Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Doctor of Thessaly.” as Want to Read:
The Doctor of Thessaly.
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Doctor of Thessaly.

(The Greek Detective #3)

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  450 ratings  ·  77 reviews
A jilted bride weeps on an empty beach. A local doctor is attacked in an isolated churchyard. Trouble arrives at a bad time to the backwater village of Morfi, just as the community is making headlines with a visit from a high-ranking government minister. Fortunately, where there's trouble, there's Hermes Diaktoros, the mysterious fat man whose tennis shoes are always prist ...more
Paperback, 248 pages
Published June 1st 2011 by Bloomsbury UK (first published July 6th 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Androcles
Sep 05, 2011 rated it really liked it
This is a thoroughly good read, with Anne Zouroudi in top form. The third in her Hermes Diaktoros series finds our erstwhile fat detective in a small town in rural Thrace - where long forgotten by the tourist throng the local inhabitants scratch out a living. First impressions are that it is not a happy place and in true Zouroudi style the story soon becomes populated by an assortment of characters more often than not somewhat morose and suspicious at the fat man's presence. Why is he there? Wel
...more
Donna
Nov 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime-mystery
This is my first book by this author. It was a book needed for a book challenge I'm working on. It's in the crime/mystery genre and it is set in Greece. I'm between 3 and 4 stars on this.

I didn't love how the audio started. It sounded so formal and seemed overacted. But soon, that style was completely working for the story. It read almost like a play, which is why I think I had a hard time sinking into this at first. But when the story really started and I knew who was who, I was into it. I lik
...more
Karen
Sep 27, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime, european
Reading a series in order, I’ve decided, is too normal. Or at least that’s the best excuse I can come up with for starting the Hermes Diaktoros series at book number three - THE DOCTOR OF THESSALY.

Set in a tiny Greek village, a crying jilted bride, leads quickly to the discovery of the groom, and local doctor, horribly scarred and blinded by an attack on the morning of his wedding. Surprisingly almost sanguine about the attack, the doctor is rushed off to hospital, refusing to see his intended b
...more
Aristotle
Sep 18, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Hermes Diaktoros sees into your soul

...so tell no lies

A crisp, well written story.
I look forward to reading about my friends, Hermes Diaktoros of Athens, next sojourn.
Lauren K
Jan 02, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: crime-mystery
The Fat Man is back (and yes it seems the author has continued the use of the ‘fat man’ to refer to her protagonist). I accidently picked up this book not knowing it was the third in The Greek Detective series (I meant to read the second) but it must have been sitting on my shelves out of order so this is the one I read. It didn’t seem to matter though, because each of these books work well as a standalone. Again, I learnt little about the Fat Man, known as Hermes Diaktoros. This time around it ...more
okyrhoe
Compared to the first two books in the series, this third volume is shorter in length, and a somewhat sparer narrative, containing less imagery and details of the landscape, flora and fauna that characterized the uniqueness of the former. Despite that, the descriptions are precise and vivid. One can clearly picture the remote village and the villagers that Hermes Diaktoros interacts with.
He is once again possessed with an uncanny intuition, willing to forgive the faults and foibles of the goodh
...more
Margaret
Jun 17, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: library-books
The Doctor of Thessaly is the third in the series of the Mysteries of the Greek Detective, about Hermes Diaktoros, a mysterious fat man. I was never sure who he worked for, or how he knew of the mystery to solve. Each of the books in the series features one of the Seven Deadly Sins – in this one it is envy, a tale of revenge and retribution.

Set in the little Greek village of Morfi, it begins with Chrissa, a jilted bride weeping on the beach, and then moves on quickly to the discovery of the loca
...more
Carey Shea
Nov 04, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Sherlock Holmes fans
Recommended to Carey by: Goodreads
Shelves: giveaway
I won this book on the Givaways section.

pg 75-I am really liking this book so far. It's intriguing and keeps my curiosity up. I wonder why the inspector is suddenly in this little town in Greece. Why is he there?

I'm done! I really loved this book. It's a story about a wedding in a town called Morfi in Greece that has gone really bad. Chrissa is to marry the new doctor in town called Dr. Louis Chabrol. He never shows up to the wedding. Instead, he is found on a street badly burned and his eyes ar
...more
Shari
Oct 01, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
There are a lot of reviewers talking about "the fat man" detective of these Seven Deadly Sin mysteries, and likening our Hermes Diaktoros to Nero Wolfe. Hmmm. Well, not, I think. To call Hermes a detective is stretching a point. He's an "orchestrator." He is more than he seems to be. He reads people, knows more than he should know, can be cruel when he feels it's appropriate or lavishly forgiving and kind. He admits he comes from a "higher authority" and avers that his job is justice--to see tha ...more
Terri
Feb 26, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery, foreign-land
The basic premise of this series is that a "Detective" arrives when he's needed. He is not conntected to the police in any way, but infers that he is sent by a group in charge of exerting justice.

This detective is a fat man (and referred to often in the story) who loves to keep his tennis shoes white...but there's a touch of magic about him, he goes about his business of righting a wrong very discreetly, and along the way makes a few other lives a bit brighter. Yes, it's a feel good series, but
...more
Shae Johnson
Nov 04, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Very cleverly written mystery. The main character is "the fat man" who seems to know the town well and observes even better. He is a cross between Columbo, Miss Marple, and Sherlock Holmes. In his quiet way, he goes about solving the mystery of Dr. Louis Chabrol's "accident"--an assault that leaves him burned and blind though he doesn't want to press charges.

I found myself continuing to read so I could understand where the fat man was going in his thinking. The author wonderfully weaves togethe
...more
Jenine
Jul 24, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
These books make reference to the beauty of the Greek landscape and the delights of the good life there. But they spend even more time describing claustrophobic village societies; the sights and smells of poverty; and sexist assumptions about women's lives. I appreciate the ambivalence although sometimes I wish for less mildew.
Hermes Diaktoros is quite an appealing force outside of Christianity, conventional society or the law.
Diane Cranson
Oct 12, 2016 marked it as to-read
Shelves: mystery, fiction, greece
I really enjoyed The Doctor of Thessaly. Hermes Diaktoros is a brilliant creation. Is he mortal or immortal? In this book he mentions a son, and a cousin makes a brief appearance. Will we learn more about Hermes' family in later outings? The mystery as well as the main character is intriguing. I'm looking forward to reading the next volume in the series.
Claire
Sep 12, 2014 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Review: The Doctor of Thessaly The setting of this novel was quite interesting, and it kept me reasonably interested at times in the story. I didn't feel that I connected properly with the characters, which is probably due to my not really getting into this book, rather than the book itself.
Ann Tonks
Curious style and lead character but enough depth of culture and story telling that I enjoyed it and might try another.
Debbie
Feb 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
(Fiction, Mystery, Series #3)

I wasn’t sure what to expect of my first meeting with Hermes Diaktoros, but I was eager to make his acquaintance so when Netgalley offered these first three in the series, I jumped.

The series is set in Greece at an undetermined time – but in very real settings that make little or no use of modern technology. That could be mid-20th century, or it could be present day in an isolated rural area that is not up to date. To further confuse things, Hermes’ methods are very
...more
Domino Domino
Apr 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018
Brilliant! Best book I've read in ages. I'm to see how many other books she has written. The minute I finished it I gave it to my mother and made her read it straight away. Her verdict is the same as mine! The prose seems gentle but its fast moving and really paints a picture. All the characters are wonderfully written, and so easy to picture.
Amit
Dec 25, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery, fiction
Second one I read in the series. Another easy read. Smooth narration. Quirky characters. Alexander McCall Smith meets Agatha Christie. A touch of the greek slice of life. Easy read. Quite enjoyable.
Jan
Mar 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Another enjoyable book in the Hermes series.

Beautifully written, this conjures up the sights and sounds of the Greek Islands but exposes the hardships and superstitions and gossip of village life where saving face and appearances of respectability are all important.
MaryT
Jan 15, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I picked up as a quick book to read from the library. There were some points of interest but pretty dull tbh. The conclusion was unnecessarily contrived. I finished it though so deserving of more than one star.
Les Wilson
May 23, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
For me the best in the series.
Hazel Katherine
Jun 24, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Clever book. Great characters. Kept my interest. Plenty of twists. Made me want to read more of Anne Zouroudi's work.
Suzy
Apr 08, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked it till the end, too disturbing
Gail Weisse
Apr 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
her books are always a delight. Main character is a detective / maybe a God. This book focuses on the deadly sin of Envy.
DelAnne Frazee
May 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Title: The Doctor Of Thessaly - Seven Deadly Sins - Hermes Diaktoros Series 3
Published: 12-4-12
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company/Reagan Author Books/Hachette Book Group
Pages: 286
Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense
Sub Genre: Police Procedural; Series; Cozy Mystery
ISBN: 9780316107859
ASIN: B007ZFIR08
Reviewer: DelAnne
Reviewed For: NetGalley
My Rating: 4 1/2 Stars

.
A jilted bride weeps on an empty beach. A local doctor is attacked in an isolated churchyard. Trouble arrives at a ba
...more
Jane
"[Envy's] breast is green with gall; her tongue is dripping with venom. Smiles there are none, except such as the sight of grief has excited. Nor does she enjoy sleep, being kept awake with watchful cares; but sees with sorrow the successes of men, and pines away at seeing them." Ovid Metamorphoses, Book II, Fable XIII


Another of the author's "Seven Sins" mysteries with Hermes Diaktoros. This was weaker and not quite up to the standard of the others in the series I've read, but worth reading al
...more
Kara
Nov 03, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Let me start by saying that I won this book through a Goodreads Giveaway. One of the few things I have ever won and I am glad I did!

This was such an interesting book! This is #3 in the series but I don't think that was a big deal. I will not go into detail describing the plot. If you want that, read the book description. What the book description does not tell you is how the author will suck you into the story with her sparse yet descriptive narrative. I love reading books that don't go into min
...more
Yvonne
This one starts with a woman who's left at the altar by her fiance, the new town doctor. We find out that the reason he never makes it is because someone has thrown something in his face which has blinded him. A mysterious man named Hermes, who the writer refers to as the fat man, steps in to try to solve the crime no one including the victim seemed interested in solving.

I was never drawn to this story despite all the local color described. There are no real clues leading up to solving the crime
...more
Austen to Zafón
It's November here in the drizzly northwest, so when I saw what looked like a bit of a cozy mystery at the library and it said "Set against a sparkling Mediterranean backdrop" on the back, I was out the door with it before you could say "I could learn to like ouzo." And it was pretty cozy: Small Greek village where gossip is the main occupation, jilted bride, mysterious revenge crime, and "the mysterious fat man whose tennis shoes are always pristine and whose investigative methods are always un ...more
Maeta
Feb 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
There are many books that take you in and make you feel like part of the story. And there are many books that you want to re-read because it is like visiting an old friend. This is one of them. I have read it twice and plan on reading it again. Hermes is a great character, as are all the others in the story. I want to sit down and have a cup of greek coffee with him, and visit the various places in the town, greeting everyone.

I plan on reading her other books as soon as I can get my hands on a
...more
Sean
Apr 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Disclaimer: ARC copy from Netgalley.

The Doctor of Thessaly, by Anne Zouroudi, is an even better book than the first two, if that's believable, the way I reviewed the last one. Once again, we return to the Greek Detective series featuring our beloved hero, Hermes Diaktoros, who is just passing through a town this time when he witnessed a doctor being ridden through town who was the victim of a chemical burn attack to his face. Well, we all know Hermes doesn't like to leave justice unpursued, so
...more
Deborah
Jun 09, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Deborah by: NetGalley
Shelves: netgalley, own
4.5 stars

Read my review of the first book in the series, The Messenger of Athens, here: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show....

Zouroudi provides a strong third entry in her Seven Deadly Sins series with The Doctor of Thessaly. She upends the reader's expectations from the very beginning (view spoiler), and the twists keep coming. The entire series is built around the idea of poetic justice, where the punishme
...more
Nancy
Mar 02, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Nancy by: Terri
This is my first book by this author and I'm going looking for the others. It is just a little difficult to get into because it began with very short chapters each for a different character, some with no names. It took a while to put them all together but I quickly became interested and the end was a real shocker.
The only thing that is disconcerting is that by the descriptions of the people and their lives/homes, I have no desire to visit Greece. I can't tell if the author likes Greece or not.
Linda Munro
Nov 03, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I found this book through a contest on goodreads. It was just one of those books that you had to read.

I probably would never have heard of this book if it had not been for goodreads; so I guess I must say, thank you. The book is a ‘seven deadly sins mystery,’ but it reminded me a great deal of the old Nero Wolfe mysteries. The main character, although named on several occasions throughout the book is most often referred to as the ‘fat man.’ He is some type of government worker, yet the exact cou
...more
Jennifer
Another dip of my toe into the Aegean (or maybe it isn't, my knowledge of Greek geography isn't good and Zouroudi's novels are not educational in that sense, despite the vivid (and claustrophobic) sense of place. I do feel that you have to take a lot on trust, go with the flow with these unconventional crime stories, but they do make a pleasant change. The biggest mystery is the identity of Hermes who seems almost supernatural, a literal deus ex machina, except that he has useful cousins.

I found
...more
Scilla
Sep 29, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Hermes Diaktoros, the Fat Man, is in a small town where a spinster was just jilted by the foreign doctor, who didn't show up for the wedding. The doctor, Louis, was found by a special needs boy, near the old cathedral. He had had a chemical thrown in his face which blinded and disfigured him. When the Fat Man visited Louis in the hospital he didn't want to press claims, but the Fat Man investigated anyway. While doing that, he also thwarted the efforts of former politicians who were out to embar ...more
Susan
Dec 25, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery-europe
When Hermes Diaktoros, an investigator of Athens, comes to a small Greek town, things are usually amiss. He talks to the locals, has a drink at the bar, drinks lots of coffee, and somehow things change. Sometimes the guilty are punished, but generally the humble, respectful, mistreated end up a little better off. When a new doctor in town is blinded by acid on his wedding day, there are a number of local suspects. Oddly, the doctor himself doesn't want any investigation. His fiancee and her sist ...more
Marjorie
I was set to completely enjoy this not-murder mystery set in a a Greek village that could have been Zorba's home town... The protagonist is a bit of a renegade, but appears in the village for no reason, takes on detecting pro-bono, is constantly referred to as the fat man, but is described as being fit, and easily goes on cross-country runs with ease; he machinates the local politics, reveals solution to the mystery with information only he has access to and supports will-intentioned and 'moral' ...more
Janosch
Apr 25, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Zouroudi has created an unique character and her own, different to other normal crime stories, way of fascinating the reader.
I am not sure if we could call our charming and funny Diaktoros a private detective. He is such a natural character and person. Every story about him is a pure joy. Wonderful described world and captivatingly atmosphere.
I really recommend the series! Every single book in it is readable without having read the first one and you will have a thrilling time.
Go and pick one up!
...more
William Beauvais
thoroughly enjoyable read although the lead character gets a little tedious with all his knowing. charming little cosy and I will read the other books in the series.
Pip Jennings
Apr 10, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked the first in the series ( Messenger of Athens) better than this book. This just seem to miss the mark somehow although it is still interesting & enjoyable.
Karen Lowe
Jul 25, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another absorbing and enjoyable read in this great series. Feel like I've been holidaying on a Greek island - a real sense of place. And a good twist to the tale.
Shani
Nov 20, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A small Greek town with its own share of problems and heartache and a mysterious trouble-shooter untangling the knots in the people's lives. An interesting new read, I will look out for more of this author
Almeta
The Seven Deadly Sins Mystery series = Envy
Rita Wilson
#1 in this series is still my favorite.
Marie
Dec 30, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good story, great place descriptions, annoying repetition of "the fat man" for the primary character. It's not as if his name is never given; we *know* it. So an occasional "Hermes" or "Diaktoros" would not interfere with the enigma surrounding him. "The fat man" in every other sentence is a distracting intrusion, especially once I realized that these novels are based on the Seven Deadly Sins, and there are only three (four?) written so far! Writers that get a shtick going and never ease up on i ...more
Tara
Nov 05, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
I received this book in a goodreads first reads giveaway.

We're never told why Hermes Diaktoros is in Morfi, but there he is, eating, cleaning his shoes, and judging the locals on their manners. The town doctor is mysteriously blinded, and Diaktoros finds he must stay to figure out what happened. At first, many of the townspeople seem to be of questionable character, and you wonder why anyone sticks around, but some of them redeem themselves towards the end. This is a fun mystery, with a very str
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Murder in Mykonos (Andreas Kaldis, #1)
  • Slash and Burn (Dr. Siri Paiboun, #8)
  • Ten Lords A-Leaping (Father Christmas Mystery, #3)
  • The Late-night News (Costas Haritos #1)
  • Miss Dimple Suspects (Miss Dimple Kilpatrick #3)
  • Rogue Herries
  • The Assassin's Riddle (The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, #7)
  • Behold a Pale Horse (Sister Fidelma, #22)
  • Enemies at Home (Flavia Albia Mystery, #2)
  • The Marathon Conspiracy (The Athenian Mysteries, #4)
  • All the Dead Voices (Ed Loy, #4)
  • The Caretaker (Ranjit Singh, #1)
  • A Death Along the River Fleet (Lucy Campion Mysteries, #4)
  • Far Cry
  • Wake Up Dead (Cape Town #2)
  • The Assembly Room
  • The Killer Wore Leather: A Mystery
  • Dans les bois éternels (Commissaire Adamsberg, #7)
86 followers
Born in rural Lincolnshire in 1959, Anne moved to South Yorkshire at the age of two. Following her education at Sheffield High School for Girls, she went into the IT industry, a career which took her to both New York’s Wall Street and Denver, Colorado. In America she began to take seriously her ambition to write fiction, and bought a typewriter for her first short stories.

On returning to the UK, s
...more

Other books in the series

The Greek Detective (8 books)
  • The Messenger of Athens (The Greek Detective #1)
  • The Taint of Midas (The Greek Detective #2)
  • The Lady of Sorrows (The Greek Detective #4)
  • The Whispers of Nemesis (The Greek Detective, #5)
  • The Bull of Mithros (The Greek Detective, #6)
  • The Feast of Artemis (The Greek Detective, #7)
  • The Gifts of Poseidon (The Greek Detective #8)