Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cab's Lantern” as Want to Read:
Cab's Lantern
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cab's Lantern

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  11 reviews
Cab Marin, owner of a struggling Caribbean dive shop, is helping marine biologist Vicki Jennings collect data for her thesis when they happen upon two amazing sights: an antique ship's lantern that continues to glow deep underwater and a massive barracuda that appears to be standing guard. Cab is a scientist at heart and these mysteries renew a passion for discovery that d ...more
ebook, 0 pages
Published July 17th 2013 by Jeff Russell (first published April 4th 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cab's Lantern, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cab's Lantern

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-58
4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  35 ratings  ·  11 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Trang Tran (Bookidote)
description
A romance and thrillling story about Cab, a boat captain wo will take Wicki under his wings to show her around, diving underwater so she can get some data and information for her thesis They will make a beautiful discovery and as the story unfolds, so is their relationship. I love the way the author incorporated the science and research side into the book (as a research assistant myself it was quite fun to read about it!). Also, kudoos to the setting for it being in the Caribbean <3 The chara
...more
J. Kahele
Nov 12, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a very interesting story, the characters were very complex and at time a little too much. I liked the premise of the book, a man who basically gives up and begins to charter boats for a living, meets a woman who is a marine biologist who is searching for information for her thesis. I felt the main characters were a little bit too arrogant at times and their constant fight to one-up each other was tedious and a bit much. I would have liked to see the characters to be a little on the soft ...more
Pennie
Aug 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
After reading Jeff Russell's 'The Dream Shelf'. I just had to get my hands on this one. Cab's Lantern is the first installment to a series, the second being 'Afterlight'.
Set in the gorgeous tropics of the Caribbean, and with plenty of adventure flows from the watery depths of an old shipwreck. Discoveries are strange and the mystery keeps you on your toes and ahead of the game throughout with twists and turns galore.

I have to admit, my favorite genre to read is suspense and thriller's and Cab's
...more
Stephanie
Jun 30, 2015 rated it liked it
This is a fun book with a touch of romance and plenty of excitement that kept me entertained! Great book to read!
Connie Anderson
First, I wish to thank Mr. Jeff Russell for giving me a free copy of "Cab's Lantern" to read so that I could give my honest review.

Wow! I just finished this book and I cannot wait to read the sequel. This is an incredible story unlike any other. The setting is in the Caribbean, mostly. There are some academia within these pages. As a researcher myself, I felt giddy to read about it. This is a very intelligent book, written extremely well in layman terms so that nothing went over my head. It is a
...more
Debbie Christiana
Nov 07, 2013 rated it really liked it
Cab's Lantern by Jeff Russell is a thrilling underwater adventure with a splash of romance. I don't give away much of the plot in my reviews but I will tell you this:

Cab Marin is the owner of Off-Shore Odyssey Diving Expeditions in the Caribbean. Business is slow so Cab is thrilled to take Ms. Vicki Jennings down to the coral reef to take measurements for the thesis she's writing.

From their first dive, the story takes off. They make it to the coral reef but inside an old shipwreck they discover
...more
Joanne
May 03, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Cab's Lantern is the story the adventures of Cab Marin and Vicky Jennings as the explore the depths of the Cayman islands in search of scientific answers. They discover a fantastic shipwreck and there is an intertwined web of mysteries surrounding it. I enjoyed this book for its sense of mystery and adventure.

I prefer adventure books to be faster paced. In my opinion, the repetitiveness of some of the writing, especially the introspection of the characters could be edited considerably. I found
...more
Jonathan James
Jun 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This novel had everything I liked: beautiful setting, sea adventure, romance and a clever plot.
The book gets your imagination going straight from the off with a terrible storm at sea and the consequences that ensue. After this, we are taken to the idyllic island of Grand Cayman and the somewhat haphazard lifestyle of Cab Marin, soon to be joined by the attractive and clever Vicky. From here the story builds with a lot of sexual tension and of course that sunken wreck with the very strange light
...more
Donna Forshaw
Oct 11, 2011 rated it liked it
My book club was lucky enough to read this prior to publication. Jeff Russell attended our meeting and welcomed feedback from all 8 of us. We all enjoyed the book and are looking forward to the sequel that we were assured was being worked on.
Jesse Deleon
Mar 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Awesome underwater adventure!

Jeff Russell has written an Awesome underwater adventure and hopefully a start of a series. The details and descriptions of land and sea made this an enjoyable read for a cold wet raining day.
Peggy Holley
rated it it was amazing
Oct 19, 2017
Lawrence Gelberg
rated it it was amazing
Feb 14, 2018
RHONDA
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2019
Bookworm
rated it really liked it
Nov 13, 2018
John McCormick
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2018
W M Rhodenhiser
rated it liked it
Jul 08, 2016
Kelly Blessey
rated it liked it
Nov 18, 2012
Richard Baker
rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2016
Vern
rated it it was amazing
May 16, 2017
Shelley Williams
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2018
shirley
rated it did not like it
Nov 21, 2018
patti
rated it really liked it
May 05, 2017
J.L. Day
rated it liked it
May 12, 2016
Joyce  M  Beal
rated it it was amazing
Nov 29, 2018
William Lembach
rated it it was amazing
Nov 20, 2018
Terry
rated it it was amazing
May 06, 2017
RandyC
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2016
Bill
rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2018
Lydia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 16, 2018
Jennifer
rated it liked it
Nov 11, 2012
Stephanie
rated it really liked it
Aug 26, 2013
Kris Keil
rated it it was amazing
Aug 30, 2013
Lori Capri
marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2014
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2015
Sandra (Crandomblog)
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2015
Stephen Robertson
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2015
Twilightwatchers
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2015
Betty Macy
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2015
Bev
marked it as to-read
Mar 15, 2016
William Bitner Jr.
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2016
Lynne
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2016
Tess
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2016
Solfreedom
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2016
Sandra Crow
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2016
Sue
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2016
Janet
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2016
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2016
Amy
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2016
Nancy Jones
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2016
Tammy Wilborn
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2016
Murf the Surf
is currently reading it
Jun 22, 2016
Emily
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2017
Leah
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2017
Jim Bell
is currently reading it
May 01, 2017
John D. Smith
is currently reading it
May 01, 2017
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Greetings from Jeff Russell 1 2 Aug 28, 2013 02:39PM  
3 followers
I am a tale-spinner. My childhood heroes were Jules Verne and Victor Appleton II, architects of fantastic adventures. Hemingway stepped in when I discovered that the trials and triumphs of real people – those with limited physical and financial resources – were even more intriguing than science fiction. Today I try to follow that example with my own characters. They are the ‘you and me’ of the wor ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“He helped Vicki with her BCD, tank and weight belt before getting into his gear.” 0 likes
More quotes…