Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mouse and Mole: A Perfect Halloween” as Want to Read:
Mouse and Mole: A Perfect Halloween
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mouse and Mole: A Perfect Halloween (Wong Herbert Yee's Mouse and Mole)

by
3.72  ·  Rating details ·  123 Ratings  ·  17 Reviews
Share another vibrant autumn season with Mouse and Mole in the sixth installment of this Geisel Honor Award–winning series.
"Eeny, meeny, miny, mumpkin —Which of you will be my pumpkin?” Mouse likes Halloween.
In fact, Mouse loves Halloween. And with only a few days to go before the big day, Mouse has lots of preparations to make. There are decorations to hang up and pumpki
...more
Hardcover, 48 pages
Published September 6th 2011 by HMH Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mouse and Mole, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mouse and Mole

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Barbara
Oct 28, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: ncbla
In this book written for young readers, Mouse and Mole are preparing for Halloween, but the two have very different reactions to the spookiness associated with the holiday. While Mouse giggles about things that are scary and even sets up her own hanging plastic skeleton, Mole is frightened of just about everything that's a little different, including sights and sounds. Mouse knows that Halloween won't be much fun without her friend Mole, which leads her to read a story that helps Mole find a lit ...more
Christine Turner
Oct 15, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: early-readers
A Geisel Honor award-winning series "Eeny meeny, miny mumpkin . . . Which of you will be my pumpkin?" It's Halloween time for Mouse and Mole, but they both have different attitudes about the fall holiday. Mouse loves all the spooky-looking decorations and costumes. Mole thinks it's all very creepy and is afraid to go trick-or-treating. How can Mouse help a best friend who has become a big Scaredy-Mole?

Newly independent readers will enjoy finding out. Small, detailed illustrations add an extra l
...more
Lauren
Oct 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
These two friends are at it again! This book shows the pair getting ready for Mouse's favorite holiday and Mole's least favorite. Mouse loves Halloween and puts up decorations and even enters the two in a pumpkin carving contest. Mole is having nightmares and is scared to even leave his house. He enters the carving contest because it isn't too scary, but that cannot be said the same for the walk home. Mouse's job is to convince her friend that Halloween isn't too scary and that they should go tr ...more
Kate B
Apr 25, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Mouse and Mole are the animal Adam and Eve of a post-human America, finding their way in the unspoiled garden built on the bones of our world. Though we are long gone, our successors still hollowly honor our traditions, without any understanding of the fear of the dark that birthed this ancient holiday. Their ancestors, the vermin, were as much to blame for the fear of the dark as any ghast or specter, yet they live blissfully in their ignorance and cheerfully play with the bones of their forebe ...more
Dolly
Oct 21, 2011 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: children starting to read chapter books
Shelves: childrens, halloween, 2011
This is a fun chapter book about two characters, Mouse and Mole. The tale has a Halloween theme and the two friends have a fun and scary time. The illustrations are colorful and the chapters are short. We enjoyed reading this story together.
Janet
Oct 10, 2011 rated it really liked it
I certainly like Mouse and Mole; the friendship is great; it also shows friendship between a girl, Mouse and a boy, Mole; also that friends help one to grow, in this title to overcome a childhood fear. Great unique twist in this title, Mouse helps Mole with his fear by reading him a picture book which is blended into the larger story. On to reading more Mouse and Mole!
Kristine Hansen
Sep 30, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kids-easy-reader
As I was reading this I wondered what would happen to the pumpkin carved and put into a box and left outside like that for a week. Got my answer!

I like how Mouse helps Mole through his fears about Halloween. A good book for fall. :)
Sherry
Jul 19, 2012 rated it really liked it
Another good, classic, Mouse and Mole story. Kids love these, and what's nice is that they are long, with lots of words to read, but they are so lovingly illustrated and interesting, that kids read to the end despite them being the longest early chapter books they've ever read.
Stacia Leigh
Characters are unique and cute, illustrations are wonderful, and the short chapters are fun. What's not to like? Word length and story suitable for an early reader.
Judy Desetti
Mar 11, 2012 rated it liked it
Good selection to add to Halloween collection.
Tricia
Sep 30, 2011 rated it liked it
Lovable characters Mouse and Mole waver between fear and love of Halloween. Nice for children who are reading independently.
Alyson (Kid Lit Frenzy)
Oct 16, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: early-reader, holiday
Cute Halloween early reader.
Tierney
Such a sweet book about 2 friends and their Halloween adventures. Fun for very young kids and a great early reader. Recommended for fans of Frog & Toad.
Teri
Apr 13, 2013 rated it did not like it
Shelves: halloween
so bad!
Dolores
Mar 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Another adorable entry in this sweet and simple early reader series.
Hillvan
390L
Anne
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2016
Sage
rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2013
Nancy
rated it liked it
Nov 07, 2013
Mary Lee
rated it liked it
Oct 28, 2011
Alex Hyde
rated it it was amazing
Mar 03, 2016
Jeremy Gore
rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2014
Tara
rated it really liked it
Oct 18, 2016
Valerie
rated it it was amazing
Feb 08, 2013
Jacqueline Quinn
rated it it was amazing
Jul 31, 2014
Nancy
rated it liked it
Nov 22, 2011
Sara
rated it liked it
Jun 08, 2014
C.
rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2013
Esther May
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2012
Frances Biton
rated it it was amazing
Feb 16, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Wong Herbert Yee's Mouse and Mole (7 books)
  • Upstairs Mouse, Downstairs Mole
  • Abracadabra! Magic with Mouse and Mole
  • A Brand-New Day with Mouse and Mole
  • Mouse and Mole, Fine Feathered Friends (A Mouse and Mole Story)
  • Mouse and Mole: A Winter Wonderland
  • Mouse and Mole: Secret Valentine

Share This Book