Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “DreamWeaver” as Want to Read:
DreamWeaver
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read eBook

DreamWeaver

by
3.35  ·  Rating details ·  54 Ratings  ·  20 Reviews
For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koonz and Clive Cussler . . .

Zeke Jackson's sister has gone missing in the jungles of Southeast Asia. His search for her takes him from the red light districts of Vietnam to the mean streets of New York.

Finally he finds the help he needs in the back alleys of one of South Africa's most notorious shanty towns. The DreamWeaver. But the things Z
...more
Paperback
Published 2011 by Rejean Giguere
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about DreamWeaver, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about DreamWeaver

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Brisa
Sep 12, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Have you ever really considered what extent you would go to save the life of someone you love? Most people would probably be quick to declare “Anything” without hesitation, but it is a question that deserves further thought. Perhaps this is something that most of us would rather not think about, but DreamWeaver applies the extremes in the story of a cold case entwined with an international twist.

Zeke Jackson’s sister has disappeared from Southeast Asia, and he embarks upon a search to find her.
...more
Susanna Mahoney
Jun 25, 2011 rated it really liked it
This book is a provocative stimulating mind blowing story of what one would do to save someone they love. The character tries all avenues of seeking a resolution to locating his missing sister, who was kidnapped in a foreign land. After all of his attempts to find her are exhausted. He is about to surrender hope and abandoned the search. Then he receives a cryptic email that sends him on a surreal journey into the mysterious voodoo culture and mystics. This book is short but pack with details an ...more
Pat
Jan 10, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: beloved, favorites
This was a fantastic novella.

I'll be honest: as a rule I tend to avoid stories that tend toward the supernatural. However, I might be seriously tempted to change my mind about that, if more of these works were as well-crafted as DreamWeaver is. Giguere expertly maintains the atmosphere of menace in these pages, an atmosphere that is both created and sustained by his eye for evocative setting and detail, which escalates the level of peril from mere physical danger to something much more profound
...more
Jordan
Sep 05, 2011 rated it it was amazing
This was in the first batch of books I bought for my new kindle. I thought it was great. I read it real fast. It is a story about a regular guy who gets involved with a bunch of bizarre voodoo adventure stuff and ends up going all over the planet.

Zeke doesn't pretend to be some supercool superhero ninja guy, but the story rips right along as he goes from place to place and situation to bizarre situation while he follows a twisted trail to the end. At each step he has to decide how far he's willi
...more
Mary Snell
Sep 01, 2011 rated it really liked it
This is my first time reading a book by Rejean Giguere, and I will be reading more. I really enjoyed how fast paced the book was and how you felt like you were right there through the whole thing. Zeke is a great character, with just enough flaws to be real. You can really get into his head and understand why he makes the choices he does. It is a bit on the adult side with some language, and a bit of sex, but not too much. I can really recommend it, escpecially to guys, who I think could really ...more
Ken Milani
Jan 20, 2012 rated it it was amazing
An imaginative and gritty adventure about a man willing to do anything to rescue his sister. A great read for anyone who likes a good aadveture story.
Lalaynya
Dec 21, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: everyone
Recommended to Lalaynya by: won on goodreads
Shelves: loved-this-book
amazing book. a must read
Christine Staeven
Oct 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is a fast paced tale that is full of tension, graphic imagery (includes gore), and a fellow bent on locating the only remaining immediate family member he has left.

This is, in some respects, a vision quest. His required faith in giving all he does shows the import he places on finding his missing sister.

A missing sister and a brother desperate enough to enter worlds unfamiliar and make huge sacrifices in process. The tale is the journey inclusive of sacrifices, danger, threat to life and
...more
Kim
Oct 17, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Touching on a subject that anyone with an ounce of compassion could relate to is what makes this story draw the reader in right away. In the beginning, Zeke has already begun the hard task of tracking down his sister after attempts by proper authorities have failed. He attempts to move Heaven and Earth himself in order to find the last bit of family left and is sent back home without so much as a clue to her whereabouts.

Both the reader and Zeke are swept up in a very emotional adventure because
...more
Ally Atherton
Apr 29, 2014 rated it liked it



What do you do when your sister disappears and all your efforts to find her hit a brick wall?


What about a bit of Voodoo?





This is a mixed bag for me. I really like the hook of the book and it gets off to a blistering start and I was immediately taken on a whirlwind of adventure across several continents into one dark and unsavoury place after another. For a short book it definitely kept me turning the pages and there's lots of action, drama and gore. And you can't beat a bit of gore from time to t
...more
Pete
Aug 15, 2012 rated it really liked it

The story is a quest where the protagonist, Zeke Jackson, goes in search of his twin sister who has been taken captive somewhere in Asian.

After Zeke has exhausted all the “normal” channels to find his sister, he receives a mysterious email and through it makes connection with a mystic located in a rough area of the Bronx. From here on his journey becomes more strange and challenging. Taking him to Africa, and costing him dearly in pain and suffering. A fast read, the pacing and plot kept me enga
...more
Kristen N.
Aug 29, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Rejean Giguere has created an unforgettable page turner with DreamWeaver. DreamWeaver maintains an atmosphere of menace throughout its pages, bringing with it a high level of intensity. Most people will quickly answer "Anything" when asked how far they would go or what they would do to get a loved one back. The problem is even with that answer we still have our limits. Meet main character Zeke Jackson who is asked just that when his sister disappears from Vietnam without a trace. DreamWeaver fol ...more
Cheryl
Aug 02, 2012 rated it liked it
This was an interesting story. I always look for the theme of a story. I think this one was "watch using the word ANYTHING", because you just might find out what ANYTHING means! Zeke's twin sister goes missing and he can't find her. He posts online a message saying he would do anything to find her. Zeke finds out what anything means and is pushed to the limit and beyond.
Carol
Aug 01, 2012 rated it really liked it
An OK supernatural tale of a man searching for his sister, lost somewhere in South East Asia. His search takes him to the worst neighborhoods of the South Bronx and S. Africa and the jungles of South East Asia. He gains powers to communicate with the Dream Weaver who guides him in his search. 3 1/5 stars.

Peggy
Apr 02, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I'm partial, but I though this was a great book. A fast romp from start to finish, with enough twists and turns to keep even a hard core suspense fan glued to the page.
Charlie Durell
May 02, 2012 rated it really liked it
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast paced a good page turner whilst an easy read I thought the end came a bit abrupt.. Recommend it.
Carla JFCL
Kind of a fun read...a short story or novella, really, more than a book. It had some interesting twists and turns and wasn't as predictible as I expected. Clean writing; fast moving; worth the time.
Sue
Jul 26, 2012 rated it did not like it

Badly written and stupid.
Jo
rated it it was ok
Sep 14, 2012
Liana
rated it liked it
Dec 21, 2012
Beth Dary
rated it did not like it
Feb 28, 2014
Rejean Giguere
Apr 10, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Sandy
rated it it was ok
Oct 11, 2016
Tonya
rated it it was ok
Aug 01, 2012
Elizabeth G. Kirk
rated it did not like it
Mar 24, 2016
Brandy Leal
rated it it was ok
Dec 23, 2014
Dennette
rated it really liked it
Dec 11, 2014
Kim
rated it really liked it
Jul 05, 2012
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Making Connections: 1381. - DREAMWEAVER by Rejean Giguere 3 51 Nov 05, 2013 11:23AM  
  • The Q Continuum (Star Trek: the Next Generation)
  • Freeze
  • Gospel
  • Asteroid Made of Dragons
  • Forgotten (In the Shadows, #1)
  • A Hint of Murder (A Hint of Murder #1-3)
  • House of Rain
  • Mama
  • Love & Wrath
  • A Time for Change
  • Her Secret Inheritance
  • The Living Image
  • Sow
  • Fledgling (Coiree Guardians, #1)
  • Passion In the Blood (The Montbryce Legacy, #4)
  • Railroad Man
  • The Watcher
  • Secret Vow

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »