Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Player's Club: Scott” as Want to Read:
The Player's Club: Scott
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Player's Club: Scott (The Player's Club #1)

by
3.57  ·  Rating details ·  75 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
The Pledge: Scott Farrell, recovering Boring Guy.The Goal: Membership in an ultrasecret consortium of urban adventurers.
The Conditions: Select three insane challenges. Tell no one. Survive.
The Complication: Amanda Wheeler, sexy girl next door.
Scott never mentioned The Player's Club, but Amanda's onto him. She'll keep quiet and help him get in…if he'll nominate her for memb
...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published December 20th 2011 by Harlequin
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Player's Club, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Player's Club

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Carmen
Jul 25, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Romance Fans
Recommended to Carmen by: Romantic Times Book Review.
"My life has gotten a little complicated recently."

"Ohh-kay," she said slowly. What the heck does that mean?

"So my schedule sort of got filled up," he completed, looking miserable. "For... er, the foreseeable future."

"Oh." She stiffened. "Okay."

"But I really do like you."

"Sure." Can I just slink away now?

He ran a hand through his hair. "You don't believe me, do you?"

She shrugged. "I..."

He leaned down and kissed her.


I just love Blaze. Blaze and Historical are my two absolute favorite Harlequin li
...more
Choko
*** 3.25 ***

I l0ove my Harlequin Romances! The reason I love them is very simple - you know exactly what to expect going in and usually, they deliver. This was the case here. I was overwhelmed by books that take themselves too seriously and I needed a nice, light and sexy read. This is exactly what I got, and I am once again reassured that things are right in the world:-)

This is a story about two nice neighbors - The nice and stable guy and the serious, hard-working, recently divorced girl next
...more
Saly
Rating 3.5

I enjoyed the book, the hero tired of being a boring guy saw some guys going into an alley & found the notorious Players Club, a bunch of guys who are adventurous. The heroine his neighbour is tired of being an achiever and has sold her business to her ex-husband, wanting to do something different.

Somehow, the heroine finds out about the Players Club since she and the hero become hot & heavy, being sexually adventurous, she also decides to help him get in so that he can recomme
...more
Julianna
Dec 27, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Fun, Steamy Contemporary Romance
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" Scott is the first book in Cathy Yardley's new trilogy, The Player's Club. Due to the shorter length, Harlequin novels in general and the Blaze line in particular can be rather hit and miss with me, but I'm happy to say that Scott was the best Blaze novel I've read to date. I read Scott for review, and in all honesty it probably isn't a book I would have picked up on my own. Based on the cover blurb, I had the mistaken impression that the members of The Player
...more
Nicole
Joint review with Lou originally posted here: http://thebookpushers.com/2011/12/28/...

Publisher: Harlequin Blaze
Publish Date: January 1st
How we got this book: eARC from author

Lou: When Minn emailed me this request, the blurb intrigued me and because it was a contemporary romance, I didn’t want to pass it up — despite the up and down relationship I have with Harlequin’s categories. This is the first book in the series about an infamous club called the Players Club, where rich males are members an
...more
Jess the Romanceaholic
This is a Quickie Review. For the full review, please visit The Romanceaholic.

Expected Release Date: December 20, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin
Imprint: Harlequin Blaze
Author’s Website: http://cathyyardley.com/
My Source for This Book: Gift from the author
Part of a Series: Yes, Book 1, Player’s Club
Series Best Read In Order: N/A
Steam Level: Hot

What happens when a boring accountant accidentally ends up smack in the middle of an exclusive, super-secret club of urban adventurers? What happens when his shy
...more
Brenda (b)
Oh boy, this is a really hard review for me to write. Not every book I read is a good fit with my interests and I hate to be too negative. It's not that I didn't like this one, but it felt like an average story to me and there were several things that bothered me.

Sometimes when I read a book, there aren't a lot of details about the characters or their backgrounds but the story still manages to pull me in and capture my attention. Not this book though. Scott and Amanda didn't feel complete to me,
...more
Mombo
Hot and romantic! That combination always makes the best Blaze book.

The romance between Scott and Amanda begins hot and heavy and keeps pace throughout the story without becoming boring or redundant or overdone.

The plot also keeps moving along and Scott's quests, his interactions with the Players and later to Amanda all make The Players Club: Scott an entertaining read.

It also makes you want to knock a few things off your bucket list, too, before it's too late. In theory, in my case, because I p
...more
Suze
May 05, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book, first of a three series, delivers what you expect from a Blaze title - feisty heroine, hero who realises he's wrong, misunderstanding, bad guy usurped, reconciliation with happy ending! The writing flowed well, the story was quite good - though Scott did seem like a little kid wanting to play with the spoilt big kids.
Sassafrass
this was a cute story. it was a bit predictable, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I will continue on the other books. The narrator was ok. She got tripped up on some pronunciations and had some trouble with the male voices, but I thought she did a good job of keeping me interested in the story.
Livia
Jan 08, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Unique story line but the hero and heroine were not the strongest characters in the book. The next two featured characters were Lincoln and Finn.
Terri Pray
Narrator was putting me to sleep...
Netanella
I liked Boring Guy Scott, the data analyst. I liked next-door-neighbor Amanda, who meets Scott at 3 am on her fire escape with a baseball bat. Both Scott and Amanda are closet nerds, but want to rid themselves of this stigma by joining the secretive Players Club. However, I did not like The Players Club, a group of adrenaline-junkie rich guys and wannabe's. I felt like I was back in junior high, jockeying for position on the who's-the-coolest-in-the-hallway competition.

Amanda's got cool-nerd st
...more
S
rated it liked it
Mar 03, 2012
Rina
rated it really liked it
Mar 28, 2012
Sofia Max
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2014
Marcia Shutro
rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2015
LovelyGirl
rated it really liked it
Aug 02, 2016
Vicky Fouriki
rated it it was amazing
Apr 21, 2016
Tracy
rated it really liked it
May 06, 2012
Martha
rated it it was amazing
Apr 11, 2012
Amanda
rated it liked it
Feb 24, 2013
Fiction Fool
rated it liked it
Mar 06, 2013
Ave
rated it really liked it
May 03, 2012
Katie B
rated it really liked it
Feb 24, 2012
Tia
rated it liked it
Dec 28, 2011
BookLover
rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2013
Kelly Orsborn
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2017
southpaw285
rated it liked it
Feb 26, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Mighty Quinns: Dermot (The Mighty Quinns, #19)
  • Born Ready
  • Night After Night...
  • The Phoenix
  • Full Surrender
  • Sex By The Numbers (Harlequin Blaze, #403)
  • The Braddock Boys: Colton (Braddock Boys, #4) (Love At First Bite, #7)
  • The Guy Most Likely To...
  • No Going Back
  • Choose Me
  • The Concubine
  • Sex, Lies and the Southern Belle (Dynasties: The Kincaids #1)
  • Stalker in the Shadows (Sonoma, #3)
  • Lead Me Home (Sons of Chance, #8)
  • Simon Says...
6777
A few random facts about me:

I am a fiction addict.

I love J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts, Jim Butcher, J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood, Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter, Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series, Stephen King, Jennifer Crusie, Marian Keyes, J.K. Rowling, and a slew of other authors.

I have been known to stay up all night to finish a new novel. I don't so much read as devour.

I am an out of
...more
More about Cathy Yardley...

Other Books in the Series

The Player's Club (3 books)
  • The Player's Club: Lincoln
  • The Player's Club: Finn

Share This Book