Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Scalped, Vol. 1: Indian Country (Scalped, #1)” as Want to Read:
Scalped, Vol. 1: Indian Country (Scalped, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Scalped, Vol. 1: Indian Country

(Scalped #1)

by
4.01  ·  Rating details ·  6,915 ratings  ·  377 reviews
Jason Aaron, the up-and-coming writer of the critically acclaimed series THE OTHER SIDE teams with gritty artist R.M. Guera for an intense crime drama that mixes organized crime with current Native American culture.

Fifteen years ago, Dashiell "Dash" Bad Horse ran away from a life of abject poverty and utter hopelessness on the Prairie Rose Indian Reservation in hopes of f
...more
Paperback, 124 pages
Published August 1st 2007 by Vertigo
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Scalped, Vol. 1, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Marianne He is not. (Source: https://indiancountrymedianetwork.com...). Native people who've reviewed the book seem to differ on whether it's an authentic and…moreHe is not. (Source: https://indiancountrymedianetwork.com...). Native people who've reviewed the book seem to differ on whether it's an authentic and well-done representation of the culture (as noir novels go), or very much not one.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.01  · 
Rating details
 ·  6,915 ratings  ·  377 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
HFK
Mar 21, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: paidkindle, graphics
My first introduction to Jason Aaron's work was his hard boiled Southern Bastards series that took me right up in middle of the deep Souths heart. Aaron's way of telling stories is to go to the darker side of something familiar, give us all the filth and ugliness that not so many dare to admit and explore. But doing so, he has a great sense of respect towards the things he is writing about, and there is always the presence of truthiness within as the stereotypes always come from the realness of ...more
J.G. Keely
Sep 21, 2011 rated it it was ok
Thirty years ago Alan Moore changed the face of comics, Watchmen, V for Vendetta, The Killing Joke--we've all heard the story before, and I've certainly put my 2 cents in. Now, he's not the only revolutionary comic writer out there: Gerber was writing realistic superhero stories years before Moore, and Milligan has a complex, literary voice to rival Moore's.

But Moore is still the great inspiration, the ever-changing, wide-reaching face of comics as an art form. And so he has become a touchpoint
...more
David Schaafsma
Apr 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
When I first read Preacher, several years ago, I found it over-the-top crazy violent with (too many) layers of intrigue and I stopped reading it after the first volume. It took me some time before I could come back to it and see it all the way through as one of the great comics series ever. I had pretty much the same experience with Scalped. Too violent, too crazy, over the top. Now, years later, impatient for the next volume of Aaron’s Southern Bastards, I reread this first volume and yeah, it ...more
Kemper
May 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
Recommended to Kemper by: Anthony Vacca
Dashiell Bad Horse returns to the reservation where he grew up with a pair of nunchucks and proceeds to start whipping ass. This gets the attention of local honcho Red Crow who is getting ready to open a casino, and he gets Bad Horse a job as a deputy where he can legally crack the skulls of everyone interfering with Red Crow's plans. Bad Horse also has to face his estranged activist mother who is protesting the casino,and there's also his old flame who doesn't let a husband stop her from bangin ...more
William Thomas
Jul 19, 2011 rated it it was amazing
There have been 4 major turning points in my life when it comes to media: when I first heard Slayer, when I first read Breakfast of Champions, when I first saw Pulp Fiction, and when I first read Preacher. Those were major points that redirected and reshaped not only my tastes, but by extension, me as a person. From there I found so much more to love, more that I could love, in all the media markets. They prompted me to dig deeper and search harder and to not settle for mediocrity in my tastes, ...more
Sam Quixote
Sep 04, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Hoka Hey!

You don’t know this yet but “Scalped” is one of the best comics you’ll ever read.

I know because I’ve read the whole series now and there isn’t a weak link in the chain; every single book is solid. There isn’t a lull in the middle, there aren’t weird tangents that are pointless to the overall story - there is simply one incredible book after another with writer Jason Aaron creating, alongside visionary artist and co-creator R.M. Guera, one of the most impressive literary achievements eve
...more
Ill D
Mar 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
True story: I volunteered to work on a Native American reservation in the American southwest a few years ago. Needless to say, from the low quality cots to the do-gooder personnel running the joint it was a miserable experience. However, I was quite surprised to find the same location providing the setting for a comic book. My volunteering experience was not the least bit pleasant yet I had quite the opposite feeling from this one.

First up to bat has to be the art. The word grit keeps coming up
...more
Cheese
May 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
I've been reading a lot of Aaron's work and so I was recommended Scalped a few times. I've avoided this title for a while because it just didn't sound all that fun to read, but I was wrong.

I'm used to reading image comics, so when I picked up this vertigo title I was a bit disappointed with the print. No glossy pages and a dull printed colours for the artwork. That aside, what a brilliant story. It's a more mature story than I imagined and I've likened it to be very similar to the TV show or vic
...more
Sesana
Sep 06, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: comics
A full-speed, gritty, noir-inspired book, in the somewhat unusual setting of a modern Oglala Lakota reservation. The story takes off from the first scene, and rarely lets up. It's rough, violent, and steeped in corruption on many levels.

And I don't think it's for me. I have no doubt of Aaron's skills, and I've greatly enjoyed some of the things he's written. But though I think that he's done exactly what he set out to do with this book, I'm still not onboard. I can't pretend that some of that is
...more
11811 (Eleven)
Mar 20, 2015 rated it really liked it
A sleezy modern day crime drama with all the grittyness I loved in Southern Bastards, Vol. 1: Here Was a Man.
Murat S. Dural
İlk sayfalar itibariyle içine zor girdiğim, kurgusunu anlamak için kafa patlattığım bir çizgi roman oldu. Üstelik Egemen Görçek gibi takip edip çevirdiği her şeyi okumaya çalıştığım birinin eli değmesine rağmen. Ve fakat sabrın sonu selamet diyerek, ısrar ederek ilerleyince kurgu ilk cildin sonuna doğru kendini açmaya başladı. Gittikçe daha da acayip, derin bir mevzuya girdim. Hemen ikinci cilde geçeceğim. Okuduklarımdan, gördüklerimden memnun olmaya başladım. Alışık olduğunuz türden biraz daha ...more
Elizabeth A
Oct 11, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: graphix, 2018
Updated November 2018 on completion of the series.

"Sixty issues. Ten trade paperbacks. More than 1,200 pages. God knows how many shootings, stabbings, betrayals, and bad choices."

This fantastic series is set on the Prairie Rose Indian Reservation, and while there is a large group of characters, the story centers mainly around Chief Lincoln Red Crow and Dashiell "Dash" Bad Horse. While these two have history, Dash left the Rez fifteen years ago planning to never return to this land of poverty and
...more
Jedi JC Daquis
Sep 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Indian Country is the perfect way to start a gritty saga. There's the characters, the place called the Rez and the Indian country which seems to be hiding a horrible, horrible past. Scalped starts with a young war veteran Dashiell "Dash" Bad Horse returning to Praire Rose Indian Reservation. Nothing good has happened in the Rez. In fact, things got a lot worse there. And for Dash, it brings back to him so many nightmares of the past.

The scenes are very cinematic and action-packed that it may as
...more
Ije the Devourer of Books
Dec 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I couldn't move while reading this. It was that gripping!!

Violent, dark, gritty with twists and turns and a story to be slowly revealed.

A must read for all Jason Aaron fans. Absolutely brilliant and terrifyingly unique!
Pandem Buckner
Dec 13, 2012 rated it it was amazing
(This is my review of the entire series, not just this book.)

Holy crap, what a ride.

After five years and 60 issues, Jason Aaron and R. M. Guera's noir masterpiece, Scalped, came to an end a couple of weeks ago with the release of Scalped: Trail's End, the tenth and final collection.
And just. . .wow.

There is s spoiler below, just so you know, but it's given away at the end of the first issue. If you absolutely can't stand spoilers, stop reading this and go read Scalped. It's that good, just go r
...more
Chris
Sep 30, 2018 rated it liked it
Recommended to Chris by: Artemy
Shelves: other-comics


In theory, my idea for the Shallow Comic Readers 'Second Chance' buddy read was a good one. We'd each name a writer, artist or character that we're...not exactly fans of, then take book suggestions from the rest of the group and give them a second chance.

In practice, that meant I was recommended another book by Jason Aaron and R.M. Guera, the writer and artist responsible for the appalling The Goddamned Vol. 1: Before the Flood. I was reluctant, to the point that my Goodreads pal, Artemy, propos
...more
Benoit Lelièvre
Jul 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
The first graphic novel I've read on Kindle and it was a great experience. They have a thing called "panel view" which allows you to read one panel at a time, making the experience so much more cinematic.

Now, the only real complaint I have against SCALPED is that it suffers a little bit of a baditude problem. The protagonist Dashiell Bad Horse is such a badass, it barely feels like he's in danger at any time. He just mows down entire rooms of people while sputtering one liners about hating his l
...more
Tim
Aug 05, 2012 rated it it was amazing
When "Scalped" first came out, I wasn't interested. Maybe it was the description of the series in the sales pitch. I don't know. But somewhere along the line, I had the opportunity to pick up "Indian Country", the first volume, for a steal so I shrugged and thought, "okay, let's give it a try." One of the best decisions ever! "Scalped" turned out to be just about the most rough, raw and edgy crime story I've read in a long time... maybe ever. On the surface, the plot is fairly straight forward. ...more
Nikki
Nov 07, 2010 rated it liked it
I have mixed feelings on Scalped. On the one hand, I enjoyed its grittiness. Despite not actually liking any of the characters, I was left wanting more, which is kind of unusual for me. On the other hand, I am bothered by the racist implications of some of it. The title, for one thing. And, of course, the book starts out with a scalping. Also, the book shows only the darker side of reservation life, and an exaggerated version of it, at that. So I'm torn. I know that dark stories like this have b ...more
Rob
Dec 07, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
Jason Aaron's Scalped left me a little on the half empty portion of my glass. I was hoping that I would get something with a little more substance. However, Scalped is a little too cliché ridden to be considered something amazing.

The badass of the story Dashiell "Dash" Bad Horse skipped out on his shitty life on the reservation when he was 13 in hopes of finding something better. He's an angry guy and butts heads with just about every person he comes across. Why did he return?

I hope Scalped gets
...more
Mike
Feb 03, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: creator-owned
This series starts off with a real bang. Issue #1 immediately sets the tone and milieu for a whole lotta shit in a tiny, pressure cooker community of low lifes, shit kickers and double-dealing snakes. There isn't one redeeming character in the whole bunch of them, and it's fantastic.

Dash, Shunka, Chief Red Crow, Gina, Diesel, Nitz and the shaman/drunk all get introduced in the FIRST ISSUE, giving us a smorgasbord of meaty, compromised and shifty characters to chew on. And gives us all the madnes
...more
DaViD´82
Feb 28, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Špinavá, nekompromisní a vůbec ne hloupá drsná kriminálka z atraktivního prostředí, která evidentně sloužila jako jeden z inspiračních (a nepřiznaných) zdrojů pro seriál Banshee.

Jediné co mi je do značné míry "proti srsti", je mnohdy až křečovitá touha být děsně cool skrze za každou cenu originální hlášky v každém druhém okénku. Na jednu stranu je obdivuhodné co autor/překladatel zvládnou vyplodit, ale vůbec to tam nesedne; tohle jsou hlášky do něčeho über-stylizovaného ve stylu Loba a nikoli d
...more
Gavin
Aug 10, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics
It's got punch. That's for sure.
Characters who stand out, no holding back, the kind of book that goes for it all, doesn't wait too long to try and get people talking, it starts right from the get-go.
Dashiell Bad Horse is a bad mother-shut your mouth!
I like the grit of the art, I like the story, I like everything.
More please!
Derek
Apr 04, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Believe the hype. Jason Aaron's tale about life and crime on an Indian Reservation is multi-layered, uncomfortable at times and excellent. The gritty slightly off-kilter artwork complements the gritty slightly off-kilter writing. If you have ever wanted to read a great comic book story, this is it.
Oliver Flores
Nov 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
NOTE: This here is more of a 4.5-star rating, and I'll explain why I didn't add the final half-a-star in a bit, but first I want to draw attention to the indelible Garth Ennis, who has emphatically encouraged potential readers to not only pick up SCALPED, but to also blog about it, to bug friends about it, and to write glowing online reviews about it. I kind of added that last part, but, what can I say? SCALPED actually IS that good.

THANKS GARTH ENNIS! Thank you so very much!

Uh, I kinda jumped o
...more
Alan
Sep 18, 2017 rated it liked it
While this is just the first volume I can see why this title has the reputation of being Aaron's best work. I read his Ghost Rider, and scanned through some of his X-Men work, and while over the top fun (including some near LOL moments) they are nowhere near as serious as this title. Here Aaron doesn't have to worry about company wide crossovers etc. It his world and we are welcomed into the tale he is crafting.

This is a crime story, but unlike most such stories it's not set in a major urban cen
...more
Rituraj Kashyap
This is a spoiler-free review of the entire series

After staying away from home for years, Dashiell 'Dash' Bad Horse returns to the Prairie Rose Reservation and starts working for Lincoln Red Crow, the tribal chairman who is also a dreaded crime boss. But Dash has a secret, and when a loved one of his is brutally murdered, all hell breaks loose in the rez.
Jason Aaron got his big break in the comic industry with this ultra-violent comic, which boasts of well fleshed out characters and some of th
...more
Vít Kotačka
Jan 01, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: graphic-novel
Jestli máte rádi Vinnetoua, tak tohle nečtěte - ztratíte iluze o indiánech. Jestli máte naopak rádi tvorbu drsňáků jako Ennis nebo Azzarello, tak si to nejspíš užijete.

Indiánská rezervace Prérijní růže rozhodně není místo, kde byste chtěli bydlet, pracovat, nebo vychovávat děti. 80% nezaměstnanost, alkoholismus, drogy, prostituce, kvanta střelných zbraní a kasino za 90 milionů dolarů.

Komiks je dost akční, hodně se tu střílí. Je tu také hodně historie, ať už osobní, jednotlivých postav, tak té
...more
Kit
Dec 12, 2012 rated it really liked it
So the start of this series just kind of gives you the bulldog treatment. It clamps down its jaws and locks them, so be ready for that. (Not sure you can be.)
Intense all around: sex, meth, guns, gambling, the f-bomb, and the works makes this a hard one for me to place on the library display without worrying about patron's ire, but
I have to be honest when I say that I am somewhat skeptical of the direction this story will take and whether or not I find white people writing and talking about a na
...more
Jim McGrath
Sep 12, 2009 rated it liked it
I recently started reading Aaron's Ghost Rider run (which is a blast), so I decided to check this out. This book is very much in the Vertigo house style (high concept, lots of cussin' / violence / nudity), but it is very good at making that house style work for it. I was a little wary of the project (a white author is opening a can of worms when he decides he's going to tackle rez life, no matter how dedicated he is to research), but I think Aaron manages to pay respect to his subject matter eve ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Criminal, Vol. 4: Bad Night (Criminal, #4)
  • Northlanders, Vol. 1: Sven the Returned
  • 100 Bullets, Vol. 3: Hang Up on the Hang Low
  • Stumptown, Vol. 1: The Case of the Girl Who Took Her Shampoo (But Left her Mini)
  • Unknown Soldier, Vol. 1: Haunted House
  • Richard Stark's Parker: The Hunter
See similar books…
1,089 followers
Jason Aaron grew up in a small town in Alabama. His cousin, Gustav Hasford, who wrote the semi-autobiographical novel The Short-Timers, on which the feature film Full Metal Jacket was based, was a large influence on Aaron. Aaron decided he wanted to write comics as a child, and though his father was skeptical when Aaron informed him of this aspiration, his mother took Aaron to drug stores, where h ...more

Other books in the series

Scalped (10 books)
  • Scalped, Vol. 2: Casino Boogie (Scalped, #2)
  • Scalped, Vol. 3: Dead Mothers
  • Scalped, Vol. 4: The Gravel in Your Guts (Scalped, #4)
  • Scalped, Vol. 5: High Lonesome (Scalped, #5)
  • Scalped, Vol. 6: The Gnawing (Scalped, #6)
  • Scalped, Vol. 7: Rez Blues (Scalped, #7)
  • Scalped, Vol. 8: You Gotta Sin to Get Saved (Scalped, #8)
  • Scalped, Vol. 9: Knuckle Up (Scalped, #9)
  • Scalped, Vol. 10: Trail's End (Scalped, #10)