Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Somebody’s Child: Stories about Adoption” as Want to Read:
Somebody’s Child: Stories about Adoption
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Somebody’s Child: Stories about Adoption

by
4.28  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  8 reviews
UNIVERSAL STORIES OF LONGING AND BELONGING


Our quest for origin and, by extension, identity is universal to the human experience. For the twenty-five contributors to Somebody’s Child, the topic of adoption is not—and perhaps never can be—a neutral issue. With unique courage, each of them discusses their experience of the adoption process. Some share stor
...more
Paperback, 256 pages
Published September 15th 2011 by TouchWood (first published September 6th 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Somebody’s Child, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Somebody’s Child

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-53
4.28  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  8 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Ruth Linka
Jun 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This book is part of a loosely linked series of books on the modern family. It's interesting to think about all the different forms a family can take these days and how we define family. The first book that started this off was Nobody's Mother: Life Without Kids. This was followed by Nobody's Father. All the books are personal stories or essays about a certain topic. I love the personal essay form because even if it's not MY story, or a topic I can relate to directly, the writers draw us in. It' ...more
Salena Koster
Mar 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing
This book is wonderful. Anyone whose life has been affected by adoption (which is practically everyone) should read this. Some essays are far more powerful than others, and many are not without their faults, but the sum of all of these different perspectives and experiences, both good and bad, is deeply moving.

One essay is by a woman named Nicole Callahan, an adoptee who reunited with her biological sister at age 27. She is writing her dissertation in adoption stories, and a few months ago she
...more
Sheila
May 12, 2012 rated it liked it
True short stories from a number of people involved with adoption. Some stories are written from the perspective of the birth mother, birth father, child, grandparent, sibling, and parents who adopted. It even includes the experience of lesbian couples who adopted. Some stories are sad, it seems many of the children who were adopted were not happy. Many children adopted were from intraracial relationships. Most of the events happened in Canada.
Dorothy
Aug 06, 2012 rated it liked it
This book is an anthology of stories written by people who are part of an adoption triangle. Some of the chapters are better written than others. Some are painful to read, and others more joyful.
Many of the stories recount what happens when adopted children are reunited with biological parents. I found it an interesting read but from my perspective, I would have liked to see more stories written from the point of view of the adoptive parents.
Ann Douglas
Apr 11, 2012 rated it it was amazing
A fascinating and beautifully crafted collection of stories about adoption. Highly recommended.

My review in The Toronto Star:

http://www.parentcentral.ca/parent/ba...

Jill
Jan 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Reading this book has made me so thankful for the journey we are travelling with adoption. The many perspectives the book offers had me shaking my fist in frustration and crying tears of grief for those who have lost so much and often, needlessly. Powerful in its rawness, an emotional read.
Caron Bright
Jun 07, 2013 rated it really liked it
as an adoptive mom with a toddler it gave a lot to think about
Tracy Trofimencoff
Jun 13, 2014 rated it really liked it
It was really good. So many stories and different points of view on the process and experience of adoption. I appreciated the fact that so many stories were about Canadians.
Kim
rated it really liked it
Jul 19, 2018
Kathryn
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2013
Matt Escott
rated it liked it
Feb 27, 2017
Jessica Kluthe
rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2012
Anne Sorbie
rated it it was amazing
Sep 02, 2012
Blake
rated it it was amazing
Nov 28, 2011
J. Robinson
rated it really liked it
May 21, 2012
beyond two worlds
rated it really liked it
Mar 09, 2012
Christin
rated it liked it
Sep 15, 2013
Karen
rated it really liked it
Feb 20, 2016
Devon Jones
rated it liked it
Oct 25, 2018
Matthew Salesses
rated it it was amazing
Sep 13, 2012
Amy
rated it it was amazing
Sep 07, 2012
Carolyn
rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2012
Kendra
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2017
Hannah
rated it really liked it
Mar 18, 2012
Carrie Potoff
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2013
Emily Shorthouse
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2012
Leanne
rated it liked it
May 03, 2016
Roy Huff
rated it it was amazing
Feb 15, 2014
Cathy Converse
rated it it was amazing
Mar 15, 2012
Heather
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2011
Mel
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2012
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2012
Christine
is currently reading it
Mar 19, 2012
Pam
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2012
Courtney
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2012
Kim Peterson
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2012
Sherri Keller
marked it as to-read
May 08, 2012
McKenna
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2012
Danielle Root
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2012
abcdefg
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2012
Vivian
marked it as to-read
Dec 02, 2012
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2012
Sofia Correia
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2013
Marisa
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2013
Danielle
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2013
Nicole Inglese
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2013
Corey
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2013
Dorlycue
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2013
Rachel Katz
marked it as to-read
May 19, 2013
Chelsea
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2013
Jana Van Buren
marked it as to-read
Jul 02, 2013
Ka
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2013
Akverlie
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2013
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
7 followers
Bruce Gillespie is the editor of the essay collection "A Family By Any Other Name: Exploring Queer Relationships." He is the co-editor of two other anthologies: "Somebody's Child: Stories About Adoption" and "Nobody's Father: Life Without Kids," all published by TouchWood Editions. He lives in Simcoe, Ontario, Canada.