Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Guys' Guy's Guide to Love” as Want to Read:
The Guys' Guy's Guide to Love
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Guys' Guy's Guide to Love

by
3.61  ·  Rating details ·  28 Ratings  ·  11 Reviews
When Max Hallyday, a rising New York adman, joins a glitzy midtown agency, he knows the game is winner-takes-all. But after Max 's best friend, Roger, a serial womanizer, seduces his billionaire client and puts his career in jeopardy, Max strikes back, penning The Guys Guy 's Guide to Love, a column exposing the many Rogers prowling the city. Championed by magazine publish ...more
Paperback, 346 pages
Published October 18th 2011 by Live Oak Book Company (first published January 1st 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Guys' Guy's Guide to Love, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Guys' Guy's Guide to Love

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-57)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
1000 +
Nov 09, 2011 rated it really liked it
This book is set in New York City, in that area, and I will say that the characters seemed very, very real. I'm from California, my boyfriend is from New York and everything that he has ever described to me about how New Yorkers are, how they interact, how love is the Author got perfect.

The characters were very like able. Roger, who is very smooth, very honest, very.. honest to Max at least, not to women, was like able and yet you kind of wanted to punch him at times. Max who is the person that
...more
SWL
Oct 07, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love this book! I'm a New York woman in media and it's such a joy to read a story that captures the NY dating and advertising scene that's real. I could relate to both the male and female characters personally, a few of whom reminded me of my friends. Must say I also enjoyed the male dating perspective and learning some of the tricks of their trade, so to speak. The author writes in a way that is authentic and not patronizing to women, and the story is fast paced, sexy and very entertaining. I ...more
Janet
Nov 08, 2011 rated it liked it
Not exactly how I experienced the NYC big ad world but was interesting to get an inside glimpse at the ad biz nonetheless. Lots of physical action in this book. Not a page turner but not dull either. Don't know if I would recommend it though.
Lydia Laceby
Jul 18, 2012 rated it liked it
Originally Reviewed at Novel Escapes

Rated 3.5 Star

The Guy’s Guy’s Guide launches us deep into the cut throat business world complete with lavish expense accounts, liquid lunches and dizzying office politics. It seems not much has changed since the portrayal of the Ad Men world in the sixties that Mad Men has given us – except maybe the gun wielding in the office.

I had worried about one dimensional characters when this novel began, but was pleasantly surprised after getting to know them all and f
...more
Ella
Oct 10, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The book was so much fun to read. The worlds of advertising and dating came to life. The characters both fascinating and loveable--or in the case of Kent Gloss, love to hate-- are vividly portrayed with depth and real understanding. Through Max and Roger, Manni gives a fresh, honest peak into men's thinking about women and dating that ventures beyond the hook-up to the search for love and redemption. The writing is clean and fast-paced. Midway through, I couldn't put it down because the stakes w ...more
Jessica  Sinn (Books and Trouble)
Manni did a fine job divulging the mindset of single guys on the prowl. But don’t be fooled, this book isn’t all about scandalous shenanigans and cutthroat power play. This is also a story about self-discovery, hope and redemption. So if you’re looking for a fun, sexy romp in the city with some substance, check this one out. Fans of Sex in the City and Mad Men are sure to be entertained. Wouldn’t this make a great HBO series?!? Please tell me there’s going to be a sequel!

Read the full review her
...more
Shahrun
Oct 28, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I have to tell you that I won my copy of this book On GoodReads First Reads Giveaways, but this review is all my own opinion!

I found this book a fascinating look at both the relationships between men and women and an insight into the cut throat world of advertising! I liked the humour in the book and the web of relationships between the characters. I enjoyed going on their journeys with them and was satisfied where they all ended up. Thank you for sharing this book. I look forward to reading you
...more
Kevin S
Oct 12, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Guys’ Guy’s Guide to Love manages to do a lot in a very digestible amount of space. The author exposes the troubles of contemporary gender dynamics with an entertaining and fun story that takes place in the city that has as much personality as the characters in the novel. The book is as refreshing as it is enjoyable. Manni’s insight into his characters and knowledge of the world they live in conveys a cool authenticity. The reader can trust what the reality of the plot, and nothing seems for ...more
Barb Hollis
Dec 02, 2011 rated it really liked it
Won this book as a Goodreads entry.

This is a story of the ad business in N.Y. It has several men and women looking for sucess in the business, as well as in their private lives.

Liked the way it seemed to revolve around and around between the main characters, all looking for power and sex and the upper hand in their careers. What happens is sometimes funny or makes you think if guys and gasls really are that different.

It is worth a read.
Charity
Jan 06, 2012 rated it did not like it
Cliched characters fill this froth-filled vacuous novel. It wasn't entertaining at all. It was brain rot.
Kathy
Nov 09, 2011 rated it really liked it
Fast paced and sexy read. If you know anything about NY, and anything about the advertising and media world, you know the characters in this book.
I recommend it!
Chi-Chi
rated it really liked it
Nov 21, 2016
Matthew Patrick
rated it liked it
Mar 07, 2015
Eleni
rated it liked it
Jul 15, 2012
Mary
rated it did not like it
Oct 27, 2012
Judy
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2013
Gail
rated it liked it
Jan 05, 2012
Kaitlin
rated it it was amazing
Nov 01, 2011
George Edwards
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2011
Stephanie Helgeson
rated it did not like it
Feb 08, 2012
Laura Kathleen
rated it liked it
Jan 10, 2015
Greg Monaco
rated it liked it
Aug 21, 2016
Evan Ziccardi
rated it it was amazing
Feb 21, 2013
Jaclyn
rated it liked it
Mar 14, 2012
Scott Swanay
rated it it was amazing
Oct 07, 2011
Nancy Cirasola
rated it it was amazing
Apr 23, 2013
Jesse Horn
rated it it was ok
Nov 27, 2014
Carla
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2011
Veronica Cueva
is currently reading it
Oct 28, 2011
Kriss
marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2011
Kitty
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2011
Sara Rhiannon
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2011
Alexandria Nicole
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2011
Hanna
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2011
Mona
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2011
Kendall
marked it as to-read
Oct 30, 2011
Dana
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2011
Angela
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2011
Gigi
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2011
Jim Austin
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2011
Alicia gozalez
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2011
Nicole
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2011
Amber Smith
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2011
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2011
Shannon
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2011
Starr
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2011
Lindsey
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2011
K. K.
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2011
Aaron Chandler
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2011
Maddy
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2011
Caitlin
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2011
Debbie
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2011
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2011
george
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2011
Jean
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2011
Stella
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2011
Faith
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2011
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Fun, yet thought-provoking commentary on women, men, and relationships 1 7 Oct 07, 2011 04:17PM  
11 followers
Robert Manni is President of BrandEnable, a Marketing Consultancy in New York City. Over the past two decades he has watched, played and succeeded in Madison Avenue's relentlessly changing game. A true devotee of New York City, Robert is inspired by and remains in awe of its people, energy, attitude, and romantic backdrop. He is a world traveler, Reiki Master and teacher, certified advanced clinic ...more