Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fire in the Blood (Last Moon Rising #1)” as Want to Read:
Fire in the Blood (Last Moon Rising #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Fire in the Blood

(Last Moon Rising #1)

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  49 ratings  ·  29 reviews
Global warming is playing havoc on Earth, and when 17 year-old Haley tumbles to a parallel world, she discovers that Earth's issues stem from a war between the Eyids, the gods of nature. Because her necklace is a stone that holds the power of the Air Eyid, Haley is called upon to help stop the war. But Haley has a problem. Actually, two problems. One named Tuggin, and one ...more
Paperback, 284 pages
Published July 11th 2011 by CreateSpace (first published May 1st 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fire in the Blood, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Fire in the Blood

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.82  · 
Rating details
 ·  49 ratings  ·  29 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Fire in the Blood (Last Moon Rising #1)
Katy
Jun 29, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fans of adventure fantasy, esp. that involving teens
Recommended to Katy by: Dale Ibitz
Shelves: ebook
Please note: I originally read and reviewed this book in July 2011. I'm updating the formatting and adding the disclosure that I received a copy of this e-book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Synopsis: Haley is pretty much a typical 17-year-old girl – obsessed with boys, unsure of herself, more than a little selfish – and she’s upset. Today is her birthday, and she had wanted some nice, new clothes, and maybe a “hall god” for a boyfriend – she particularly has her eyes on Ian
...more
Lena
Jun 06, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fans of YA fantasy
Recommended to Lena by: C.D. Hussey
Okay, first off, let me just say that I usually avoid teen paranormal romance/fantasy/whatever you want to call it. But this one was really fun!

It's a hilarious fantasy/sci-fi book for young adults, complete with romance, the requisite love triangle, plotting and betraying, kidnappings, alternate worlds and runes, oh my! The whole time I was reading, I kept cracking up, which is not what I expect from this kind of book. But in the best way, of course! I love books that make me laugh. I was surpr
...more
Jonel
Dec 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Holy Cow!!! I can’t believe how caught up I was in this book. I admit that at the beginning I had a chapter or two wondering where this novel was headed, but then I could not put the book down. Ibitz has a writing style that immerses you into the action of the story. I wanted to run out and help the characters with their various trials. His descriptions make all of the different areas of the realm seem so real. Everything flows together to create a dynamic reading experience for his audience.

The
...more
Danielle Smiley
Jun 11, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
While reading Fire in the Blood, my rating of it fluctuated between 3 and 4 stars, finding it pretty much settled into a 3.75 by the end. This is really an amazing and fun read, but it does have some rough spots that need addressing.

So what did I love? The beautiful and creative world Ms. Ibitz creates in Fire in the Blood is simply outstanding. Eyidora is so unique!!! I love the premise of the book, the use of element-based gods and the twist on global climate change. It's fast paced with crazy
...more
Dianne
Feb 24, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Talk about a trip into a teen's mind! Haley's thoughts are priceless! She is a regular teen with all of the insecurities of not being part of the 'in group' at school. Haley has her crushes on the hall gods-the hot guys around school and the necessary fantasies, comments, etc.

Did I say she was a regular teen? Up until she turned seventeen, yes, after that, she is thrown into another realm, Eiydora, with the elemental gods warring over control and her right in the middle. I think it was amazing h
...more
Angie ~aka Reading Machine~
Haley Roble is turning seventeen years old today. She has secret crush on hall god Ian yet she's sure that he doesn't know she exists. Her best friend Elana is flirting with Ian in art class which spoils Haley's joy. Haley's adopted mom gives Haley a beautifully carved box and necklace. Then Haley finds herself on a strange planet called Eyidora and Haley meets up with Tuggin. Tuggin tells Haley to follow him. Haley has strange dreams where she meets with Eyid~emos named Nomer that tells her she ...more
Gabrielle Poplar
Jul 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Fire in the blood is an interesting read.

The plot straddles two worlds, and it nicely introduced the second world (Eyidora) to all earth kin persons. The novel handled the confusion in Haley very well, as she tried to figure out the situation she found herself, when she was transported to a strange world.

Also, I found myself relating easily to the errors in judgement she made as she tried to figure out who should be trusted, particularly since her crush on Ian, the hall god of her high school o
...more
C.D. Hussey
Jun 04, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book jumps right into the action, never stops, and barely slows down to catch its breath. It follows Haley as she is tossed into Eyidora and a battle between gods. The writing style is fun, often funny, and easy to read. I easily finished this book in a weekend it was so addictive.
Kim Nardi
Jan 12, 2013 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this book, was a quick read...will continue on with the series.
Eisah Eisah
Mar 12, 2014 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
What Makes Patri
Aug 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
We are The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club, to know more about this book, go to the post in our website:

Fire in the Blood (Last Moon Rising # 1) by Dale Ibitz

If you are interested, you can visit our website:

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club


The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club's Review:


Review:

We have received Fire in The Blood in our mailbox, thanks to the author, in exchange for an honest review.

Are you ready to be sucked into a Gods War? If so, prepare yourselves for an ad
...more
Tahlia Newland
Jan 30, 2013 rated it liked it
Fire in the Blood follows the story of a seventeen year old girl who finds herself thrust into another dimension after her stepmother gives her some things that belonged to her birth parents, a necklace and a box that turns out to be a portal. On arrival in this new world, a planet connected to the earth in some inter dimensional way, she is taken prisoner by a native called Tuggin, and they set off on a journey of several days, during which she has dreams of the old gods. They fill her in on a ...more
Jennifer  Ricketts (Donnie Darko Girl)
Haley is a typical junior in high school who finds out on her seventeenth birthday that she actually isn't so typical after all--there's more to who she is than she could have ever imagined. Falling through a portal, she ends up in another world.

I thought the idea behind the story was really creative--gods of the elements begin fighting, and this is what begins the global climate change on Earth, while the people on Earth are making it worse. This idea was what drew me to read this book in the
...more
Sarah-Jayne Briggs
Jan 21, 2014 rated it really liked it
(I received this book for free as part of Goodreads First Reads giveaways).

(This review may contain spoilers).

I actually won the third book in this series, but the author very kindly sent me the first two books as well.

I felt that this book worked quite well as an introduction to the world and characters, though I did think that Haley suffered a bit too much from 'hot guy syndrome'. It wasn't nearly as annoying as some of the books I've read, but some of the comments she made did induce a lot of
...more
Martha
Jan 18, 2013 rated it really liked it
Wow! Not was I was expecting...at all.

Haley. Your typical high school student. Crush on the hot guy. Bit of an outsider. Doesn't feel particularly special until Tuggin. I'm telling you that Tuggin made me want to back hand many, many MANY times. Yeah hes that sort of character. The kind you love to hate but still find him a bit endearing. But only a tiny bit because you can see through his armor when he lets his guard down enough. Ian on the other hand was not what I expected. Freaking incredibl
...more
Judy
Feb 02, 2013 rated it liked it
My Review: I love the concept of the globes or worlds being related and the war between the gods causing the global climate change on all. Haley, a descendant of these gods has been on earth for her protection and knows nothing about the world to which she is born; till on her seventeenth birthday she is transported there just after receiving a important stone. With this stone she is charged to help put the globes back in harmony. Not knowing who she can trust she lands herself in plenty of hot ...more
Jas
Jun 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Okay, this book was super duper good and I just love TUGGIN! The story came off a bit confusing but then everything just fell into place and I just loved how Tuggin took care of Haley even though he was acting as if he just hates the sight of her. I just hope there would be more turns and twists in the second book!
Fire in the Blood (Last Moon Rising #1) Fire in the Blood by Dale Ibitz

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Okay, this book was super duper good and I just love TUGGIN! The story came off a bit confusing but then everything just fell
...more
Kayt Harris
Jan 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I never would have picked this book off the shelf, not being a big fan of alternate worlds, but WOAH am I glad I did! This book was wonderful. Haley wakes on her 17th birthday to her typical day, nothing new, except she learns her adoptive mother knew her parents and knows where she is from. After the usual events of her day at school, Haley is catapulted into another world - the world she is originally from. Here she finds she holds the fate of the planet in her hands. She must unite the stones ...more
Linda Covella
Jul 25, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I really loved this book. There are so many facets it to it. Ibitz creates a completely realized new world with amazing details that makes this book a must read for fantasy lovers. In addition to that, she's spot on with her characterization of, Haley, the teen girl main character--braver than she realizes, she tends to fumble and stumble through the strange world she finds herself in, which only endears her to us, the readers, all the more.

There are the two conflicting young men who confuse her
...more
Shelly Schulz
Alternate world/universe books are something that I eat up like candy. This book was no exception to that. Fire in the Blood is a the first book in a promising young adult series. The main character Haley is a modern, typical seventeen year old girl, who wants nothing more than a "Hall-God" boyfriend, and to get through the day without some sort of muck up.

Instead, she's thrust into a parallel world called Eyidora by her adoptive mother when she's hunted by the same entity that killed her birth
...more
Stephen
Jun 20, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I really liked this book, I read it in only a few hours, and anxiously await the next
Ann Lee
May 15, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed the book, I gave it five stars. It held my attention, it has a very original plot.
Solano
May 25, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The ending is realistic.
Hall ratings
May 19, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The characters are believable with interesting backstories.
Traci
Jul 02, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The beginning of this book earned a solid 3 star rating. It was just a little too fast paced, skipping a lot of the necessary description to drag a reader into the story. There were many strong words in the beginning that felt awkward, as if they were placed there to create drama, with the effect of adding a forced feel to the first few chapters.

The plot of this book isn't exactly original: girl falls through portal, finds out she is the only one who can save the universe, doesn't know who to tr
...more
Jessica
Dec 03, 2014 rated it did not like it
Shelves: indie-authors
This book, the first in a young adult fantasy series, is based on a relatively original idea. A girl travels to another world in which the deities of Earth, Water, Air and Fire and their descendants are in a power struggle. The resulting disharmony affects the climate in all worlds.

Unfortunately, I didn't much like any other aspect of the book. The writing needs quite a bit of work. Dialogue is stilted and at times silly. The protagonist swoons over boys who treat her like garbage, which is not
...more
Brittney
Aug 21, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: ebooks
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review (We <3 YA)
This book had so much promise!! It sounds awesome. Climate change is actually due to dueling gods of another planet? Count me in! Unfortunately, it wasn't as good as I hoped it would be. The main character was quite whiney and, in my opinion, really stupid and ignorant. She couldn't figure out the simplest things and she doesn't even care that she isn't getting the terminology of the new planet right. That made me a little
...more
Divya
Aug 24, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2014
Review to come soon.
Jessica
Sep 10, 2011 rated it it was ok
I like this genre, but the writing was simple and a bit cheesy - I may still read the next in the series to see if it improves.
Darren
rated it really liked it
Oct 18, 2012
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book Junkies: January Indie BotM: Fire in the Blood by Dale Ibitz 13 44 Jan 29, 2013 12:32PM  
New YA Fantasy Read 3 4 Jul 21, 2011 07:42AM  
121 followers
Dale Ibitz was born in Oxford, Connecticut, grew up in the state of Washington, and then re-located back to Connecticut as an adult. Always a lover of books, she spent much of her childhood reading, visiting the library (her best friend’s mother was a librarian…how convenient), and writing. She majored in English at Central Connecticut State University, and while Dale holds a full-time day job whe ...more

Other books in the series

Last Moon Rising (4 books)
  • Strong Blood (Last Moon Rising, #2)
  • Water Over Blood (Last Moon Rising, #3)
  • Blood Tied (Last Moon Rising #4)

Related Articles

  Author C.L. Clark is no newcomer to the sci-fi and fantasy scene. Though she just published her first novel, The Unbroken, earlier this year,...
92 likes · 6 comments