Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Two For Eternity” as Want to Read:
Two For Eternity
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Two For Eternity

by
4.07  ·  Rating details ·  30 ratings  ·  19 reviews
From the beginning of human history, two immortal beings have battled against each other. Vrag has pulled the strings of malevolent leaders, and has caused endless destruction and chaos. Raiken, his immortal counterpart, has opposed him at every turn.

Two for Eternity is both a historical and contemporary fantasy thriller that takes many controversial interpretations of hi
...more
Paperback, Second Edition, 312 pages
Published January 12th 2015 by End of Days Publishing (first published November 1st 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Two For Eternity, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Two For Eternity

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-54
Average rating 4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  30 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Two For Eternity
Eva
Nov 01, 2011 added it
It is a thought-provoking novel in many ways, and the story will definitely keep you turning the pages, as well as the explorations into different historical eras. Of course, the natural comparison would be to Highlander, which also sees two immortals locked in an eternal battle to determine who will win The Prize, but at least in that universe once you cut a guy’s head off, that’s it—there’s no coming back. In other words, the parameters of how to achieve a final death on an immortal Highlander ...more
Jennifer Manley
Sep 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What An Amazing Adventure!

This is a story about good versus evil. Two immortal brothers one good one bad. They have been around for thousands and thousands of years. From the moment I started this book I was hooked.
The story is well done. There is also a lot of history throughout the story.

I really enjoyed this I have to say. The story always felt exciting to me. I am guessing from the ending that maybe a second book might be on the horizon, if so I would gladly read it. I would highly recomme
...more
Ruth Hill
Jun 30, 2012 rated it liked it
This is only the second time travel book I have ever read, and indeed, this one is so completely different than any I have ever read. It not only appeals to time travel enthusiasts but historians as well. The age-old battle of good versus evil is a main thrust of the book, and if you can set all your preconceived notions aside, you just might find yourself buying into this book.

I was very pleased that the profanity was almost nonexistent, and there were no bedroom scenes. In addition to that, th
...more
Cathryn Conroy
Full disclosure: I never would have read this book had the author not personally contacted me to request I do so and offer an honest review. I was intrigued, so I took him up on the offer.

Implausible plot? Yes. But that's the fun of such a book. Twin brothers named Raiken and Vrag--one good, one evil--have the gift of immortality. They die. They are reborn. They remember everything they knew or experienced in previous lives. It's a type of time travel, but going forward so no knowledge the futur
...more
P.A.
Apr 16, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A very interesting twist on some of the major world events. This could be a way to interest people young and old to the events that have shaped our world. The bright white pages and high gloss ink are pretty, but the combination of the two are very hard on the eyes when reading in the sun, or by electric lights. I received this book for free by entering a contest through Goodreads.
Donadee's Corner
Mar 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Everyone
Recommended to Donadee's Corner by: Author
Two For Eternity - Written by Carl Alves
What would immortally be like? Would it be worth it?

From the beginning of human history, two immortal beings have battled against each other. Vrag has pulled the strings of malevolent leaders and has caused endless destruction and chaos. Raiken, his immortal counterpart, has opposed him at every turn.

What did I like? I love history and travel; this fantasy thriller takes us on a trip that would be the envy of anyone with those loves. But would it be worth
...more
Wayne
Jan 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
This reading was an illustration project in the works. Now I get to think about, synthesize, and come up with a rockin new cover for the author! Let the business begin!
Carlos Mock
Dec 13, 2016 rated it liked it
Two for Eternity by Carl Alves

This book is about good and evil and the eternal struggle between them. Mr. Alves creates two characters: Raiken (good) and Vrag (evil); they are twins who are immortal.

The book opens in the present after an extraordinary occurrence and then goes into a flashback.

From 2624 BC in Carthage through 2625 BC Egypt (Central Africa), 1782 BC Babylon, 26-28 AD Judea, 984 AD Norway, 1095 AD Florence, 1492 AD Hispaniola, 1614AD Portugal, 1942 AD England we see the plight of
...more
Regina Foo
This review is originally posted on: http://wp.me/p5m5jd-f8

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange of my honest review.

When I received the email from the author to request for my book review, I immediately accepted because of the blurb. The plot is very interesting as it spans from ancient Egypt to modern world which I haven't read before. I haven't read anything in time travel so I guess it's a great opportunity for me to try it out.

The story talks about a pair of twin brot
...more
COLLEEN CROCKER
Nov 29, 2015 rated it really liked it
This was an interesting premise mixed in with historical fiction from different eras throughout time. Not syfy or time travel, more like flash backs told by the main character: the immortal Raiken. As Raiken fights with his matched evil twin Vrag, their moral compass becomes clearer with each progression through time.

