Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hapkido: Traditions, Philosophy, Technique: Traditions, Philosophy, Technique” as Want to Read:
Hapkido: Traditions, Philosophy, Technique: Traditions, Philosophy, Technique
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hapkido: Traditions, Philosophy, Technique: Traditions, Philosophy, Technique

4.65  ·  Rating details ·  72 ratings  ·  4 reviews
This ground-breaking work is the first to comprehensively document the traditions, philosophy, and techniques of one of the world's most varied, exciting, and practical martial arts—Hapkido. More than 9,000 photographs introduce over 2,000 martial techniques, including strikes, kicks, blocks, avoiding movements, holds, joint locks, chokes, throws, falls, tumbling, ground f ...more
Hardcover, 1136 pages
Published September 5th 2000 by Weatherhill
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hapkido, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hapkido

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.65  · 
Rating details
 ·  72 ratings  ·  4 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
James
Jan 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book is comprehensive to say the least, and it's enlightening to the fact that Hapkido isn't just a self-defense art, but also includes healing, energy work, meditation techniques, and the use of acupuncture pressure points for destructive purposes. You could spend several lifetimes learning Hapkido and still not get to everything. It may take some people a good amount of time to read this book. I must be honest, I didn't read every word but as a student of Hapkido I believe I will use this ...more
Steve Scott
Feb 13, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: martial-arts
Probably the most comprehensive book every done on Hapkido and related arts, Tedeschi's book is huge, thick, and dense.

Printed up on high quality paper with hundreds of illustrations and in-depth analysis of the art and its history, this is a superb book.
Jeff
Oct 27, 2007 rated it really liked it
Shelves: martial-arts, history
Very large book that details just about everything there is to know about Hapkido. I always enjoyed studying Hapkido and love this book as a complete encyclopedia of the art. This book is as much history as martial arts, being a broad and deep overview of the art as a whole including hundreds of moves. OK, I know that not all the moves work as well in reality as they do in the dojo, but many do. A little practice will let you know what does and doesn’t work. This text is fascinating nonetheless.
Damon
Jun 03, 2010 rated it it was amazing
This is the most complete book on a Martial Art that I have seen printed in English. Not to say that it is in fact the most complete but like I said in the first sentence- This is the most complete book on a Martial Art that I have seen printed in English. I helps you remember what your Sabunim told you in class.
Stuart
rated it really liked it
Aug 28, 2011
Russ Osterman
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2015
Don Moore
rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2011
Jon Michael Smith
rated it it was amazing
Dec 22, 2011
Donald
rated it it was amazing
Sep 02, 2012
Michael Hultström
rated it it was ok
May 07, 2018
Stephanie
rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2008
Rion
rated it liked it
Nov 28, 2011
Avregina
rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2014
Brad Matthies
rated it it was amazing
Nov 24, 2014
James Studer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2019
Robert Tallini
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2016
Richard Doell
rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2012
George
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2016
Justin Fleming
rated it it was amazing
Oct 14, 2018
Neil Carpenter
rated it it was amazing
Dec 02, 2012
Hendrik Du Plooy
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2016
Alec Baker
rated it it was amazing
Mar 14, 2013
Jeremy Masters
rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2018
Nathanael Keeler
rated it it was amazing
Oct 12, 2014
Jeff Wilsbacher
rated it it was amazing
Jun 01, 2015
Sebastian
rated it it was amazing
Dec 26, 2011
Matt
rated it it was amazing
Dec 18, 2012
Derek
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2013
Rajesh Dalvi
rated it it was amazing
Dec 03, 2015
Whitetiger
rated it it was amazing
Jan 11, 2018
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »