Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fallen (After Trilogy, #1)” as Want to Read:
Fallen (After Trilogy, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fallen

(After Series #1)

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  180 ratings  ·  78 reviews
As chaos descends on a crippled Earth, survivors are tormented by strange psychic gifts. In this time of apocalyptic despair, love is put to the test. One woman with mysterious healing power guides seven children to safety. Charismatic Arthur offers her a haven. Slowly Emma falls for him. But at the moment of their sweetest love, his devastating secret is revealed, and ...more
Paperback, 240 pages
Published July 27th 2011 by Telemachus Press (first published July 12th 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fallen, please sign up.
Recent Questions
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.82  · 
Rating details
 ·  180 ratings  ·  78 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Fallen (After Trilogy, #1)
R.S. Carter
Sexism is alive and well in the aftermath of an apocalyptic event. Blatant, completely unchecked sexism. And our very strong protagonist doesn't seem to mind in the slightest.



Emma has many assets, but she secures a position of safety for her and her brood through sexual favors offered to the man in charge. I actually understood that part. She was desperate, she wanted her children to be safe - it was gritty and real. The domineering Arthur accepts her "contributions" in lieu of safety and there
...more
Jenne
Dec 19, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.25
Ok well that ending pretty much guarantees you'll be one clicking book 2. I thought this was pretty unique for a dystopian, dissolving mists?! I don't think I've read one like that. I kind of thought it was a X-Men meets the Hunger Games kind of book. The author does a good job selling you on the characters. I loved them all and I even warmed up to the a$$hat Russian by the end of the book lol. I think if you like dystopians and soap operas lol you'd like this!
Ezinwanyi
**Re-Read on 8/14/15***

Imagine the world AFTER an attack decimates most of what we know as our world today. Well, the characters in this book characterize the events of their lives as things happened to them BEFORE or AFTER this apocalyptic event. This book was a really great read. I was glued to my kindle and couldn’t put it down.

This story starts AFTER by introducing us to Emma Anderson, her biological daughter, Mandy, and 7 other orphans that she has “adopted” while looking for shelter from “
...more
Cathy  Keaton
Sep 30, 2011 rated it did not like it
Here's an adult romance title that suffers from having a really good story to tell, but it is ruined by its intolerable main characters. And, it doesn't take long to see just how awful they really are, as you need only read into the book a few pages to see the main character, Emma, offering to prostitute herself to a man she barely meets in order to live in his camp with eight needy kids-in-tow. No, she is not already a prostitute, so, yes, this is very random and unnecessary behavior on her ...more
L.V. Lewis
Sep 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Let me just throw this out there: I love dystopian books.

A few other things you might want to know about me is 1) I love science fiction, 2) I love the conflict of man against nature gone wrong, and 3) I love a hearty romance thrown in there for good measure. Fallen had all of these ingredients, and more.

In Fallen, author Traci L. Slatton has built a world where noxious mists have killed off a goodly number of the earth’s inhabitants, dissolved much of its commerce, and crippled civilization to
...more
Dianne
A mysterious mist is devastating the world, humans caught in the mist are reduced to water and sand in an excruciating death. The survivors were left with little but their wits and luck in the cruel game of survival. True leaders are born who are not all bright and shiny, they are damaged, flawed and human, doing whatever they need to do to survive and provide relative safety for those in their care. Emma has been caring for a group of children in the months since the mist arrived, so when ...more
Wendy Hines
Jan 14, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Emma has eight children she is valiantly trying to keep alive. Most of the world is dead as a deadly mist has rose through-out the world. One breath of it and you die, horribly. There are a few places, like Canada, that haven't been affected, but trying to cross an ocean is deadly.

She's been dodging rebel gangs for weeks now, and she's tired. When a band of friendly men help her save her daughter from the mists, she knows this is her chance. They have a safe camp and she will do what it takes to
...more
JenniferJ
Nov 12, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Oh my God! This book was soooo so good! The first few sentences draw you in and take you on an emotional roller coaster ride and just when you think it's okay to uncover your eyes or quit screaming it takes off again!

