Loved Audrey Niffengger
Rachel
rated it really liked it
Sep 02, 2018
Weng Cahiles
rated it it was ok
Nov 29, 2014
Vicki
rated it it was amazing
Sep 13, 2015
Julia Walsh
rated it liked it
Dec 11, 2011
Ania
rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2017
Ivan
rated it liked it
Oct 31, 2013
Natasha Barnes
rated it it was ok
Jul 24, 2015
Andrée
rated it it was ok
Aug 22, 2016
Peter
rated it liked it
Apr 09, 2012
Claire
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2014
Nicola
rated it did not like it
Nov 22, 2014
Paul Curd
rated it it was ok
Jan 04, 2012
Yayfordinosaurs
rated it it was ok
Nov 28, 2017
Alan Fricker
Nov 30, 2014 rated it liked it
A mixed bag
Nafeesa
rated it it was amazing
Sep 01, 2014
Trevelyanwright
rated it it was ok
Aug 12, 2013
Myer Cohen
rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2011
Sarah
rated it it was ok
Mar 04, 2013
Caitlin Price
rated it liked it
Jan 25, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »