Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Orderly Chaos: The Mandala Principle” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Orderly Chaos: The Man...
 
by
Chögyam Trungpa
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Orderly Chaos: The Mandala Principle

(Dharma Ocean)

4.33  ·  Rating details ·  72 ratings  ·  7 reviews

According
to the mandala principle, a prominent feature of tantric Buddhism, all
phenomena are part of one reality. Whether good or bad, happy or sad, clear or
obscure, everything is interrelated and reflects a single totality. As
Chögyam Trungpa explains in this work, from the perspective of the mandala
principle, existence is orderly chaos. There is chaos and confusion b

...more
ebook, 0 pages
Published March 15th 2011 by Shambhala Publications, Inc. (first published May 1st 1988)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Orderly Chaos, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Orderly Chaos

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.33  · 
Rating details
 ·  72 ratings  ·  7 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Mark
Dec 29, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a fantastic but deep book by Chogyam Trungpa, a master of the kagyu lineage of Tibetan Buddhism. The dharma series of books are taken from seminars given by Trungpa, and what I like most about these are that you get Trungpa's explanation of the concepts behind a chapter, then you get Q&A with audience and then of course your own interpretation. It is a great way to triangulate on complex but beautiful ideas.
Keith Huston
Nov 26, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: buddhism
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I'm not sure I understood most of it (nor if I was supposed to). The talks and Q&A were well constructed and is another book I'll be revisiting again in the near future.
Simon Vigneault
Jan 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I learned a great deal from reading and rereading this profound book. I have never encountered a more insightful treatment of 'mandala'.
Mara
Sep 14, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This title immediately caught my eye as I browsed the shelves at The Shambala Center during my first visit there a week or so ago. Chaos theory has always intrigued me as an eosteric concept and the thought that chaos is actually orderly, despite our vantage point, is doubly intriguing. As I learned, Chogyam Trungpa (CT) was also a big part of bringing Shambala meditation and training to the U.S. so encountering this book seemed "meant to be". Only having a casual background in these topics, the ...more
Claire
Aug 31, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: buddhism
Trungpa's documented seminars always get my thumbs up as I enjoy the structure of the short talk and student questions.

Here, he quite comprehensively, imo, introduces the mandala principle in it's various (conceptual) conditioned, unconditioned, and energetic and experiential forms. As some of the student questions point out, he does not go into the relation of the manadala principle to more detailed teachings on levels of consciousness etc. Some may see this as the book lacking depth of some s
...more
Caisey Ferguson
Oct 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A heavy read and at times confusing, but as Trungpa explains at one point to one of his pupils, his intention is partly to confuse you so that you may begin to think for yourself. This book is full of metaphysical riches, and really got me thinking in new ways about reality. I recommend it.
Holly
rated it really liked it
Jul 04, 2013
Suzie
rated it liked it
Nov 17, 2008
Tom
rated it liked it
Apr 03, 2017
Scott Tarin
rated it it was amazing
Apr 04, 2013
Randi Hope
rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2009
Ian
rated it it was amazing
Dec 13, 2011
Mike Varenne
rated it it was amazing
Apr 05, 2008
Gailhg
rated it liked it
Dec 12, 2014
Kimberly
rated it it was amazing
Mar 08, 2008
Ken
rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2008
Bill Karelis
rated it it was amazing
Sep 21, 2013
Pilar
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2015
Clarktroll
rated it really liked it
Mar 03, 2014
Tony
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2014
Mike
rated it it was amazing
Nov 24, 2015
John
rated it really liked it
Aug 14, 2014
Michele
rated it really liked it
May 21, 2015
Christel Gohlich
rated it it was amazing
Aug 31, 2015
Bill Karelis
rated it it was amazing
Sep 21, 2013
Moeflon
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2014
Mikey
rated it it was amazing
Aug 03, 2017
Rich Hedrick
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2014
Kylie
rated it it was amazing
Jun 25, 2013
Art Therapy
rated it it was amazing
May 11, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
430 followers
Vidyadhara Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche (Tibetan: ཆོས་ རྒྱམ་ དྲུང་པ་ Wylie: Chos rgyam Drung pa; also known as Dorje Dradul of Mukpo, Surmang Trungpa, after his monastery, or Chökyi Gyatso, of which Chögyam is an abbreviation) was a Buddhist meditation master, scholar, teacher, poet, and artist. He was the 11th descendent in the line of Trungpa tulkus of the Kagyü school of Tibetan Buddhism. He was al ...more

Other books in the series

Dharma Ocean (9 books)
  • Crazy Wisdom
  • Dharma Art (Dharma Ocean Series)
  • The Heart of the Buddha: Entering the Tibetan Buddhist Path
  • The Path Is the Goal: A Basic Handbook of Buddhist Meditation
  • Journey Without Goal: The Tantric Wisdom of the Buddha
  • Transcending Madness: The Experience of the Six Bardos
  • The Lion's Roar: An Introduction to Tantra (Dharma Ocean)
  • Illusion's Game: The Life and Teaching of Naropa