Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Il sangue e il traditore” as Want to Read:
Il sangue e il traditore
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Il sangue e il traditore

(Imriel's Trilogy #1)

by
4.19  ·  Rating details ·  19,435 ratings  ·  607 reviews
Per sfuggire agli intrighi della turbolenta corte di Terre D'Ange, il giovane principe Imriel de La Courcel si è stabilito sotto falso nome a Tiberium. Ma le ombre del passato lo hanno seguito: la sua amante, la bellissima Claudia Fulvia, dopo aver scoperto il suo segreto, lo ha infatti coinvolto negli affari della Gilda Invisibile, una setta segreta ramificata in tutto il ...more
Paperback, TeaDue, 428 pages
Published June 1st 2011 by TEA (first published June 12th 2006)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Il sangue e il traditore, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Brian Cole Imriel does give a light summery of Phedre's story in as much as it pertains directly to him and I think you could figure things out based on just his…moreImriel does give a light summery of Phedre's story in as much as it pertains directly to him and I think you could figure things out based on just his tale. The first trilogy similarly begins right in the middle of things and throws a ton of names, places, intrigues and mythologies at you early on, so I can't say it would be any more bewildering to start here. Plus there are enough details that he leaves out so that if you do go back and read Phedre's trilogy, it won't all be spoiled. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  19,435 ratings  ·  607 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Choko
Apr 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
*** 4.65 ***

Jacqueline Carey is a very interesting author. She lulls you into thinking that she is writing just another fantasy-adventure, but starting with her lyrical way of weaving a story to the sensuality implicit in all of her relationships, be they friendly or not, out of the tales of political intrigue, flirtation, showmanship, and familial clansmanship, seeds are planted for myriad of conflicts that might or might not come to play, setting us up for a journey that will never have us bor
...more
Ben Babcock
So you wrote a highly-successful trilogy. Congratulations! What now? Well, you could write a sequel trilogy: new narrator, same old world and intrigue. Some writers want to milk the cash cow for all it's worth. Other writers, like Jacqueline Carey, create worlds compelling enough to justify returning to them time and again. Sinking into Kushiel's Scion is like having an old friend come to visit: all the things that you remember are there, but time has passed, and with it has come change. So you ...more
Leyoh
Dec 03, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've seen a fair amount of moaning about this 1/3 of an overall 2/3 not stacking up to the first trilogy and I have to disagree with it all. There are not many times I wish to be a man (bar waiting for the toilets at a concert) but reading this made me pine for a codpiece and facial hair. Imriel is a bad egg, readers of this series will know why but he's cut from very prestigious cloth and his fine breeding makes for a spectacular young man.

The pace is steadier, we've not got so much intrigue o
...more
Niki Hawkes - The Obsessive Bookseller
Via The Obsessive Bookseller at www.nikihawkes.com

I want to start off by saying that Carey’s Kushiel’s trilogy (the first set of novels that comes before this trilogy) is easily one of my all-time favorite fantasies. Those books affected me so profoundly that I was incredibly sad to see them come to an end… Until I realized that Imriel’s trilogy picks up right where Kushiel’s it left off. It’s always wonderful to find out that a journey you thought was over is, in fact, just beginning! Only now,
...more
Ashley Daviau
Dec 14, 2018 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This book was absolutely dreadful and it quite nearly bores me to tears. I don’t know why I insisted on torturing myself by plodding through 900+ pages of such a boring story, I guess I’m a glutton for punishment. Because reading this book truly did feel like a punishment. I don’t know how it got so many glowing reviews, I’m quite puzzled by it in fact!
Fey
Feb 25, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, reviewed
This begins the second trilogy, in the Kushiel's Legacy series. This trilogy follows Imriel de la Courcel no Montreve, the adopted son of Phedre and Joscelin, and the biological son of Melisande Sharizai.

Imriel is now a teenager, coming into his majority at the royal court of Terre D'Ange. He's third in line to the throne, and as such has his allies, and his enemies at court, mostly just because he his mother's son. His mother was a traitor, but he has never known her, and shys away from his her
...more
Giovanna
Feb 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Actually read this in one day lol

Like Imriel much much more than Phèdre, although the plot of this one isn't on the same level as the first two books of the Phèdre trilogy.
Leseparatist
Oct 17, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2015
Spoilers for the previous trilogy.

I keep being surprised by these novels, thinking about the fact that they were published almost a decade ago. They still seem pretty unique in how far they are willing to go, and with such grace.

Kushiel's Scion is superbly fun for its relationship with the preceding trilogy. For me, much of the joy of cycles comes from checking in with the characters that already have their Happily-Ever-After. And the HEA of Phedre's trilogy is superb. Phedre and Joscelin are in
...more
Célia | Estante de Livros
This book caught me in a complicated time of my life, so my opinion might be a little biased. Still, it was a valuable companion and it helped me, so I will try to write something coherent.

I loved the previous books in Kushiel's series. Three years have passed since I read the last one, but it was not hard to remember the characters, the places and the story as I was beggining this one. Some years have passed since "Kushiel's Avatar" and here we have a new narrator, Imriel, son of Phèdre's and T
...more
Diana Stormblessed
I love Jacqueline Carey's writing style. What this series needed was a fresh narrator. I love Imri. I can't wait to read more about him.
Mei
Nov 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another excellent book from Carey. While not quite as engrossing as the first books, this one is another great read. Hoping for good things in parts 2 and 3.
Sotiris Karaiskos
After the Phedre trilogy our dear Jacqueline Carey continues her story with the trilogy of Imriel, the son of Melisande, who has caused so many problems to our heroes so far. Together with the trilogy, we are also changing protagonist and narrator and I can say that we are changing the climate to a great extent. Because of this, we take things somewhat upside down, from a man's look and from a darker point of view.

 You see the protagonist of this new trilogy has inherited some of the dark charac
...more
Amanda Van Parys
I always have high expectations for Carey's novels and this one did not disappoint. She has a way with prose that is flowing and delicate without being purple. Every word makes sense and feels like it is placed with precision and care. I usually skim over erotic segments in literature and begin to feel awkward, but the way Carey writes sexual encounters is written with meaning and purpose and is often so tender and considerate that you might even find yourself tearing up. Overall, I really enjoy ...more
Susan
Jul 27, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
Lord, this is hard.

If you're not familiar with Jacqueline Carey and her Kushiel's Legacy series, which is steadily approaching epic proportions.... well, let it suffice to say that if you're not familiar with it, you should be. The series is filled with everything that makes fantasy so great; an sub-alternate world that parallels our own wonderfully, a great historical feel, well-rounded characters, political intrigue, great scenery, epic travels, wonderful costumes, deep emotions, quests o whic
...more
Christina
Apr 23, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I surprisingly enjoyed this much more than I thought I would.

Although not as wonderful as I remember the Phedre trilogy being, this story - in its own right - is just as intriguing. I know many people have complained that it's not what they were expecting, that Imriel isn't as great a narrator as Phedre. Perhaps they are right. I know after I finished Kushiel's Avatar, the thought of reading Scion felt like a betrayal. I bought the book, but I couldn't bring myself to actually read it. It took
...more
Elizabeth
Jun 09, 2007 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: all fantasy lovers
I'd wondered if Jacqueline Carey would be writing any more in her Kushiel universe, and was thrilled to find that she's continued in a new trilogy centering on Imriel de la Courcel.

I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. This book begins a new trilogy, one that blends with the previous storyline while forging ahead and making the reader love Imriel just as we've loved Phèdre. It's a treat to see this new perspective on life, and I found myself just as engaged with Imriel's story and character despite our diff
...more
Christine Kirchoff
I'm glad to be back in this world. I really liked Kushiel's Scion and the point of view of Imriel. It was a bit slow moving in some places. The plot is epic, the world building is fantastic and the romance is surprising. Four stars and a highly recommended read!
Maddie
Apr 29, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
there’s something uniquely devastating about books written from the generation after the heroes you know and love. i spent most of it yearning for phèdre to be mentioned, wanting to reread kushiel’s avatar again, to go back to the glory days. and yet, there’s something beautiful in the domesticity of it all.

after all, phèdre is what she is, and she accepted that. she never had to struggle with whether she was good or not. she was a chosen, a vessel, an anguisette and she would do whatever she n
...more
Travis
Dec 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've tried starting this one before and didn't have much luck. For some reason I had better luck this time and I'm glad I did. A story about love, and a little slice of what I wish the world was more like.
Timelord Iain
Tempted to lower the rating since I loved the end of this trilogy so much more... Goodreads needs a 6th star so I don't feel back when I hand out "weak" 5 star ratings...
Under the Covers Book Blog
As you may already be aware, this series has captured my heart and not let go for the past few years. I am making SLOW progress because, quite frankly, these books are big and they pack so much in them that it's usually a heartbreaking read and I need to take breaks in between. KUSHIEL'S SCION marks the beginning of a new trilogy in this universe and I didn't pay much attention to blurbs and things like that. What I had originally looked at was the appropriate order in which to read all these ...more
Andrea
Sep 17, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
This is the first book of the second Kushiel trilogy. We bid goodbye to Phedre as our protagonist and narrator, and switch to angsty Imriel, Phedre's adopted son, third in line to the throne of Terre D'Ange. The book starts when he is 14, but the majority of the action finds him at 18. I am not kidding when I say he's angsty, because he is a boy with emotional trauma from his childhood abduction, but also the baggage of being the natural son of the country's greatest ever traitor, Melisande.

The
...more
Jamie Collins
Jul 12, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
I really love Carey’s prose - it should be ridiculous, with all the mayhaps and betimes and anons, but it works for me. I also love her slow pacing; this book practically has live-action sleeping, but again, it seems to work. My favorite part was actually first third or so, where nothing happens except Imriel simply growing up, from about age 14-18.

It gets a little creepy when he turns 16 and people are encouraging him to have violent sex, because such desires are inevitable in someone with his
...more
♆ BookAddict  ✒ La Crimson Femme
Does this complex world ever reveal all it's hidden mysteries? I don't think so. This is another winner from the talented Ms. Carey. Imriel de la Courcel now has his only trilogy. I'm very thrilled because Ms. Carey did mention she wasn't going to do another Kushiel line because it was so draining. Coming back to this world, we learn about Imriel as a young man. At a book signing, Ms. Carey mentioned that she wasn't sure about writing from a young boy's perspective since she is a woman. I though ...more
Virginia
Once again, Carey made me forget that I have a toddler at home who doesn't care if I didn't go to sleep until 4:30am reading this book. I am an idiot - but I had a great time reading this continuation of the Kushiel series. Instead of Phaedre, the series focuses on Imriel. He's a bit annoying at times, but who isn't when they're young? I am always amazed at how much stuff Carey crams into her books and I look forward to reading the rest.
Anne
Jan 08, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Reread Oct. 2016
A.R.
Sep 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I need to let you know that I love Jacqueline Carey and her elegant brand of story telling from the outset. Her characters come alive on the page and the story, though technically slow moving, embeds the reader in a world so real and breathing that once in, it's impossible to leave. The story of Imriel de la Courcel growing up in the home of Phedre and her warrior-priest Joscelin is gripping and full of adventure and intrigue. I highly recommend it for an addictive read.

Shiku
Apr 26, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: lgbtqia, own-voices
Die deutsche Rezension findet ihr hier.

4.5
___________________________

Imriel nó Montrève de la Courcel is a boy with many roots. He is Melisande Shahrizai’s biological son, but had lived for ten years as a shepherd, believing he was an orphan. Then he had become a slave who had to endure torture and sexual abuse until Phèdre nó Delauney de Montrève liberated him – and adopted him together with her partner, Joscelin Verreuil. At the same time, he is the Queen’s cousin and therefore a possible heir
...more
Cecilia London
Jul 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: all-time-faves
I fell in love with Imriel in Kushiel's Avatar and was eager to return to Terre d'Ange. Jacqueline Carey didn't disappoint in this one, although I would have loved to see just a bit more of Phedre and Joscelin. What can I say? I'm attached.
Nelly
Jan 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
a wild ride full of questionable life decisions. v good.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Fantasy Buddy Reads: Kushiel's Scion [Apr 1, 2018] 149 47 May 05, 2018 05:59AM  
Should I read Kushiel's Dart before this one? 4 19 Feb 15, 2017 08:25AM  
Around the Year i...: Kushiel's Scion, by Jacqueline Carey 2 18 Aug 31, 2016 06:31PM  
SF/F Read Alongs: Kushiel's Scion 16 23 Feb 21, 2016 08:24AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Heir to the Shadows (The Black Jewels, #2)
  • The Mirador (Doctrine of Labyrinths, #3)
  • Gods' Concubine (The Troy Game, #2)
  • Blade of Fortriu (The Bridei Chronicles, #2)
  • The Alleluia Files (Samaria, #3)
  • The Shining Court (The Sun Sword, #3)
  • Hidden Warrior (The Tamír Triad, #2)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
See similar books…
6,721 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name. See this thread for more information.

Jacqueline Carey (born 1964 in Highland Park, Illinois) is an author and novelist, primarily of fantasy fiction.

She attended Lake Forest College, receiving B.A.'s in psychology and English literature. During college, she spent 6 months working in a bookstore as part of a wo
...more

Other books in the series

Imriel's Trilogy (3 books)
  • Kushiel's Justice (Imriel's Trilogy, #2)
  • Kushiel's Mercy (Imriel's Trilogy, #3)
“Even a stunted tree reaches for sunlight.” 82 likes
“Love child!" What else? You will find it and lose it, again and again. And with each finding and each loss, you will become more than before. What you make of it is yours to choose.” 31 likes
More quotes…