Emma is a woman who has been separated from her husband and older daughter, been thru heck and saw so much pain and suffering from the mists that have taken over and killed most everything in their path. Strange things are happening because of the mists...the ones who have survived
...more
WildAboutBones
This is a paranormal romance without any supernatural elements. I laughed a little, which may sound somewhat strange for a end of the world disaster story, and I cried several times. While it is a romance, it has a heart wrenching and depressing tone throughout and is not what typical paranormal romance fans are used to.

Almost everyone is dead, killed by a deadly 'pearlescent' mist which came up from the ground and then out of the oceans to kill by turning internal organs to mush, heating it up
...more
Lady Raven RAVE!
http://www.romancenoveljunkies.com for readers

BRIEF SUMMARY
In a post apocalyptic world, survivors are trying to survive in France. Emma and her daughter are trying to survive along with seven other children that she has found along the way when they stumble across Arthur and his men. Both Emma and Arthur struck a deal in order to survive together until true intentions and secrets are revealed.

THOUGHTS

I found ‘Fallen’ to be a very interesting read. I haven’t really read apocalyptic sceneries
...more
K~Terror
Well hell, Traci, you left me hanging...

I've downloaded book 2!
Jessie  (Ageless Pages Reviews)
Read This Review & More Like It On My Blog!

I, quite simply, wanted to love Fallen. I'm often an easy sucker for a well-told post-apocalyptic novel full of second chances and "special abilities": the exact premise and subsequent hope I had for this one when I stumbled upon it browsing NetGalley one night. I wanted to be swept away into a story of love and hope in the ashes of a epic, world-changing disaster, and on some levels that is exactly what Fallen is. Though Ms. Slatton's novel is
...more
TP
Jul 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Update: the series includes 4 books so far, but the fourth ends in a cliffhanger as well. It was published in 2015 since then there is no news I am aware of when or if the story continues. So if you don’t want to be left hanging like I am, I recommend to not start this series. Besides the fact that the quality of the books decreases with every book after the first one. Ever more inconsistencies, decisions based on incomprehensible, silly, or half reasonings. I only kept reading, because I didn’t ...more
Sandy S
Aug 11, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
FALLEN (After Trilogy #1) by Traci L. Slatton

FALLEN is the first book in author Traci L. Slatton’s After trilogy. Following an apocalyptic nightmare where most the world’s population has been eaten by the poisonous mists that seem to appear out of thin air, the remaining small pockets of survivors (throughout the world) fight to stay alive. With rations in short supply, and marauding bands of thieves and cannibals on the search for a new source of food, Emma Anderson and her little family of 8
...more
Stéphanie
It’s the end of the world. Probably. Mists appeared out of thin air one day, and they have brought destruction to the earth. The mists seem to have mind of their own and like sentient beings, they move around with a purpose, feeding on buildings, animals and humans, and eradicating them by turning them to dust. The whole world has been touched by these mists and from those who have survived, some have literally gone crazy while others have developed psychic abilities. At first, I really didn’t ...more
Van (Short & Sweet Reviews)
Disclosure: I received a review copy from the author in exchange for a honest review.

Fallen is set in a post-apocalyptic France. Our main heroine Emma was with her daughter Mandy on a business trip when the world ended. A mysterious and lethal mist came out of nowhere and devoured everything in its path. The mist seems to be attracted to metal; wiping out buildings, technology and even people that come too close to it. It’s been approximately 10 months since the mist emerged and Emma is doing
...more
Jael
Dec 14, 2011 rated it really liked it
Looking at the cover of Fallen by Traci L. Slatton, I thought perhaps this is a paranormal book. Are there vampires? Goblins? No and no. It's a post-apocalyptic world, where people have been stripped of everything. They have to rely on each other for survival. New alliances and intimate relationships are formed. But at the core of this book, is a love story. A love story that might not have happened if the entire world hadn't changed.