There was a lot of repetitive superhuman fight scenes as each meeting progressively worsens their "rivalry" and conflicting desires to help humanity vs profit from it. Vrag's overw
...more
Sheila
Apr 29, 2012 rated it liked it
Two For Eternity was by no means a light read. It is the ultimate battle between good and evil. Two immortal brothers, Raiken (who is good) and Vrag (who is very evil), battle each other from 2640 B.C. through modern day 1981. For any history buff you will be fascinated by this novel and the different time periods shown. It is the ultimate book in time travel, except, they don't travel to a new time until they die and are reborn into another body. There is a lot of action and many scenes of war. ...more
Monica
Aug 29, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I received this book as an Early Read through Library Thing to read and rate so here goes...

I loved the book! Couldn't put it down, started it yesterday morning and finished it this afternoon. A story of good and evil, light and dark, two brothers that cannot live apart but all hell brakes loose when they are together. You come to hate Vrag and his will to do pure evil, and you can relate to Raiken's goodness but at the same time his killer side as he tries to stop Vrag.

I loved the way the auth
...more
Gayle
Sep 02, 2012 rated it liked it
Interesting book. Far from my "usual" genre of book, even though it involved historical events almost like an alternate history type of book, so definitely not what I was expecting. That being said, it was an interesting read. I didn't really like the jumping around in the time line at first, but it made sense. I do wish the author had explained *how* the 2 main characters came into being. The book gave some very intriguing aspects to some famous historical events. I'm still attempting to fully ...more
Aurora
I would like to thank Carl Alves for this book, which I won through Goodreads First Reads giveaways.

Raiken and Vlag's eternal struggle is a new take on the good vs. evil factor of humanity. Are humans inherently good or inherently bad? I still don't know, but the depiction of the struggle was enjoyable to read about. The book also followed the pattern of "I don't know," because there was no significant conclusion to the struggle.

The writing style was easy to read with very few fragments, which I
...more
Emmalee
Aug 22, 2012 rated it did not like it
I got this for free as part of a review group. I think I picked this up originally through LibraryThing.

I've tried to read this completely, picked it up and stopped several times. I just can't stand the writing style. The history seems well done, and I'm not sure if it's supposed to have this whole Cain and Abel throughout time feel to it deliberately or not.
...more
David Berzett
Two for eternity is a historical fantasy ( which I got free at Goodreads.com) . It also is a thriller which starts ou in ancient times and comes forward to modern times. It's two main charcater's, one likeable and one not, influence events through the times. It was hard to stop reading in the muddle of a chapter. I enjoyed the book very much. ...more
Benjamin Ethridge
Jun 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Thoroughly enjoying fantasy adventure. I have a feeling this is not a stand alone piece, or it would feel incomplete otherwise. I look forward to the story continuing and learning more about how and why these immortals became what they are-- and can they ever die?
Nicole
May 21, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shane Olson
rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2013
sandra pino
rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2017
Julia
rated it liked it
May 02, 2018
Sue Williams
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2016
Laszlo
rated it it was amazing
Jan 29, 2015
Michelle Vasko
rated it it was amazing
Dec 04, 2011
Carl Alves
Apr 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Debbie Thurlo
rated it really liked it
May 15, 2012
Moni Ale
rated it it was amazing
Oct 04, 2019
Tyree
rated it really liked it
Aug 14, 2018
Valarie Holkesvik
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2018
Courtney Rowan
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2011
Nycole Laff
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2012
Mindy
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2012
Jeff Dunn
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2012
Susan
marked it as to-read
Apr 19, 2012
Deb
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2012
Lydia
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2012
Ess Kay
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2012
Jennifer Ferris
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2012
Nicholas Gonzales
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2012
Brittany
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2012
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2012
Brionna
marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2012
Mike Rogers
marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2012
Colee B
marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2012
Dana
marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2012
Janice Wright
marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2012
Stacy
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2012
Karen French
marked it as to-read
Apr 27, 2012
Shelly
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2012
Brianna
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2012
Bruce Miller
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2012
Jamie
marked it as to-read
May 05, 2012
Jeff Lane
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Related Articles

When Kristin Hannah, the bestselling author of The Nightingale, began her new historical epic centered on the Dust Bowl and the Great...
168 likes · 43 comments
“I have seen many atrocities, but they are outweighed by the kind deeds that may seem small, but when added together, create a strong human spirit. Perhaps you would benefit from living a simple life away from war and politics.” 2 likes
More quotes…