Deadly mists are killing billions of people. The poisonous
...more
Evelyn Amaro
Nov 10, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Anyone who can read! It is amazing!
Read my full review on Paromantasy

This book in three words: Amazing, Haunting, Suspenseful

Fallen is a book about survival, betrayal, love, secrets, danger and hope. It will instantly transport you to a post-apocalyptic world that is being terrorized by deadly mists and is filled with danger at every turn.

What would you do to save your family and ensure survival following the nearly complete annihilation of the world as you know it? Emma is faced with that question when she finds herself in
...more
Julie Witt
Oct 14, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed, netgalley
I received this book free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

From Goodreads: "As chaos descends on a crippled Earth, survivors are tormented by strange psychic gifts. In this time of apocalyptic despair, love is put to the test. One woman with mysterious healing power guides seven children to safety. Charismatic Arthur offers her a haven. Slowly Emma falls for him. But at the moment of their sweetest love, his devastating secret is revealed, and they are lost to each
...more
Moonlight Gleam
Nov 11, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Lethal mists have taken over the Earth, killing millions, destroying buildings, and dissolving all living things. Humans have become prey; once coming into contact with the mists, everyone and everything dissipates into a pile of water and dust. Very few have survived, those who are left must stick together to find food and shelter themselves against the mists.

Emma, her daughter Mandy, and a few several orphaned children are survivors. Some have developed supernatural abilities. Emma can heal
...more
Allizabeth Collins
Description:
In this fast-paced post-apocalyptic romance, the Earth is plagued by lethal mists that dissolve all living organisms and metal structures, excluding plants. Anything the mists touch, including humans, becomes a formless dead dust; and most of the human and animal populations have fallen prey.
Emma and her daughter Mandy have survived the mists, finding food and shelter in whatever places they can. There are several orphaned children in their group, a few with strange gifts that
...more
Meg - A Bookish Affair
Fallen takes place in a post-apocalyptic world. The book is set in France. A toxic mist that instantly kills anyone who comes into contact with it is killing so many people. People are spending their time running from the mists and trying to stay alive in a very chaotic world. I would be terrified to live in this world. The premise of the story was very interesting.

Emma's, the main character, family has been torn apart by the mists. She is with her younger daughter while she's wondering what
...more
J.C. Hart
Oct 20, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really, really liked this book. I've read an awful lot of YA this year, so it was a lovely change to read something that is more for adults than teens.

Right from the very beginning of this book I was transported from the modern world into Slatton's post-apocalyptic vision of the future. A future that could happen, you just never know. Right from the beginning, you also can't help but connect with the main character, Emma, as she watches a situation unfold which, one way or the other, looks
...more
Heather in FL
Very interesting concept. (Not smutty at all for my smutty friends, but still a great story.)

The story opens After, in post-apocalyptic France, with Emma having acquired several children (including one of her own) to protect while trying to stay alive and safe herself. She was in France when the mists struck, while her husband and other daughter were over in Canada. Since the mists struck, people are just trying to survive. The mists have bestowed parapsychological gifts on some, made others go
...more
Andrea Murray

I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

I’m afraid Fallen fell a bit short for me. Lots of action? You betcha. Lots of characters to remember? You betcha. Lots of ‘mist’ rules? You betcha. Protagonist catchphrase that drove me as crazy as the mists? You betcha. Post-apocalyptic bliss? Not so much.

The idea of the novel isn’t really unique. These “end of the world we are all so dead” novels seem to be pretty common nowadays, probably because of the doomsday tv of late;
...more
Carol Ward
Jun 19, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love disaster movies - I think it has something to do with the way the survivors handle surviving. I love disaster/post-apocalyptic books even more, so it's safe to say I loved this book.

Fallen grabs you from the very beginning and only reluctantly lets you go at the end. Emma and her young daughter Mandy have been separated from the rest of their family by a very unnatural, world-wide disaster - a lethal mist that seems to come out of nowhere seeking metals to ingest, even the metals in
...more
Annette M Guerriero Nishimoto
Today's review is on Fallen (After) by Traci L. Slatton

Because I'm not a huge fan of the post-apocalyptic and/or dystopian genres, I was a bit hesitant to read Fallen. But once I got started there was nothing that could have kept me from finishing this fantastically written story. Packed with danger and excitement, twists and turns, and an amazing love story, Fallen is one of those books that you just have to have!

A strange mist has destroyed most of the earth and has killed millions of people.
...more
Lydia Presley
Original review posted here

So there is a lot, and I do mean a lot, of dystopia slash apocalyptic literature being published these days, especially for young adults. Now, don’t get me wrong – I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I have issues with the cut and paste stories of some of them, but as a whole they are fairly decent (and some even exceptional).

That said, I was missing reading it on more of an adult level – because there is no way that an apocalyptic word wouldn’t have some people doing
...more
Erica Hunt
Sep 29, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I finished Fallen a long time ago but have never gotten around to writing its review. The first thing I will say is I almost gave up on this book. I really was not into in the beginning, but I figured I would give it 100 pages and if I still hated it I would move on. Well there hit a point and I was sucked in. This book is a story about the world post end of days. It centers around a mother who is traveling with her own daughter, and several other children she has picked up along the way. Each ...more
drey
Dec 26, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2011-reads, dystopia
drey’s thoughts: Fallen starts off with a bang, capturing your attention right away…

Yikes!! This is so not a world I want to live in–a mysterious mist that kills, rogue bands of survivors who round up women and children for far more nefarious purposes than you could imagine, dwindling food supplies…

It is in this world that Emma Anderson finds herself in charge of her five-year-old daughter Mandy, and seven other children; trying to survive and keep them safe and alive. When she meets a band of
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Altered (Altered, #1)
  • Sin & Chocolate (Demigod of San Francisco, #1)
  • Lies
  • The Child Thief (The Child Thief  #1)
  • Wanna Bet? (Dirty British Romance, #2)
  • Possession (Perversion Trilogy, #2)
  • Perversion (Perversion Trilogy, #1)
  • Deep Shadows (The Child Thief #2)
  • Ice Planet Barbarians (Ice Planet Barbarians, #1)
  • The Golden Line (Knotted #1)
  • Permission (Perversion Trilogy, #3)
  • Evening Star (The Drifters & Dreamers #3)
  • Sweet Tilly (The Drifters & Dreamers #2)
  • Before Jamaica Lane (On Dublin Street, #3)
  • The Two Week Arrangement (Penthouse Affair, #1)
  • Dark Horse (Class 5, #1)
  • Chances (The Love's Valley #3)
  • Payback (Harris Brothers #6)
See similar books…
239 followers
Traci L. Slatton, author of FALLEN and COLD LIGHT, is a graduate of Yale and Columbia. She lives in Manhattan, and her love for Renaissance Italy inspired her historical novel IMMORTAL and her contemporary vampire art history mystery THE BOTTICELLI AFFAIR. FALLEN is the first in a romantic trilogy set during the end times; COLD LIGHT and FAR SHORE further the dystopian tale. DANCING IN THE ...more

Other books in the series

After Series (4 books)
  • Cold Light
  • Far Shore
  • Blood Sky
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“I belong to myself.” I wanted to snap at him, but it came out soft, like a kitten’s purr. I sort of hated myself for that.” 0 likes
“After all the years of med school and internship and residency and specialization, my life was about to start. I was going to have a golf membership and a six-bedroom house and a Jaguar, and a blonde wife who was very pretty and very, very useless.”

Slatton, Traci L. (2011-07-12). Fallen (After Book 1) (p. 28). Parvati Press. Kindle Edition.”
0 likes
More quotes…